We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay after a lovely wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice stay after a lovely wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after a wedding, it was a great day and staff were amazing! Mark and his team made sure the day was perfect for the bride and groom. The food was lovely and the day ran smoothly. All the staff were helpful and friendly :-) our room was a very spacious family room, the only downfall was that it was very dated and the furniture and carpet had seen better days, and the shower was a bit rubbish, but the bathroom was huge! I'm aware that some of the rooms have been updated and was hoping I would have one of them, but it wasn't to be. Although, the bed was very comfy and breakfast was amazing the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you had a wonderful time at the wedding you attended at the hotel and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    226
    146
    60
    43
See reviews for
151
211
22
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights when attending the Golf Amateur Home International Matches at Southerndown Golf Club, for which the hotel was very conveniently located. We enjoyed our stay very much and would book again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank J A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and would return in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I have just spent two nights here on business. It ticks all the basic boxes for me. A lot out the aren't as good as this.

Room was clean and quiet.

Bed was comfortable although I'd like a top sheet because it was to warm to sleep under Dover.

Sink had well positioned mirror for shaving and toilet had proper seat (most have the cheapest seat known to man).

The bad points.

Shower was useless. Almost a dribble and tepid.

I ate there one night. First I was brought two portions of my starter, then while eating the one. I was brought another. Thankfully only charged for one.

Main was ok. Over all that good was ok but nothing special. Menu had nothing inspiring, but as a rule I normally don't eat at my hotels.

Breakfast in the mornings had all the usual offerings but finding a table can be hard because all except for two are reserved for larger groups.

I will probably stay here again but I'll check the shower works. But I'll only be staying here again so I can collect me best western points.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you would return to the hotel for future stays. The feedback you have given will help us to improve standards and highlights any training needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had the spa deal which was good value for money. Massage was very good. Pool looked lovely plus sauna and steam room. and it was just the two of us which was nice. Lovely loungers to relax by the pool. I must say- very good facilities! Almost Celtic manor standard:) We had lovely meal as well, starters very good..main was bit bland but hey its not claiming to be Michelin star. Who ever run's this hotel seems to be doing a fab job! Breakfast was very good quality, buffet style. Plates was cleaned straight away, again very good waiter service as was the dinner. The only thing- the rooms could do a revamp. As they do seem bit old fashioned. ( very weak shower ) All tho all essentials was provided. So overall we would go back:)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KairitB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and would return in future. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel offers easy access to Cardiff Swansea Bridgend and the surrounding coastline.My wife and myself arrived at the hotel and parking the car was free with no issues.We were greeted in reception by very friendly female members of staff who were professional and helpful.Our room was spacious clean and tidy with a nice view.We had a drink at the bar before using the hotels female masseur who was pleasant and professional,before moving on to a sauna and a swim in their well presented pool.At dinner in the evening the food in the restaurant was excellent myself enjoying the salmon.This was a relaxing and fun night out for the two of us and their rates were very reasonable.Steve Cardiff.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roman1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to read you had a very enjoyable spa break, we look forward to you returning in the future for another relaxing night away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have used this hotel numerous times for christenings,lunches,etc,But what's happening here,on two occasions now we have been disappointed,We booked Sunday Lunch here for 5 people on the3rd August following a recent bereavement to celebrate the life of a dear friend,I was totally embarrassed after suggesting this was the place to relax with good food,On arrival there was no table reserved on arrival,we waited 15 mins to order drinks and to receive the menue which we had to ask for,we were going to order beef dinners,on trying to order we were asked did they not tell us the beef was not available they did not,so we decided on a chicken dinner as we did not like risotto,we were told it was not a problem,we waited 20mins for chicken rissotos to arrive,which we promptly sent back,a further 10 mins,we received a chicken breast with roast potato it was tough as old boots apparently it had been poached and then microwaved disgusting,the vegetables were so sparse it was only enough for two,and I thought the cabbage was laver bread it was black and cooked to death,I felt a laughing stock in front of my guests after assuring them it would be a nice day after our bereavement during the week,we were offered a round of drinks,which helped but would have rather had a stress free meal,the cherry on the top was one guest had a strawberry stalk amongst his vegetables ,it was like a bad dream,they then offered a discount on the bill,which they also got wrong and tried to charge us full price,it was altered and they still got it wrong,I have never been out through an ordeal like this just going out to enjoy Sunday lunch,I felt so sorry for the young gentleman who was front of house who had to apologise número use times he was so embarrassed and couldn't apologise to us enough well done to him for making good out of appoling circumstances even he agreed,my husband has now refused to use this venue again which is so sad as it is usually a pleas ant experience to eat out ,
Sort this out heronstone as this is the second time you have let us down. No third chance and other people will follow if you don't pull your stops out. Dissapointed

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am disppointed to read you did not have an enjoyable Sunday Lunch. The feedback you have given will be used to improve the standards and to ensure this does not happen in future. I hope you will use us again so we can show you the true standards of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed in July 2014. Yes the room was a little dated and the front is a little 1970's spaceship but overall this is a great hotel. Had a treatment and used the pool / gym and they were excellent. Evening meal was very good and value for money. Drinks were a bit bit pricey, but it's a hotel bar so it was expected. 5 minute drive to the beach. I have booked to go again on a deal that was offered at checkout. Staff were helpful even though it was very busy. Recommended for couples who want to relax or family's that just want a base to sleep at.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and have already booked you next visit, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
2.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing