We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel about to wake up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Rochdale
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tired hotel about to wake up”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been using this hotel for business and pleasure trips for nearly five years and I feel comfortable here. It did have a tired look and the telly's will be worth a fortune in the antique roadshow. But the rooms are clean and roomy and well appointed the food is average. The pool was refurbished a few years ago and is brilliant. They are going through a much needed refurb and going off the rooms that I have used that were refurbed, well worth waiting for. Its about 3 miles to the lovely beach at Ogmere and there is also a ruined castle. Horser riding on the beach and the pelican pub nearby. I am biased, but would recommend this to anyone who wanted a short break in Wales. Wait a few weeks till the bar area is refurbished

Room Tip: Ask for the executive doubles 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I am proud to announce that our public area refurbishment is complete, so will enhance your future stays, in terms of the TV's in the standard rooms, we are also replacing these in the next section of works which starts next week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    239
    149
    62
    44
See reviews for
160
220
24
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My family and I have stayed here a number of times whilst visiting family but this time I visited on my own as I was going to a funeral. The staff are all polite and will always do their best to help you out. The food is yummy and the rooms are well worth the price. I stayed in one of the better rooms and it was great the only thing I would say is that the heating wasn't working when I first arrived but I asked about an extra heater and they brought one up for me quite quickly. The other thing that was a bit off putting was that they were having their bar area redone and they had moved the bar to somewhere else which I couldn't find.
I would always stay here whilst visiting the Bridgend area.

Room Tip: Try and stay in a room nearer to the swimming pool if you like going in the swimming pool as it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock23chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are extremely happy to announce that our public area refurbishment is complete and therefore will further enhance your future stays at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We weren't looking for luxury and we didn't get luxury. We got a clean, warm room with a comfortable bed. The decor was very tired but the hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment, so you can't really complain. The receptionist who greeted us when we arrived on Saturday afternoon was lovely - smiley, friendly and helpful. The Sunday receptionist, however, was extremely grumpy and we felt that everything was too much bother for her.
We did not dine in the hotel, so cannot comment on the quality of their evening offering but we did have breakfast, which was pretty average all round. It was served in a freezing cold room and when we arrived, there was no one to greet us, even though there is a sign which asks you to wait to be seated. Eventually we gave up and just chose a suitable table ourselves. When the waiter eventually arrived, he wasn't apologetic about his former absence and he didn't really explain how we could obtain our breakfast, since the covered warming trays contained nothing but hot water. We had to put on a huge show of lifting the covers before he explained that he would take our order and have the food freshly cooked. when they arrived, The quality of the bacon and sausages was not great - I've had better at cheaper hotels, though on the plus side, my poached eggs were cooked perfectly.
We did have a swim in the pool, which is rather atmospherically lit, and we enjoyed a session in the jacuzzi. It was all pretty pleasant but if you are looking for a full on spa experience, this is not the place to get it.
So, to sum up, the hotel is perfectly adequate if you simply need somewhere clean and warm to sleep when you are planning to be out and about all day. If you want a pampering experience, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear you had a comfortable stay, we have now completed our public area refubishment, which would enhance any future stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

i did not have very high expectations of this hotel it was a great value price, i chose this hotel for the swimming pool, gym and location.
the staff were very pleasant and food in the restaurant was amazing well worth the price, which was slightly above what i would normally pay but well worth extra few pounds. service in restaurant was great, waitress very informative, pleasant and helpful.
only downside i put out the card to have early breakfast as i had work early in morning so couldn make breakfast downstairs in restaurant at the later time, unfortunately this did not arrive so i had to go to work without breakfast but i feel this was an oversight which happened but did not detract from my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: dont really have a tip for a room as had nothing to compare my room with, but i think whatever room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariawilliams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, especially as we have now completed our public area refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for the sole purpose of relaxing, and that is just what we got. We stayed in a superior room-which have all been refurbished and are very well appointed, we had the most amazingly comfy bed. Leisure facilities are top notch and the mood lighting makes for a very relaxing swim-the jacuzzi could be warmer and the steam room a little steamier and for the hardened leisure travellers there is no swim wear spin dryer which became a real pain. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on food, they are currently refurbing the bar area so they have relocated whilst the work is undertaken. All in all I can't fault the hotel and would definately return.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade to Superior, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debseydoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear you had such a relaxing stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful especially Rachel who always has a smile on her face if it be serving your evening meal or pulling a pint nothing is too much trouble. The leisure facilities are as nice as they look on the website the pool and jacoozi area are modern and very relaxing changing areas are clean and the whole experience was relaxing and free with the room very good value and I look forward to seeing the new bar area which is under construction

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheppyaledrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I have passed your kind comments on to Rachel. We also can not wait for the bar refurbishment to be completed, which I am sure will look fantasic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Heronston while visiting a friend nearby. We initially booked in for one night, but found the hotel so comfortable and the facilities so good, we stayed an extra night!
We were greeted on arrival by the very friendly and informative Meryl, who booked us in quickly and efficiently and showed us to our lovely, quiet, clean, warm and well equipped room.
The wifi was fine and worked well. They seem to have thought of everything from complimentary extras available via reception (manned 24 hours), to an extensive room service menu.
The bar food was excellent, home cooked, very tasty and plentiful and good choices for both vegetarian and non vegetarian.
You also get full use of the leisure facilities, the pool is spectacular, spotlessly clean, warm and due to the dimmed mood lighting, extremely relaxing. There's also a sauna, steam room and gym.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room when booking, and got just that- lovely and peaceful on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, meals and our staff were so friendly. We pride ourselves on our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
2.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
642 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
366 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
410 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing