We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Really nice venue however, we booked a gathering which included a buffet; the service was good and the staff polite unfortunately all this was not congruent with the food which was offered. I spoke to the chief who was polite and tried to accommodate the slight change to the menu but on the day the sandwiches were basic, the crisps stale; I could not eat the pasties ( the pastry was okay filling awful) and as for the rest of it.... To be honest it was no better than pub food which I would have paid a fraction of the price.
I have visited this venue previously and enjoyed my meals there but I don't know what has happed standards appear to have slipped. Guests were offered to take home what was left but no one took up the offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sureeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your review.
I am very sorry you were disappointed with the buffet you were served and regret that a difficult time for you and your family was made harder by your experience.
There can be no excuses for what appears to have been a failure on the part of our head chef and his team. For this we are truly sorry.
I have of course spoken to them and as a result of your comments, changes have been made to the menu.
We do hope that you give us the opportunity on a more pleasant occasion to make amends.
Once again we thank you for your feedback.
Norma Bond FIH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    66
    17
    19
    9
See reviews for
65
90
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and i were visiting Porthcawl too play some golf. The hotel reports in Porthcawl were a bit mixed and the Great House is only 5 minutes drive away. We were not disappointed. It's an old building nicely refurbished with a bit of character, low ceilings etc but all mod cons. Staff very keen to help they allowed us a 'flexible package' one night with a meal (Full choice off a la carte) and one night B&B with the option to upgrade. The food was excellent. Off road Car Parking. Although it is on a road it is quiet at night. We would not hesitate to go back, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and your recommendation.
We are very pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your golf break, and that you were looked after so well during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great House again when you can maybe try out one of the other golf courses in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

If your on business and you want a home away from home where you can properly kick back and relax in the evenings then look no further you've found it.

I stayed here in August for 4 nights. It was fantastic and I could not fault it. The staff are brilliant even sorting out a cycling route for me to do before work. Initially I thought it was a little out the way for finding somewhere to eat in the evenings but the food in the restaurant was so lovely it was not an issue, even for a fussy eater like me. I stayed in one of the rooms away from the main hotel and it was wonderfully quiet and relaxing and did not feel at all like a hotel room more like a small flat. My only slight suggestion is they spend some money on the equipment in the gym as it is very basic but its fine for a couple of nights.

I can not rate this hotel more highly and when working down there again I will be booking in and have recommended it to my colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runlabratrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your 4 nights with us and that the team looked after you so well. We try to make your experiences with us as homely as we can so we are very happy to hear that this comes across.
We have now removed our gym equipment and have ugraded the health suite into a spa with a full range of massage and beauty treatments and a relaxation area with sauna and jacuzzi.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when perhaps you could have a massage to relax after your bike ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for friend's wedding. What a lovely setting for a special occasion. Great service throughout our stay. Well done - no hesitatation in highly recommending this hotel for just a break away or something special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingham977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your recommendations!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Great House on another occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel and had dinner that evening.
Despite there being two functions on (which they advised us about in advance) it was a great experience. The room we had was very well appointed and the food was fabulous.
The staff were very friendly and gave great service.
We would come back and would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great place. Stay for the dinner experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lickhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed both your stay and your meal with us. We look foward to welcoming you back, maybe when it's a little quieter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel already has a certificate of excellence 2013 winner and well deserved, Friendliest people you could wish to meet. Delicious and well presented food. Rooms to dream about and lovely grounds for the weary traveller.

Room Tip: Leicester's restaurant has all the amenities for a quiet or romantic dinner, also serves afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatMac253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Great House, and that the garden offered some respite for you during your stay. It was good to have the lovely weather.
We lok forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

When you first arrive the Hotel is in its own oasis! Charming, old with great character. A warm and sincere welcome made my day and being shown to your room was a fantastic touch point! Plenty of lively conversation continued in the bar lounge followed by an exceptional dinner in the resturant, my scallops were cooked to perfection! My room was very clean and the bed gave me a pefect nights sleep! Breakfast was a joy! To be greeted in a cheerful but yet professional manner was just brillant! Attention to detail was second to none! The whole team were fantastic but a special mention goes to Samera (hope i got her name right?)
Thanks! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tee1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Property: The Great House Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Leicester's our 2 AA rosette restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing