We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just celebrated our wedding reception. 5 star excellence from beginning to end. Many thanks to all staff involved in making our day absolutely perfect with extra thanks to Mr & Mrs Bond, Mohammed, Samarah and Cara for their wonderful service. Hat off to the chef as meal excellent as usual. Christmas pudding lighting and march raised even more smiles from our guests. The red carpet for our sparkler arch was a wonderful touch from Mrs Bond as the weather unfortunately was very wet. A truly memorable day had by all. Carl & Michelle Robinson.

Room Tip: Room 5 is beautiful and situated overlooking the garden and gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you were so pleased with everything. It was a pleasure and despite the weather it was one of the "sunniest" weddings we have done this year.
Every good wish for your future together - see you before the anniversary?!
Norma Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    66
    17
    19
    9
See reviews for
66
93
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Christmas Function for work. An excellent meal, the food was delicious, the service was excellent and the ambience super. The stater I had was the crayfish it was light and well flavoured. I had the traditional Christmas dish of goose .... I loved it it was well cooked and had lots of interesting tastes to tease the pallet. The Veg were well balanced and the swede normally not one of my Favourite veg was again delicious. The the desserts trolley had a good variety and the raspberry Delice hit the right note after such a good meal. I could not fault the venue or food in anyway. Yet another excellent experience at the wonderful old place. It deserves all its awards and for hitting the right note on price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneCaridff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are very pleased that you had another great experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the new year.
Stephen Bond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Myself & two friends found ourselves here after a poor experience at an earlier restaurant in Cowbridge. We entered into google 'afternoon tea' and followed the directions. Upon arrival we passed a pleasant man who worked there greet us whilst he was seeing to other guests, we entered and were greeted by a second member of staff who was friendly and asked how he could help. We stated we were after some afternoon tea, to which he was very apologetic but Sundays were the one day they don't serve it. We decided to leave and hopefully stumble across somewhere that did.

However whilst on the way back to our car we passed the first gentleman again who queried why we were leaving so soon. We explained the situation and to what I can only describe as a long time friend inviting us into their home, he warmly told us that althought they can't offer us the afternoon tea they can certainly provide us with some hot drinks & he'll see what's in the fridge for dessert.

The surroundings were cosy and warm and we were presented with a beautiful serving of teas, hot chocolate and cake. Now considering the dessert was just something "found in the fridge" it was heavenly & presented in a way that you would expect to be served in any quality 5 star restaurant.

I'm dreadfully sorry I didn't catch the managers name, but from chatting to us before we left I believe he said he was Egyptian. I just want to thank you so much for making us very welcome, it brightened up our afternoon and you'll be sure to see us again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SherbertDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, General Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us!
It was nice speaking with you briefly and a pleasure to have you visit, we hope that you return in the near future. Please mention yourself when you visit next time and I shall ensure you have a pleasant experience.

Kindest regards,
Mohammed El Kilany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We held the wake of my nana's funeral here on Wednesday. As soon as we made enquiries last week, we were welcomed by Manager - Mohammed, even though they already had a funeral booked in for that day, he found a way to accommodate us both, and it didn't feel overcrowded at all on the day. The setting of this hotel is beautiful, my nana always loved coming for food here and especially loved the garden, so I know she would have loved it. I was amazed by how huge the buffet was and everyone said how tasty it was! The staff were polite and friendly. In particular I think Mohammed, the Manager, was the best I've seen in hotel management.

Can't thank you enough. would highly recommend, I would say this is the best hotel in Bridgend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennywesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I will pass a copy of your review onto Mohammed.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Great house again in the future.
Stephen Bond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Held our daughter and son-in-law's wedding reception here on 27th Oct. It was an absolutely amazing experience from the minute we arrived to the minute we left the following morning. The meal was delicious and faultless as was the evening buffet. Everything was just as we had wished and all the guests were impressed by the quality and cleanliness of their rooms.The beautiful gardens were a bonus as regards the photographs. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we definitely had "service with a smile", and the younger members of staff deserve praise for being so polite and thoughtful. Many thanks to Mohammed and team for providing such a perfect day. Also thanks to Mr & Mrs Bond for a hearty breakfast - truly delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it was a real pleasure being of service, what a great wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had our wedding day here on 22 Sep 12. The staff could not have been more helpful from setting out the decorations as we requested to the professional and friendly way they managed the reception. We had both the ceremony and reception at the hotel and Mo made sure that everything we asked for was done with no fuss or complaint, even putting up the bunting in the reception room. The venue was superb for our numbers and the food was excellent. The staff need the biggest praise as they felt more as guests by the end of the night and were first class from start to finish. The garden makes for great photos and Mo makes sure that they are decorated which make them look even better at night with the lights. If you are looking for a venue for a wedding, or any other family gathering, you couldn't find a better place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hefyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your special day and look forward to welcoming you back to the Great House.
Stephen Bond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during the August Bank Holiday weekend when going to the Speedway Grand Prix at the Millennium Stadium, as the hotel is within easy reach of Bridgend station for trains to Cardiff. We had stayed here some 8 years previously and found the same high standards throughout our stay. The room, which was across a courtyard from the main building, was charming and very comfortable, with nice little touches like a large umbrella to keep us dry when going to the bar or restaurant. The food in Leicester's restaurant is superb - real fine dining -and we found all the staff charming and attentive. The atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed and cosy and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We rather liked the courtyard rooms as we had our own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaramfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Great House. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the coach house very comfortable. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Property: The Great House Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Leicester's our 2 AA rosette restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing