We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great House, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were lucky enough to win a short stay at the Great House Hotel, and following our stay there, we would definitely return in the future. The staff were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful - nothing was too much effort. We have two very young children and every effort was made to accommodate them in the bedroom and restaurant for us.

The hotel has tons of character, with exposed beams and big fireplaces and the Manager Mohammed happily explained the history of some of the unusual ornaments placed around the rooms.

Do not miss the chance to dine in the restaurant. The food was absolutely incredible! I had a scallop & fishcake starter (one of the best dishes I've had), fresh Dover sole for the main course and finished off with a souffle - all very delicious!

All in all a great break and highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Front Office Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We really appreciate being able to pass along the good news to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    72
    19
    21
    10
See reviews for
75
98
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, South Wales. U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We brough our son (19) for a meal just before he goes back off to Uni on Thursday, we wanted to go somewhere special, my mother in law is a regular for lunch and loves the place, we came Tuesday Evening, we were treated very special, the food was delicious, we all tried each others starters, and all agreed how good they were, the main was fantastic and the deserts to die for, our little waitress was lovely and nothing was too much trouble, when you asked for anything her reply was " of course you can!" Mohammed was the most charming gentleman, and we had quite a laugh and wonderful conversation, we will definately be back, the whole experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady-Frazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you aagain in the future.
Stephen Bond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I took advantage of a Christmas offer of £95 delux room with 2 course Christmas meal and breakfast on Sat 17th Dec, we were then offered the Junior Suite upgrade for an extra £25 which we accepted. The room was very spacious and at the back of the hotel situated in the old coach house. The whole house was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The food, service and experience were outstanding and the manager Mohammed could not do enough for us. We love the Great House and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas visit to the Great House and look forward to welcoming you another time.
Stephen Bond.
Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I was very very disappointed with xmas meal- freinds of mine had also been the previous day and relayed their poor experience to me and I just thought that it must have been an off day as prior to this had enjoyed all meals I had there. I will offer feed back recieved from various friends that were with me on this day ( I have also asked friends that visited the previous day to leave a review ( IT WOULD BE UNFAIR FOR ME TO REVIEW IF I WAS NOT PRESENT)
Starters: salad presented beautifully but tasteless, soup very bland no flavour/seasoning, Pate seemed the best option feedback it was OK, Maincourse: Vegetarian option came with a tomato sauce- very bland and no taste to sauce, Turkey tasted nice but veg on plate was cold, main veg served on a small side dish again cold and not all served together people waiting along time for their veg to arrive. Desserts: not impressed with xmas pudding as again very bland, orange dessert was quite tasty. I used to go to this restaurant all the time and never had the need to put anything negative, the xmas meals used to be delicious hot and tasty and well served, its such a shame for a local restaurant . We are in a recession at the moment and with xmas some people do not have a lot of spare money but I feel that this restaurant has made alot of cutbacks to the detriment of its customers. I don't think I will return and will also share my disappointment with others.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angels022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer.
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are constantly striving to increase the standards of what we do. You have obviously been to the Great House on numerous occassions and we are sorry that on this visit we did not meet your expecations.
If you do decide to try us again, please ring beforehand and ask for me personally and I will ensure that I am here to meet you and that you are completely happy with your experience.
Norma Bond FIH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We visited this restaurant last weekened - our third visit - and we have never been disappointed. We always receive a very warm welcome; the bar and restaurant areas are so comfortable and the food excellent (especially the triple cooked chips!)

The restaurant was decorated for Christmas and looked lovely and as usual we had excellent service from every member of staff. Although we aren't local, my parents are - I just wish we had a restaurant as good as this where we live.

Please give this restaurant a try - you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferJones52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We live locally to The Great House and go to the restaurent fairly regularly. It is the best place to eat in Bridgend by far!! The staff are always very attentive and we feel really welcome. I've just booked two spaces for the Gouret Christmas Meal on 2 December and also booked to stay the night. We've never stayed here before but I can't wait. If the service is as good as we get at the restaurent I will be a very happy girl!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed for two nights for a wedding and the staff were fantastic. Very welcoming and a lovely location

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kglover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
428 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
478 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Property: The Great House Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing