We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here in February. Arrived late evening and greeted by friendly receptionist. Went to our room and it was lovely. Couldnt fault anything. Breakfast was served to you and nothing was to much trouble. Would stay again. We had an executive suite and it was lovely.

Had a very relaxing stay there

thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharronmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments which will be passed on to all of the staff. I am glad you liked your room and enjoyed breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    227
    147
    60
    43
See reviews for
152
211
22
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

we had a lovely two day break with mum dad daughter and dog.the location was excellent for exploring cardiff or swansea.the nearby ogmore beach was magical and excellent for walks and photography.also a very good stable nearby too for horse lovers.the food at breakfast was delicious.the spa was magical and very relaxing.had a very relaxing stay here..free parking..free wi fi..what more could a family want ?

Room Tip: our room overlooked the carpark at the back and was very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we are happy to hear you had such a lovely time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wife and I stayed overnight on 31st March so we could visit friends in Bridgend to help them celebrate their daughter's engagement. We chose this hotel as it looked good value for money and all we needed was a place to sleep as 99% of our time there would be off-site. We had an executive room which have since noticed is next room type to be upgraded. Would endorse the comments regarding these rooms namely, dated TV, bathroom layout re: tap and the glass shelf and the funny old furniture. But the room was clean, quiet and the bed comfy so suited our needs. Hotel is functional for business use but could not be described as a leisure venue with nothing much in way of attractive grounds nor anything. Pool looked good but heating was temporarily faulty so too cold to use Sunday morning. Breakfast was an excellent bonus with good selection and very good service. Restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. PC in reception didn't work but good internet connection via hot spot. Would not be our first choice when we visit next time but if crowded itinerary doesn't permit any leisure time would certainly check the price here before booking.

Room Tip: We would ask for one of the refurbished rooms next time as they look very good in the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csaintHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found your bed comfortable, room clean and enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you for your kind comments concerning the restaurant staff. I would like to confirm the hotel is currently undergoing a planned refurbishment to both public areas and bedrooms, the room you stayed in is in the next section of the hotel to be completed.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teithi0
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We found this hotel on a website under relaxing spa breaks, and as the photos all looked very nice and pool and gym looked ideal for what we were looking for, and they had a "Special Offer" we booked.

However, we arrived to find that the room was nothing like what they advertise, it reminded me more of old peoples home than a hotel to relax in,halls smealt damp, the bed was small, decoration was very dated, bathroom was not as clean as you would expect, and the Tv would have fitted in easily in St Fagan's! we had to lift it in on the top of the desk to watch it from the bed.

We then whent down to use the pool, it is, as they show on the website, a very nice tranquil area:However what they dont tell you on the website is that if they have large group bookings of children the let them in - unattended and allow them to dive into the pool on top of older guests, ond older couple left upset. to add to the non-relaxing experience the duty manager let the childen use the sauna and steam rooms.

After returning to our room to we found that next door had been filled with children that were left to run the corridors and bang on walls, I did get very cross and decided to complain at this point, the receptionist was very understandidng and moved us: to a nicer room that was worlds apart from the other room, modern, had seating, all lights worked and Bathroom was cleaner, I could not believe that i was in the same hotel.

I do understand that large bookings are great for small hotels but a bit of common sense would be nice- close the pool for a period for exclusive use, place all group together away from others who book under "relaxing break" - Simple!


Supper was part of the "special offer" a good choice of food on the menu and very quick service, it wasn' the best food i have ever had, but not the worse either.

During breakfast the same duty manager was very unplesant , the pasteries were rock solid, i hurt my hand with hot spoon left in the beans and was told to "wave it arround a bit" to stop it burning!!, we ordered toast this arrived in half an hour - cold, and we ordered coffee but had tea, Shambles!

At check out the receptionist were again very nice and explained that they have different types of rooms, I suggest that this is explained when people book and photos of all rooms are put on the websie.

As for "special offer" it was far too expensive to be "special" concidering what they have to offer!

I will not be returning.

Room Tip: ask not to be put in a standard room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2yne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, I would like to confirm we have all room types featured on our website from our standard double, twin, triple & family rooms to our executive rooms, superior rooms & bridal suites. During your stay we did have a small group staying of 13 children & 13 fathers, we were not aware they would be using the pool area as they had a full itinerary. However, when they did use the pool area some of the fathers were in this area supervising them.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments concerning our reception team these will be forwarded to them. The Executive room you liked & received a complomentary upgrade to is due to be refurbished to become a superior rooms also.

I am pleased you enjoyed your meal, and were pleased with the menu choice and service you received. I am suprised to receive you comments concerning breakfast and will review the hot buffet style breakfast thats avalable on the busy weekend mornings.

We aim for all our guests to leave the hotel happy with the service they have received and a positive memory of their stay, I am sorry we have not achieved your expectations on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridgend hotels

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Dated is an understatement although cleanish - except for a large coffee stain on the mattress the whole place needs updating new carpets and a lick of paint is not updating!!

Beds old,small and the mattress was too soft. I haven't seen a TV like the one we had since Crossroads was on the telly

9.30 the deadline for breakfast was a laugh at 9.10 the was no bacon, dried up beans and scrambled egg fit to fill the cracks in the plaster

You won't be surprised to hear I won't be going back there

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, the room you stayed in was one of our standard rooms, these have a standard double bed in (4ft 6" wide). The standard rooms are to be refurbished in line with our planned refurbishment programme. The superior rooms are now complete and the executive rooms are next to be completed.

I am sorry to hear your disappointment with breakfast, we use a hot buffet style breakfast on the busy weekend mornings, a large number of guests had come to breakfast just before you arrived and therefore the hot breakfast buffet was being replenished and was continuously topped up until past 9.30am.

We aim for all our guests to be happy leaving the hotel with a positive memory of their stay, I am sorry this was not the case on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The hotel was OK but I couldn't really recommend it. My room was large and spacious, however it was in dire need of some redecoration, also the mattress was very thin, the TV about 25 years old, along with the decoration.

The food was really nice, bar prices are good but the restaurant prices are very high, £15-£25 for a main course. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, you stayed in one of our Executive rooms which are next to be refurbished to become superior rooms.

Thank you for your kind comments concerning the meal, all our food is freshly cooked using quality local produce.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and i booked a diner, bed breakfast deal at the hotel for last weekend. We arrived an hour earlier than allowed check in, however the recptionist was very accomodating and extremely helpful. We were not bothered that we were early and would have to wait but she rang housekeeping and checked to see if our room was ready. It was so she allowed us to check in. We enquired about lunch. We both fancied a jacket potato but they were not on the lunch menu. Again she went above and beyond and called the kitchen to see if they could accomodate us even though we did not make a fuss or request her too. They were more than willing to prepare jacket potatos' for us and we could either wait five minutes for them to be done in the microwave or an hour and they would be cooked properly in the oven. We didn't want to put anyone to any trouble so we enquired anout local places to eat. She recommended Joe's Diner just a 2 minute drive away. OMG, it was beautiful food. All home cooked and very reasonable priced. Nothing to look at from the outside but outstanfing service and food.
After lunch we wnet back and spent a few hours in the gym and leisure club at the hotel. It was very quiet. The leisure club is beautiful. Lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. It was all immaculate. If only they did some beauty treatments it would have finished the afternoon off.
The evening meal was from the set menu but plenty of choices. Beautifully presented and cooked. Again the staff were very accomodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Even when i requested a Green Tea. They had herbal/fruit teas on the drinks menu so i enquired about some green tea. They brought a pot out ot me.
We booked a Superior room which was huge and beautifully decorated. It was immaculate and had everything you would require.
Alll in all we had a lovely afternoon and evening. We will most definately be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from any evening functions and also one which has undergone refurbishment. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and like what we have done with our Executive rooms, the refurbishment is continuing through out the hotel on a planned basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
2.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing