We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable hotel, at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed in the great house in jan 2014 for just one night on business.

Throughout my stay each member of staff I encountered was extremely professional, polite and catered to every need.

The food in the restaurant was beautiful, cooked to perfection, with ingredients clearly having been carefully sourced locally.

The room was a good size, nicely decorated and filled with the nice little touches that set this apart from the big chains in the same price bracket.

I can't recommend this place enough, and I'll be on the lookout myself for any excuse to pay a return visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 301 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We went here for my mums birthday for a lunch time meal. Service was excellent, very friendly attentive staff, and food was fantastic! Definitely would recommend. The lunch time menu offered a good range of choice, and staff were more than happy to offer dishes from the other menus, which was great. My Mum was even given a card and box of chocolates for her birthday, which was lovely. And a candle in her dessert.great meal,great service.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rhiannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for the review. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice on the January
Chill out deal as it was just
Fantastic.
Staff friendly , great food, nice wine.& clean quaint rooms.
We have stayed in the big house and court yard rooms
Both perfect.
Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the review, we keep trying hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Thank you to the staff of The Great House for a lovely Sunday lunch, wonderful service, outstanding meal and when I mentioned it was my sons birthday he was given a box of chocolates as he left, little things like that are what make the Great House a memorable place to visit for a special lunch out, well done, we will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had to change our lunch booking (time and numbers) at very short notice and it wasn't a problem for the staff who were really good. Good pint of Brains, good lunch menu and quality food. Service was really good. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our chilren had booked us in this small hotel and restaurant for a 'treat'. The staff were friendly and our room comfortable. The decor appeared somewhat dated but had been of good quality in its day. Our meal was 'nice'. Nothing major to complain about but we have had better meals for less money in several restaurants in the area. This is a lovely restored building (grade 2 listed) which would benefit from redecoration and updating. Overall this was a pleasant stay but not one which I would list as a 'must do again'

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison-Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Sorry that you were not entirely happy, we have a refurbishing programme underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed as a family and were the only ones staying here. Disappointingly 2 couples stayed in the cottages (£120 per night) where they could have allowed them to stay in the main house and both couples mentioned the very short beds......and they aren't particularly tall! We paid £160 for the junior suite which was very spacious and could be classed as "vintage!" Very 70's! But that doesn't really matter - it was clean. However I was Surprised that the bed had a blanket and not a duvet - fortunately our bed was huge as my husband is 6ft! . Cooked breakfast was good but scrambled eggs had to be returned which they dealt with very professionally. Service was very warm and friendly. We would go back to the restaurant but pay for a taxi to travel home.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because of the chimes from the local church if you are a light sleeper. Stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heulwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
657 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
385 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: $90 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing