We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and accommodating, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and accommodating, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I would easily stay here anytime that I visit the area!

The rooms are really lovely, some of them have different styles, some a bit more traditionally designed and some more modern. The hotel has a very traditional style reception and lounge and a lovely burning fire so you feel very welcome.

There are several menus, the main ones I'm interested in are the lounge menu and the daily specials, as I'm not keen on the restaurant menu. The staff are very good with room service and don't have to wait very long at all for the room service. The service times run 24 hours as well if you ever feel peckish.

There is a good selection of food and the helpings are excellent as well, even the sandwiches gets you a whole plate of 6 triangles, crisps, salad and coleslaw.

Only a few very pedantic things, the bath taps confused me (the shower works only on the middle dial!), sometimes the lights flicker and the rooms seem a bit dark perhaps, and the heating was a bit off sometimes but the radiator can be controlled so it's not a problem. Also note the hotel is a bit away from the town, so you'll definitely need to drive or get a taxi as it's not a 5 minute walk.

Staff have been very accommodating and friendly, I would happily stay here anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjc_uk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time and writing a review on the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed staying with us.

The entire team at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr are fully committed to guest satisfaction and pride ourselves on our attention to detail and customer care. Viewing your comments reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that we have set. It is with this in mind that we welcome guests’ comments and suggestions on all aspects of the hotel. Only with customer feedback can we continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

I would like to thank you again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    84
    19
    13
    3
See reviews for
115
103
6
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Recently had a short luxury break at Coed y Mwstwr and enjoyed the pleasant and friendly welcome from all staff , the delicious afternoon tea on arrival , and the extremely comfortable room.
The food in the restaurant was superb , added to by the Chef's complimentary pre-starter.The proffered side orders of veg were really not required , as the quality of the dishes proved very filling.
The desserts were really excellent and beautifully presented.
We slept very well in the huge bed and enjoyed the first class breakfasts ,poached haddock with poached eggs was my choice on day one.
Hope to stay here again in the future as we have family members living in Cardiff and Swansea and this is a convenient mid-point.

Room Tip: First floor rooms to the front were close to facilities with a super view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time and reviewing the hotel. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the level of service that you encountered during your stay and the quality of the food you were offered. I have discussed these points with all the relevant departments and they join me in thanking you for your kind words.

On behalf of The Coed-Y-Mwstwr team, I would like to thank you once again and hope that you will visit us in the foreseeable future. We look forward to welcoming you back as ‘old friends’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel on a cold wet Saturday we asked the manager if we could bring our small american well behaved cocker in as we going to order meals and drinks.
He relied no dogs allowed I asked if he had a room without guests in so we could not bother anyone but he refused very disappointed lost out on our custom will not be returning here.
if you want a lovely hotel that encourages dogs go to the falcondale hotel Lampeter stunning views very welcoming friendly and encourages dogs.
Very successful hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank swanseanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for reviewing the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel. I am sorry to read your disappointment regarding our no dog’s policy. Unfortunately we only have the one public lounge area which on this occasion was occupied by guests dining, the decision of not allowing dogs in the hotel is currently under review.

I do hope that you will visit the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited the Hotel yesterday for a Santa Christmas Lunch. I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who were professional but very friendly and made us feel at home.( A special mention goes to Verity who gave me lessons on back combing) The Christmas meal was fabulous with plenty of choices and more of anything was no problem all we had to do was ask. My niece and I enjoyed the dancing, apologies we did not realise it was a private party. Thanks again we will definitely recommend the Hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTLadyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time and writing a review about Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel. I am glad to read your comments regarding the level of service you received at the hotel, Verity would like to say a personal thank you for your kind words. I am happy that you and your niece enjoyed the dancing, no need to apologise I don’t think the private party noticed!

The entire team at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr are fully committed to guest satisfaction and pride ourselves on our attention to detail and customer care. Viewing your comments reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that we have set. It is with this in mind that we welcome guests’ comments and suggestions on all aspects of the hotel. Only with customer feedback can we continue to meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Well what can we say apart from thank you so much for making our special day more than we could have wished for! We knew the hotel would be just as we'd planned but it really was amazing! Special thanks to Nicola, Kelly & staff on the day as every guest couldn't believe how organised & kind you all were!
From the pre wedding meetings & chats to the arrangements leading up to the big day, even the evening switch over!, everything was carried out without guests knowing or hearing the buzz behind the scenes!
Everyone also spoke of the food & compared the beef to a steak as it melted in the mouth! Children were more than happy with their 3 course meal & desserts were no where to be seen after being on the table for 2 minutes!
There are no other words to describe our wedding at the coed y mwstwr as they don't compare to actually being there yourself!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Firstly ‘Congratulations’ to the new Mr & Mrs! Secondly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review following such a busy time for you and your family. We take great pride in hosting weddings at the hotel and it is always rewarding to receive such positive customer feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your time with us, it was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've never done a review before and i'm a bit late writing this one but i thought i needed to for this one. We got married here in June 2013 and it was the most amazing wedding we could have ever wished for!! Everything ran smoothly, the food was delicious and filling. I never had one complaint about the entire day! The newly decorated room made it even better as it looked beautiful day and evening. I want to say a big thank you to all of the staff and especially Nicola and a HUGE thank you to Elliott. He made our day that extra special making sure we had everything we needed, everything was on time and he gave that personal touch that every bride needs.
I would 100% recommend this place to anybody that wants to get married and have the perfect day just like i did.

Room Tip: Bridal suite is gorgeous!! wish we had more time in there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Howells, Congratulations again to you both! Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on the hotel. All the staff were happy to read your kind words especially Nicola and myself, we all work hard to ensure every bride and grooms day is special and as enjoyable as possible and reading your comments reassures us that we are maintaining these standards. I do hope you will visit us again soon and have time to relax. Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon, maybe for your anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went just for the evening do. Food was out standing for an in door buffet . Should have been out doors but the weather was grim. Can t comment on the bed rooms etc but the down stairs bars and dining room could do with face lift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffytaf_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel, our chefs work hard to offer the highest quality of food possible and we are happy to read that they are succeeding in this. It is with this in mind that we welcome guests’ comments and suggestions on all aspects of the hotel, only with guest’s feedback can we strive to maintain and improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
2.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Property: Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Address: Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 6AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#1 Green Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel near Bridgend in South Wales is a beautiful privately owned 4 star country house hotel justifiably proud of its fine reputation. Few settings are more tranquil than that of the aptly named Coed-y-Mwstwr or "Whispering Trees". Perched on a Welsh hillside and surrounded by over 17 acres of woodland, this Victorian mansion provides a cosy and secluded hideaway overlooking the picturesque Vale of Glamorgan. With our gym, sauna and steam room, tennis court and adjacent golf course there is plenty to keep the energetic occupied. Built in 1888 the house was first opened as a hotel in 1965. It is an oasis of calm where you, your family and your business colleagues are always welcomed back as old friends. Our 35 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms ensure all modern comforts and facilities are provided. At the privately owned Coed-Y-Mwstwr hotel, our team have pride in what they do, they enjoy working at the hotel. You'll be greeted with a warm Welsh welcome and you're assured of friendly, but always courteous and professional attention throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing