We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for only one night as we were attending rugby at Cardiff, although the result was not what we wanted with the Welsh thrashing us !!!! The Hotel was a comfortable ending to a sad day. I would definitely stay here if in the area again as I found the facilities and cleanliness excellent and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Sorry about the rugby result but glad you had fun and enjoyed your stay with us. There's always the next game to win!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited the restaurant as part of a group of six to celebrate my brother-in-law's birthday. From the moment we set foot inside to the moment we left was excellent.

The Sunday lunch menu had a varied selection of starters, mains and desserts. There was something for everyone. I had broccoli soup followed by a roast beef dinner. The raspberry panacotta dessert was the best I have ever tasted. Our whole party agreed the quality of the food was outstanding.

The service was very attentive and we were given adequate rests between courses. To finish our meal we had coffee/tea in the very comfortable lounge area which was the perfect end to a perfect meal. The restaurant itself was very stylish and welcoming and we would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cathendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had an excellent stay at The Great House on a two nights midweek break, taking advantage of their DB&B offer. Our room was in the main house and we enjoyed the charm of this old building where you have to mind your head here and there. The staff was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The establishment was clean and tidy. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience, and we would not hesitate to come back the next time we are going to this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moeu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks for the review, hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Attended a Wedding in December. Every detail was excellent, from the ceremony to the evening reception and everything in between. Just didn't want it to end. The hosts had not ordered a vegetarian meal and when the waiter reported back that I did not want the meat, a vegetarian option was freshly cooked for me (not a warmed through ready meal). Well done to all the management and staff and thank you for such a memorable day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service and I am so pleased that this has proven from your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the wedding day/night and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mohammed El Kilany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Today we experienced exceptional service, setting and food- best quality and staff in the area. HIGHLY recommended for Sunday lunch. We will definitely return to the cosy bar and historic restaurant building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensionden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We shall look forward to welcoming you again at The Great House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is by far the best restaurant in Bridgend , I have never stayed there but I certainly would if I needed somewhere to stay in the area. The setting is beautiful. It has quite simply the most elegant restaurant I have ever seen and the lounge areas are lovely and welcoming. The food is excellent and the service is quite perfect. I can't recommend this more highly

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank techanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We hope to see you again at Leicester's Restaurant and hopefully to accommodate you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just celebrated our wedding reception. 5 star excellence from beginning to end. Many thanks to all staff involved in making our day absolutely perfect with extra thanks to Mr & Mrs Bond, Mohammed, Samarah and Cara for their wonderful service. Hat off to the chef as meal excellent as usual. Christmas pudding lighting and march raised even more smiles from our guests. The red carpet for our sparkler arch was a wonderful touch from Mrs Bond as the weather unfortunately was very wet. A truly memorable day had by all. Carl & Michelle Robinson.

Room Tip: Room 5 is beautiful and situated overlooking the garden and gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you were so pleased with everything. It was a pleasure and despite the weather it was one of the "sunniest" weddings we have done this year.
Every good wish for your future together - see you before the anniversary?!
Norma Bond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
672 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
417 reviews
8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
572 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Bridgend County > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: $91 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing