We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent midweek break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent midweek break”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had an excellent stay at The Great House on a two nights midweek break, taking advantage of their DB&B offer. Our room was in the main house and we enjoyed the charm of this old building where you have to mind your head here and there. The staff was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The establishment was clean and tidy. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience, and we would not hesitate to come back the next time we are going to this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moeu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for the review, hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    70
    17
    20
    10
See reviews for
70
96
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Attended a Wedding in December. Every detail was excellent, from the ceremony to the evening reception and everything in between. Just didn't want it to end. The hosts had not ordered a vegetarian meal and when the waiter reported back that I did not want the meat, a vegetarian option was freshly cooked for me (not a warmed through ready meal). Well done to all the management and staff and thank you for such a memorable day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service and I am so pleased that this has proven from your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the wedding day/night and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mohammed El Kilany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Today we experienced exceptional service, setting and food- best quality and staff in the area. HIGHLY recommended for Sunday lunch. We will definitely return to the cosy bar and historic restaurant building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensionden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We shall look forward to welcoming you again at The Great House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the best restaurant in Bridgend , I have never stayed there but I certainly would if I needed somewhere to stay in the area. The setting is beautiful. It has quite simply the most elegant restaurant I have ever seen and the lounge areas are lovely and welcoming. The food is excellent and the service is quite perfect. I can't recommend this more highly

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank techanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We hope to see you again at Leicester's Restaurant and hopefully to accommodate you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just celebrated our wedding reception. 5 star excellence from beginning to end. Many thanks to all staff involved in making our day absolutely perfect with extra thanks to Mr & Mrs Bond, Mohammed, Samarah and Cara for their wonderful service. Hat off to the chef as meal excellent as usual. Christmas pudding lighting and march raised even more smiles from our guests. The red carpet for our sparkler arch was a wonderful touch from Mrs Bond as the weather unfortunately was very wet. A truly memorable day had by all. Carl & Michelle Robinson.

Room Tip: Room 5 is beautiful and situated overlooking the garden and gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you were so pleased with everything. It was a pleasure and despite the weather it was one of the "sunniest" weddings we have done this year.
Every good wish for your future together - see you before the anniversary?!
Norma Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Christmas Function for work. An excellent meal, the food was delicious, the service was excellent and the ambience super. The stater I had was the crayfish it was light and well flavoured. I had the traditional Christmas dish of goose .... I loved it it was well cooked and had lots of interesting tastes to tease the pallet. The Veg were well balanced and the swede normally not one of my Favourite veg was again delicious. The the desserts trolley had a good variety and the raspberry Delice hit the right note after such a good meal. I could not fault the venue or food in anyway. Yet another excellent experience at the wonderful old place. It deserves all its awards and for hitting the right note on price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneCaridff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are very pleased that you had another great experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the new year.
Stephen Bond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Myself & two friends found ourselves here after a poor experience at an earlier restaurant in Cowbridge. We entered into google 'afternoon tea' and followed the directions. Upon arrival we passed a pleasant man who worked there greet us whilst he was seeing to other guests, we entered and were greeted by a second member of staff who was friendly and asked how he could help. We stated we were after some afternoon tea, to which he was very apologetic but Sundays were the one day they don't serve it. We decided to leave and hopefully stumble across somewhere that did.

However whilst on the way back to our car we passed the first gentleman again who queried why we were leaving so soon. We explained the situation and to what I can only describe as a long time friend inviting us into their home, he warmly told us that althought they can't offer us the afternoon tea they can certainly provide us with some hot drinks & he'll see what's in the fridge for dessert.

The surroundings were cosy and warm and we were presented with a beautiful serving of teas, hot chocolate and cake. Now considering the dessert was just something "found in the fridge" it was heavenly & presented in a way that you would expect to be served in any quality 5 star restaurant.

I'm dreadfully sorry I didn't catch the managers name, but from chatting to us before we left I believe he said he was Egyptian. I just want to thank you so much for making us very welcome, it brightened up our afternoon and you'll be sure to see us again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SherbertDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, General Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us!
It was nice speaking with you briefly and a pleasure to have you visit, we hope that you return in the near future. Please mention yourself when you visit next time and I shall ensure you have a pleasant experience.

Kindest regards,
Mohammed El Kilany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
642 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
366 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Property: The Great House Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Leicester's our 2 AA rosette restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing