We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very slow service, but lovely food”
Review of Le Raj

Le Raj
Ranked #19 of 182 Restaurants in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very slow service, but lovely food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went for a takeaway, waited over an hour for our food to be made, yes the restaurant was busy and so was the drive through, but other people were getting their food before us. However saying that the food was lovely, think will ring and order next time instead of waiting for so long.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    13
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not organised enough on a busy Saturday night”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I've booked this restaurant twice recently, and on both occasions waited in the entrance area for 15 minutes to be seated, whilst the staff avoid any eye contact. Both times I've given up and left. I won't be returning for a third try.
It's a real shame that they can't handle being busy, as the food quality would be 4-5 star. Only takeaways from here for me from now on.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmallen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just home from a family meal at le raj and not impressed with the place at all. To start there are 2 disabled parking places which were taken, one by management!!!!! I had 2 disabled elderly family members with me who had to walk the length of the car park as management refused to move the vehicle. They wanted me to continue with my meal until the other vehicle (2 seater merc and obviously not a disabled owner)moved. I expressed my feelings about this but it made no difference. They were serving so many people in the restaurant that he service given was poor. We were short on cutlery and plates and waited so long I left the table and helped myself. The takeaway was situated in the dining area which was not pleasant for the diners. The food was edible and not good enough that I would ever return again!
Simla, Aberkenfig or Bokhara, court coleman next time as 100% better than Le Raj!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not impressed with the food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

First up, the waiting staff was fantastic.
Service was very good. In fact, I gave the review an extra star because of it.

My moan was about the food. I love indian food & I love hot & spicy food. I wanted something with a bit of spice to it, rather than going for my usual which is a vindaloo. So I Ordered Captains Pathila. This was described as Hot.
Menu description : Captain's Pathila (hot): Tender strips of chicken or lamb prepared with very special herbs and spices including coriander, mint, garlic and yoghurt in a rich tangy sauce.

There was no heat to it what so ever. It was served with a single chili in the sauce. The curry lacked depth & flavour. I also had lemon rice. This was served as a basic pilau rice with a slice of lemon on top. I basically I got charged 50p for a slice of lemon!

I dont know if it was chef's day off or he just aint a good cook, but my meal is easily in the bottom 3 of indian restaurants that I have had. Instantly forgetable. Even 12 hours afterwards 'o)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eggtastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top class Indian cuisine”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Second visit and just keeps getting better. Excellent range of dishes, specialities as well as the standard curries. We had Mem Sab's chicken, a delicious mild and creamy curry with aubergine bahji, rice and naan. Service is faultless and lady on the bar service is delightful. Plenty of on- site parking and there's even a drive through! We highly recommend thus restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Realfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Raj also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Kenfig Hill, Bridgend
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Le Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing