We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting...attention to detail stops this being the 'Perfect Getaway'.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting...attention to detail stops this being the 'Perfect Getaway'.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed on 7th and 8th of Dec. It had been some 30 years since I last stayed there. Lovely setting, excellent reception and staff very attentive. Lots of Xmas parties and bar and reception areas very busy.
We were in a room at rear of hotel overlooking the forest. Room was spacious and nicely decorated however, the curtains when pulled were in poor condition with holes in them. The bathroon shower had seen better days with bits falling off.... but was fully functional and the toilet was badly placed alongside heated towel rail that burnt your leg when you sat down.
The food and staff made up for these slight problems with room, and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very secluded country hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigtonybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Firstly I would like to take the opportunity to welcome you back to the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel after a long gap. The staff at the hotel strive to make every guests visit as enjoyable as possible and appreciate when a guest compliments them on their hard work. We are sorry you experienced issues with your room and it is only with guest feedback such as this, that we can work towards offering a better service and standard. After reading your comments we have since replaced the curtains. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    101
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
137
118
6
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dinas Powys, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We attended a party for a pensioner friend at the hotel, and it was very nice. The staff treated all the guests so well, way beyond what they were getting paid for. They were all bending over backwards to make the evening go well.
We stayed that night and again they managed to put our children in an adjacent room with an internal door.
We have also driven to the hotel to visit the restaurant a few times now. Each time the meal was excellent and I highly recommend the beef carvery, it was the most perfectly cooked one I have had.
Overall I find the hotel a happy and relaxing place to be. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here as a birthday treat with my partner on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Check in was fast and friendly and our room was huge with a seperate lounge area. The bathroom was amazing, very modern. Cleanliness was excellent throughout the hotel and the bed was comfortable and cosy. After checking in and showering we decided to have a drink in the bar before dinner, although a wedding was taking place and the bar was very loud and crammed. Never the less the service was fast and friendly, and the pricing isn't too bad either. Food was wonderfull, although again people outside the restaurant were playing music loudly, which took away some of the romance!
Food 10/10 and the chef even came in to talk to us. The breakfast the follwing morning was again excellent. We ordered room service and the food arrived piping hot, and was delicious.
Overall we enjpyed our stay here and the rooms are excellent!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a wedding night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_John_Noah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay on our autumn special offer. Your comments regarding the amazing bathroom, spacious bedroom and excellent food you ate in the restaurant will be passed on. While we endeavour to allocate 'non wedding' guests bedrooms away from the function I am sorry to hear you found the lounge bar slightly noisy. We value all feedback that we receive from our guests and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at the Coed for our friends Lizzy & Jules Special Day. Excellent venue simply charming a and stylish.
All the staff couldn't do enough for us first class service in a wonderful setting.

We stayed in the Coach House styled to perfection very comfortable I could have moved in.
Thank you Coed-Y-Mwster team from the receptionist who helped print the Vows to the waitress who looked after us at breakfast. from start to finish perfect.

Room Tip: Request The Coach House lovely and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castawayWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed Lizzy & Jules special day and also your stay at the hotel. The team work very hard to ensure that we provide excellent service to everyone and they were all pleased to read your comments. We are delighted you found your room comfortable and your choice of room in the Coach House helped make your stay perfect from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked this hotel for a corporate event involving the senior management, the event required an overnight stay and conference facilities over two days. The staff were friendly and very helpful and flexible to our ever changing break times. The evening meal we had was delicious and the standard of service was excellent while still maintaining a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. I will definitely be using this venue again for both corporate functions and personally.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review following your residential conference at the hotel. We are glad you found our service style helpful, flexible and relaxing and the food excellent. Keep an eye out on our website for our new winter accommodation offers so we can help you enjoy an overnight leisure stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been there twice this year, once to celebrate our wedding anniversary and this week on business. On both occasions the service and food were excellent.

The room was comfortable and, as with much of the hotel, retained a very comfortable country hotel feel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerraint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that we met your expectations on both occasions although the reasons for your stay were different. We hope to welcome you back again and whether your next stay is for business or leisure, please feel free to contact me direct to make your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is great for ANY venue, from weddings to conferences. Very picturesque & the grounds well looked after. Staff are pleasant & the food is nice. We have attended a few weddings here & they have all been spectacular. A beautiful place.

Helpful?
Thank kenya25_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
2.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
481 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
7.0 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
13.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Property: Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Address: Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 6AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bridgend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel near Bridgend in South Wales is a beautiful privately owned 4 star country house hotel justifiably proud of its fine reputation. Few settings are more tranquil than that of the aptly named Coed-y-Mwstwr or "Whispering Trees". Perched on a Welsh hillside and surrounded by over 17 acres of woodland, this Victorian mansion provides a cosy and secluded hideaway overlooking the picturesque Vale of Glamorgan. With our gym, sauna and steam room, tennis court and adjacent golf course there is plenty to keep the energetic occupied. Built in 1888 the house was first opened as a hotel in 1965. It is an oasis of calm where you, your family and your business colleagues are always welcomed back as old friends. Our 35 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms ensure all modern comforts and facilities are provided. At the privately owned Coed-Y-Mwstwr hotel, our team have pride in what they do, they enjoy working at the hotel. You'll be greeted with a warm Welsh welcome and you're assured of friendly, but always courteous and professional attention throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing