We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best January chill out ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice on the January
Chill out deal as it was just
Fantastic.
Staff friendly , great food, nice wine.& clean quaint rooms.
We have stayed in the big house and court yard rooms
Both perfect.
Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the review, we keep trying hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 311 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Thank you to the staff of The Great House for a lovely Sunday lunch, wonderful service, outstanding meal and when I mentioned it was my sons birthday he was given a box of chocolates as he left, little things like that are what make the Great House a memorable place to visit for a special lunch out, well done, we will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had to change our lunch booking (time and numbers) at very short notice and it wasn't a problem for the staff who were really good. Good pint of Brains, good lunch menu and quality food. Service was really good. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our chilren had booked us in this small hotel and restaurant for a 'treat'. The staff were friendly and our room comfortable. The decor appeared somewhat dated but had been of good quality in its day. Our meal was 'nice'. Nothing major to complain about but we have had better meals for less money in several restaurants in the area. This is a lovely restored building (grade 2 listed) which would benefit from redecoration and updating. Overall this was a pleasant stay but not one which I would list as a 'must do again'

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison-Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Sorry that you were not entirely happy, we have a refurbishing programme underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed as a family and were the only ones staying here. Disappointingly 2 couples stayed in the cottages (£120 per night) where they could have allowed them to stay in the main house and both couples mentioned the very short beds......and they aren't particularly tall! We paid £160 for the junior suite which was very spacious and could be classed as "vintage!" Very 70's! But that doesn't really matter - it was clean. However I was Surprised that the bed had a blanket and not a duvet - fortunately our bed was huge as my husband is 6ft! . Cooked breakfast was good but scrambled eggs had to be returned which they dealt with very professionally. Service was very warm and friendly. We would go back to the restaurant but pay for a taxi to travel home.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because of the chimes from the local church if you are a light sleeper. Stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heulwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My stay in Bridgend with the Great House Hotel was the most amazing ever. One of my clients from the US recommended me to this hotel and in fact told me not to worry about the stay as he has stayed at this place and it is awesome. I stayed there for four nights and this was one of the most amazing and wonderful places I have been. The hotel was charming, the steps a little low so that you have to bend while you reach your room else you might end up damaging your head. The food just awesome and the hospitality fantastic. Located in Wales, Bridgend I think the owners display some of the awesome Welsh hospitality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: None so far.. I do not have any recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank try2xl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am please that everything was in order, and that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Bridgend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

this is a property full of character, one of the oldest properties in the area, rooms are very quirky and genuine, restaurant is traditional farmhouse style, no frills-run of the mill food, good service, all in all a good honest hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kryptonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you, we are looking forward to a new menu and kitchen in the new year. Will try to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
672 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
417 reviews
8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
572 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Bridgend County > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: $91 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing