We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel(Bridgend)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyndham Arms(Bridgend)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4(Bridgend)(Great Value!)
$52
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed(Pencoed)(Great Value!)
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel(Pencoed)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
236
283
162
76
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
283
162
76
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiessuperior roomleisure clubsauna and steam roomevening mealself servicebar foodbridal suiteafternoon tealovely staffcouldn't faultlovely roomplenty of parkingfrom start to finishsunday lunchan overnight staysandwiches
Filter
Updating list...
708 - 713 of 812 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful especially Rachel who always has a smile on her face if it be serving your evening meal or pulling a pint nothing is too much trouble. The leisure facilities are as nice as they look on the website the pool and jacoozi area are modern and very relaxing changing areas are clean and the whole experience was relaxing and free with the room very good value and I look forward to seeing the new bar area which is under construction

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheppyaledrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, I have passed your kind comments on to Rachel. We also can not wait for the bar refurbishment to be completed, which I am sure will look fantasic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Heronston while visiting a friend nearby. We initially booked in for one night, but found the hotel so comfortable and the facilities so good, we stayed an extra night!
We were greeted on arrival by the very friendly and informative Meryl, who booked us in quickly and efficiently and showed us to our lovely, quiet, clean, warm and well equipped room.
The wifi was fine and worked well. They seem to have thought of everything from complimentary extras available via reception (manned 24 hours), to an extensive room service menu.
The bar food was excellent, home cooked, very tasty and plentiful and good choices for both vegetarian and non vegetarian.
You also get full use of the leisure facilities, the pool is spectacular, spotlessly clean, warm and due to the dimmed mood lighting, extremely relaxing. There's also a sauna, steam room and gym.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room when booking, and got just that- lovely and peaceful on the first floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, meals and our staff were so friendly. We pride ourselves on our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Absolutely fantastic time. We stayed for 2 nights whilst my husband was working. The hotel was time a family run as opposed to a corporate chain and the staff were amazing. The hotel is currently being modernised so parts were new and modern and areas like the bar and hall were being decorated. However there was sinkage apologising for this and even the dated parts were still clean and perfectly serviceable. The room (family) was modern and very comfortable a large space with tv. There was a charity function on one of the nights and I was expecting it to be noisy but we didn't hear a thing.
The leisure facilities were brilliant the kids and I used the pool 3 times and towels etc were provided.
However what made the holiday for me were the staff, they were utterly fantastic great with the kids teaching them welsh and teaching us local food favourites (still on the fence with larva bread!) Directed to some great local sights, thank you team and Rachel.

Room Tip: 2 family rooms -we had number 10!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am really happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and our team looked after you so well. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our second visit to The Heronston to take advantage of the New Year's Eve all inclusive package. Arrival and check in was seamless, we were greeted by well presented, modern, and very clean rooms, in a nice setting overlooking the garden area.One of our party took advantage of the health club facilities in the afternoon, whilst the rest of us had a very enjoyable and relaxing hour in the Foyer area with a pot of coffee. The evening kicked off with Bellini's at 7pm, after which we entered a beautifully decorated function room, where dinner was served. Our table was in a perfect spot and the service and food was excellent, the staff certainly aim to please, and nothing was too much trouble.

The DJ played a lively set with a broad sprinkling of music to suit most tastes, and a glass of Cava was served just before midnight to see in the New Year. Sadly for us it came to an end at 1pm, but a thoroughly enjoyable evening was had by all. As I have stated previously,The Heronston is not a contemporary, cutting edge hotel, and it still has an 'old fashoned' feel in some areas , however what it lacks in all the 'bells and whistles ' it more than makes up for in it's warm welcome, charm, hearty food, and willingness to please. I doubt there is a better deal to be had for New Year's Eve anywhere in the vicinity, it really is value for money.Thanks to all the staff who made our evening so enjoyable, and special thanks to events organiser Kelly for her kind attention and professionalism in realtion to our booking. We'll certainly be returning !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rourkesdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind response, we are really happy to hear you had another enjoyable New Year Eve, we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

we spent 1 night in december at this hotel, found all staff very helpful, rooms were comfortable ,used the pool and sauna etc was very good found pool to be cold, spoke to reception about it?? didnt have any food at hotel due to there being a xmas party also a wedding we were imformed about it before we arrived did have breakfast was well laid out and good quality and quantity service was good.. only down side in room was a very poor shower and taps were difficult to use>..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry54England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. I will look into the difficulty you had with your shower and taps. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews