We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Date of stay: 09 Sept 2012. We spent just one night at this hotel due to being in transit from Wales to Ireland and needed a location close to Cardiff Airport. Personally we were a little disappointed with the service. Taking into consideration that it was an extremely quiet Sunday evening and that this could have been the reason, I am still giving this hotel a rating of very good as I don't think it would be fair to do otherwise due to the lack of service on this particular evening. There seemed to be hardly any guests and even less staff at the hotel. Reception was wonderful - thank you for that. The service from the bar and in the lounge area was non existent and, even after asking reception to please find somebody to serve us, which they tried their best to do, we eventually left without being served. Breakfast the following morning was very good and the service in the dining room was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, all points raised help us to improve standards and show us areas requiring further training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 739 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night. Looking for something with a pool and spa facilities and stumbled upon this. £65 for 1 night was within our budget. I found the room quite basic and old fashioned but had the essentials - even free wifi. We went soley for the spa facilities. When we saw the room we weren't expecting much from the pool but it changed our opinion completely. Really clean and modern, with jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and pool. Really nice low lighting and a lush moody atmosphere! The staff at the helpdesk were really friendly. We checked out at 11 and were still allowed access to the facilities which was great. We left and were local thankfully - had a phone call to say we'd left something behind so we were able to go back and collect it. Customer service was awesome. Will definitely go back. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BekHayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are curently undertaking a planned refurbishment, the pool area & leisure club has been completed, along with our superior bedrooms and function suites. We are currently refurbishing our executive bedrooms, the bar and restaurant will be completed in January of 2013 followed by the remaining bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was my wife and I's first Anniversary. I called in, after booking and informed them of our anniversary. They put my wife's favorite dessert on the menu for our dinner, upgraded our room, made sure there was vegan meal on the menu, and helped us to get directions to cycle to Methyr Mawr Sand dunes, which was a lovely sight to see and a beautiful cycle ride! When we got back and were too exhausted to go down for dinner inspight of all my planning, they kindly, at my request, had the food sent up to our beautiful room. Breakfast the next morning was spectacular, well organized and tasty. But, we went swimming first in their wonderful pool and hot tub, and used their sauna and steam room. The place is a real hidden gem! You would never know it was that amazing from the outside. Our host Hayley, was A-MAZE-ING! She really made it a wonderful weekend for us and made everything happen from the room, to working with the chef, to suprising us with a wonderful card for our anniversary! I can't say enough! We are both so far from home here and we were keenly aware of being away from friends and family on our anniversary, but they made us feel so welcomed and we forgot we are thousands of miles away from family. I am so grateful and felt blessed by God that we went there. They made us feel like royalty there with out paying big bucks! God bless everyone at the hotel for their kindness and excelleservice. We will definetly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank physicstnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear our staff exceeded your expectations and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A great welcome from the staff who are all excellent, we where informed there was a wedding on and given a room (69..yes great!!) away from the function area. The room was great for the money clean and had its own dressing room, something my fiancee loved. We ate from the bar menu and again this was great even though they had 2 x functions there was not any great delay with the food....the breakfast was also spot on. We did not have time to use the lesure facilities but the pool looked fantastic. the only downside of our stay was while the hotel staff made every effort to ensure we had a peaceful night, the drunken wedding guests who were shouting & banging doors early in the morning disrupted an otherwise peaceful night..but we cant put the blame on the hotel as they had no control over individuals. Overall a great hotel that we would definately go back to stay, but would probably avoid the "wedding season"

Room Tip: Room 69 was good......
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darhdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were happy with all the hotels facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Its a shame, because as being in the Travel industry I do take some of these reviews with a pinch of salt as ultimately they are usually personal reviews which are not objective. In writing this I will try to do so.

The Best Western Heriston Hotel is ideally situated and easy to locate in Bridgend and is a good place to stay if like us you found that Cardiff hotels were too pricey (we went 25 August 2012 when not only was the Cricket playing, but the Speedway and Michael Mcintyre were all in town, hence we stayed outside and paid £5.20pp return by train to Cardiff.

The Hotel is clean, and of good quality. We stayed in a superior room and i was extremely pleased by the cleanliness and quality of the hotel. The Bedroom and Bathroom were finished to a high standard and we felt that this was a good choice.

Regretably the hotel hot water system seems unable to cope with full occupancy, resulting in bathrooms that do not have any running water coming from the hot tap. The toilet also stopped flushing because of the lack of pressure. I would reccommend that you check the occupancy for the night of your stay before booking. I can say this in all honesty because we were staying with Friends and they too experienced the same issue, so I am sure that we were not alone.

Of course we took this up with the management upon checkout and initially were advised that we would receive 50% refund on our night stay. I considered this to be a fair amount to be refunded as ultimately we had slept and also ate breakfast. Regretably to date, the management have not returned calls to our friends who are sorting out the issue which i can only assume means that they are hoping that we forget about the issue.

To be part of any chain (Best Western, Hilton etc..) certain standards are expected, including hot running water (regardless of the time of day). I would definately have considered staying here again.

I do hope to add a positive comment to this review once the management have decided to return our calls and honour their initial offer.

Room Tip: Do not chose rooms 51 or 52.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spp2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed most of the hotel's facilities, with regard to the hot water issue, the pressure valve for the area of the hotel you and your friend were staying in has now been replaced. This was only found to be defective once the guests staying tryed to use the hot water system. An engineer was called out immediately and managed to get the valve to work but at a low pressure until a new one was fitted.
The hotel has been in contact with your friend and the outstanding matter has been resolved. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location for us close to motorway and near enough to Cardiff. All staff very helpful,on arrival 12.15hrs Saturday all keys were ready for us, thus helping us for a quick freshen up and then depart for Speedway Grand Prix. Room(6) well presented and clean,on return the bar stayed open a little later for us (by arrangement). Breakfast in the morning was very welcome and completely acceptable too the pallet, self service with lots of choice and plentiful, sausages very tasty, the dining room staff were so helpful and friendly. We are definitely staying again next year. TOP MARKS FOR A TROUBLE FREE STAY. The car park was easy access and large enough for our vehicles.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the forth coming years to enjoy this event again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our first impressions were that this was not up to the usual high standard of Best Western Hotels and after spending the night in room 40 (which overlooked a skip and was next to a VERY noisy air conditioning unit) we were less than impressed with  the Heronston Hotel. The staff, however, were exceptionally friendly and we were moved soon after lodging a complaint. Our new room, which was on the other side of the hotel was of a much better standard and as a result we enjoyed the remainder of our stay. The hotel itself is very dated in both it's decor and it's odd smell! Strangely though the leisure facilities were exceptionally modern. The dining room staff were superb and could not do enough for us during our stay and the food itself was of a very high standard. Overall we found this a good base for exploring the South coast of Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Blakes_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am glade to hear you enjoyed most of your stay and you enjoyed the leisure club & meals eaten.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with room 40 and will invesigste your points fully.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
2.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
655 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
1.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
296 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
450 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: $82 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing