We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Indian restaurant with a twist!”
Review of Le Raj

Le Raj
Ranked #21 of 182 Restaurants in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Indian restaurant with a twist!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely decor, great clean tasting food. Huge choice on the menu, three of us had chicken dishes ranging from mild to very hot and there was a marked difference in taste, texture and presentation. Really nicely done and very polite but friendly staff. The twist? It also has a drive in area because it used to be a fast food outlet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonne_bjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    13
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having spent a lot of time in the midlands and savoured the Asian cuisine, I found the food at Le Raj pretty average. With the dishes I ordered, very high in salt, fat and what I would consider to be unnaturally coloured. I found the service quite unfriendly and the cost high but the restaurant setting is good and well laid out and is probably the best in the area but not somewhere you will find me again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Decor is amazing, food was fantastic, easy parking. Would happily return. Could do with a few more choices on the menu but the food was delicious and we had a lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth_and_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“friends birthday”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good food shame about the owner who wanted to talk to us all the time, about what i could not figure out nothing intresting anyway, and it was spoiling our own fun and he never got the message what ever we said to him, very annoying

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caz912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food at the time, but have paid the price”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've been to Le Raj a few times and really enjoyed the food. Sadly we won't be going back after having a bad stomach from the last visit. I'd say it is hit and miss.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank higginsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Raj also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Le Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing