We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Welsh Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here while attending a friends party nearby. The hotel was busy with with a wedding but the check in and out and room were quick and efficent. We were given a lovely room in the coach house with a massive comfortable bed. Lovely touches with wine and welcome chocolates and the Pet dog and robes. We enjoyed afternoon tea with beautiful freshly made cakes and the best home made welsh cakes (warm and doughy) I have ever tasted. The staff were very friendly, professional and welsh. So nice to stay on a none chain welsh hotel. Lovely freshly made breakfast.

Room Tip: Boat a coach house room if staying at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inishfalleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your kind comments. The coach house is a lovely building which offers a luxurious feel to all the rooms. All the staff at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel work hard to make every guests stay an enjoyable and memorable one. We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 487 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really lovely hotel, really lovely staff, really lovely food but will definitely NOT be coming again.

This may seem odd given my positive comments above however what totally spoilt it for us was the ridiculous and pretentious practice of ..... charging extra for vegetables !! If you are ordering a roast beef main dish for example then you would reasonably expect it to come with something more than a tiny serving of potatoes. We had to each purchase a portion of vegetables for our little lunch time get-together and what arrived was a somewhat tired looking tichy-tiny bowl containing about five French beans, six carrot rounds, three minuscule cubes of turnip and about two equally tiny cubes of swede which would have cost about 15p max...... cost to us was a massive £2.95 or £3 (it was one or the other) for EACH portion. I notice this isn't displayed on the hotel web site when mentioning the "fixed" menu lunch price !!!

Tea was served after our meal. One teapot for our group of four containing two tea bags, a hot water pot, jug of milk and one small and ordinary chocolate mint each ...... cost per person, a massive £3 per head.

So, what with our vegetable portions costing an extra £12 and our cup of tea costing another £12 this added a massive £24 to our final bill just for these two items ....... OUTRAGEOUS ! We were absolutely happy with everything else and when dining in this lovely hotel you do expect to pay a bit more, however we felt totally and utterly ripped-off with these extras which was really sad because it was an otherwise great place.

So, Coed-y-Mwstwr management team you do the sums here ...... you lost four people returning AND four people recommending your excellent restaurant and all because of charging outrageous prices for two items that probably cost you a maximum of 20p per head. Please don't try to justify these amounts by talking about overheads etc etc because we were already paying to dine there, we hadn't just come in to use your restaurant and facilities for a bowl of veg and a cup of tea !!!!

I bet we're not the only customers who feel like this .... but we're probably the only ones to point this out to you in such easy-to-understand financial business terms. You really do need to sort this out because it totally spoilt what was an otherwise very pleasant afternoon for us plus it has earned you this negative review and all for you charging us an extra twenty four POUNDS for items that cost you about eighty PENCE. Just where is the sense in that ?????????

I feel like charging you for this valuable piece of business feedback and advice but here, have it on the house .... your management team are seemingly in need of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WelshFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding your lunch at the Eliot Restaurant here at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, I would value the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you would like to contact me at the hotel and we may discuss the above. It’s only with guest’s feedback that we can improve and maintain our services and products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We held a after Wedding reception after my Daughters wedding in Hawaii. We chose the Coed-y-Mwstwr as the feedback for other quests was excellant.
Every part of the organisation was top quality, the Food, and service was first rate and the venue recently redecorated looked the part.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time and reviewing the hotel. Thank you for your kind words, we are glad to see you enjoyed your daughters after wedding reception at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel. Weddings are an enjoyable occasion and we take great pride in hosting these special events at the hotel. Viewing your comments reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that we have set and on behalf of The Coed-Y-Mwstwr team we would like to thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dear Sir

We visited your hotel today for afternoon tea and wanted to tell you what a lovely experience we had, from the time we arrived we were looked after in a very professional and friendly manner, the cakes and sandwiches were of a very high standard, the staff were very attentive even though there was a wedding party going on at the same time. We will certainly recommend your hotel to our friends and family, please pass on our thanks to your very professional and friendly team.

Many Thanks
Peter Davey + 5

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank pdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write such nice words about your afternoon tea at the hotel. Your lovely comments have been passed on to all the staff involved. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently in celebration of our birthdays and wedding anniversary. The food was excellent, the accommodation very comfortable and staff extremely efficient , pleasant and helpful. The setting of the hotel in beautiful grounds was an added attraction. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear reviewer thank you for taking the time and reviewing the hotel. I would just like to say a belated happy birthday and happy anniversary! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and this is all thanks to our hard working gardener. All the staff at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel work hard to make every guests stay an enjoyable and memorable one. We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed at this hotel over the weekeknd we attended a wedding reception on sat have to say we really enjoyed our stay everything about the hotel was good and just a lovely quiet location the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful throughout our stay bar service was good and the breakfast was excellent!

Room Tip: we did not have any problems with room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing the hotel, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your weekend celebrations with us. Weddings are an enjoyable occasion and we take great pride in hosting these special events at the hotel. Viewing your comments reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that we have set and on behalf of The Coed-Y-Mwstwr team, I would like to thank you once again and hope that you will visit us in the foreseeable future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel as ‘old friends’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have stayed here on business with colleagues previously but this time they put us all in the coach house rooms. These were lovely. Downside to mine was that I had a disabled room which had a shower/wet room. When I had my shower the whole of the bathroom floor was wet & stayed wet. The mirror steamed up so was unable to use this for putting on make up (best light). I couldn't open the bathroom window to clear the steam as there was no blind and people were walking past the open window. No-one else seemed to have a similar room. Mine was Coach House 3. We will no doubt be back & I will ask for a move from this room, but otherwise the hotel is great. Good bar service & breakfast was really good

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Annbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Reviewer, it was nice to welcome you and your colleagues back to the hotel and to hear that you’re overall stay and conference was enjoyable. We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding Coach House 03 it’s only with guests feedback that we can improve. We do pride ourselves on a good quality breakfast with locally sourced product. All of us at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
4.3 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
307 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Address: Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 6AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bridgend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: $162 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel near Bridgend in South Wales is a beautiful privately owned 4 star country house hotel justifiably proud of its fine reputation. Few settings are more tranquil than that of the aptly named Coed-y-Mwstwr or "Whispering Trees". Perched on a Welsh hillside and surrounded by over 17 acres of woodland, this Victorian mansion provides a cosy and secluded hideaway overlooking the picturesque Vale of Glamorgan. With our gym, sauna and steam room, tennis court and adjacent golf course there is plenty to keep the energetic occupied. Built in 1888 the house was first opened as a hotel in 1965. It is an oasis of calm where you, your family and your business colleagues are always welcomed back as old friends. Our 35 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms ensure all modern comforts and facilities are provided. At the privately owned Coed-Y-Mwstwr hotel, our team have pride in what they do, they enjoy working at the hotel. You'll be greeted with a warm Welsh welcome and you're assured of friendly, but always courteous and professional attention throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing