We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place”

Merthyr Mawr Sand Dunes
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The sand dunes are just extraordinary, as is the haunting ruin of Candleston Castle. I wish I had taken my children there when they were young

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    85
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

brilliant place to go for a walk or a run, you can walk/ run to the beach over the dunes and look towards ogmore and porthcawl. A brilliant area to take dogs for a walk with multiple paths to walk. there is a steep sand hill for which children use to come down on their sledges, so children can go sledging throughout the year without snow. A brilliant place for all the family. there is only one thing missing, which is a cafe or something to get a coffee or something to eat. there is also a woodland area to walk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank williamskdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Who needs snow”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

great place to take the kids with their sledges
Pretty area thatched cottages etc.....
Take your wellies for the stream at the bottom of the dunes....
Kids loved it

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Brilliant place to take the kids dogs and Horses. So much to do there but could have some where to have a coffee or sandwich would be nice but a brilliant place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Visited family at the weekend and took the doggies for a walk down here. It is gorgeous even though the weather was atrocious and nearly blew me off my feet and my sister in law got stuck in sinking mud so be careful. Other than that we had a fantastic time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffeeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merthyr Mawr Sand Dunes also viewed

Southerndown, Bridgend
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Ogmore-by-Sea, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Merthyr Mawr Sand Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing