We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real culinary treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A real culinary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night on a dinner and breakfast package. As with many other reviewers there was a wedding taking place but it didn't impact on us at all.

The Coed-Y-Mwster is in a lovely quiet spot on a hill overlooking the town of Bridgend, on a clear day the views are spectacular. The grounds are nice with plenty of mature trees, tennis courts and a separate sauna and gym building. The hotel is an attractive building; you enter into well decorated and tasteful open reception and lounge area.

We were on the 3rd floor in the modern wing. The communal areas are all well maintained and the room itself was large, well furnished and included a widescreen TC and separate seating area. Bathroom was mid-sized and clean.

Eliot’s Restaurant was the main purpose of our visit and didn't disappoint. As with other 2 AA rosette restaurants, the menu contained a lot of local produced and was cooked with real talent and presented with flair. The extra touches like an amuse bouche, homemade bread and attentive service were just right. The wine list contained a fair choice and was well priced. All 3 courses were excellent although the Textures of Beetroot and Strawberry Semifreddo stood out.

After dinner we retreated to the private resident’s bar which was a large and opulent period lounge. A perfect place for an after dinner whisky! The hotel was quiet through the night and offered a good night’s sleep.

Breakfast was freshly cooked from the menu with the usual cereals and toast on the side. The staff were all friendly and attentive throughout our stay. We left happy and full, and planning the next meal at Eliot's.

If you are looking for a quiet break, with superb food and a touch of luxury the Coed-y-Mwster is perfect.

Room Tip: The newer wing is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for review following your stay on our autumn special offer. We pride ourselves on our locally sourced, freshly made food and it's always a pleasure to hear from our customers that they enjoyed their experience in Eliots Restaurant. Keep an eye out on our website for our new accommodation offers and perhaps treat yourselves to an overnight stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    81
    19
    13
    3
See reviews for
111
101
6
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

After two relaxing days at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, we can recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet haven in a convenient spot in South Wales. We arrived at a busy moment, with a wedding party having drinks in the lounge, but the reception staff gave us their full attention and had thoughtfully given us a quiet room overlooking the garden and away from the function room. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, and smelt fresh too. We enjoyed Sky TV in the room where we could enjoy the exciting Ryder Cup! It was a treat to stay in a hotel where the windows can be opened fully instead of just a crack, so thanks for that. All the staff struck a good balance between professionalism and friendliness. Bar food and breakfast all excellent too. We hope to return to this lovely hotel one day. Our thanks to every member of staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and recommendation following a two night stay with us. We endeavour to allocate 'non wedding' guests rooms away from the function rooms to ensure they enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay. This also means you can open the windows and enjoy the garden and fresh air. I am pleased you found all our staff friendly and helpful and your comments have been passed onto them. Myself, and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night and I can't fault the place. Friendly, efficient welcome and a lovely, spacious room in the new part of the building. We had a lovely view over the garden and plenty of space to sit and relax. Everything was very clean.
Although a large wedding was taking place, great pains were taken to make sure that it didn't affect our stay with a separate loune set aside so that non-wedding guests could enjoy a peaceful drink before dinner. The food was very good and, as non-meat eaters, we appreciated the effort that had been made to offer unusual vegetarian choices. Similarly, home made veggie susages (delicious!) were offered as standard at breafast, alongside a very good choice of other items. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package which was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback following your stay at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel. Your comments regarding the vegetarian choices that were offered have been passed on to the kitchen team who make a great effort to offer innovative cuisine. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our autumn special offer value for money. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I live in the US and was over for my Grandaughters wedding on Sept 14th, 2012 at this hotel, I would just like to state that the wedding was fabulous, the hotel did a great job. We spent 2 nights in the hotel and got to know the staff, who were really great. I would reccommend, this hotel for weddings, or just a place to stay. Thanks to one and all of you, for you made my grand daughters day so beautiful for her.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing all the way from the US and we would like to thank you for letting us be part of your granddaughter’s special day. We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us and it was our pleasure helping to make the day beautiful for the happy couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently went to the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel for my sister's wedding. The service and organisation leading up to the wedding was brilliant with many thanks to Nicola Jones. Everything went so well and the day wouldn't have been such a success without all the amazing staff that helped - Special thanks to Grant, Jackie and Danielle who went above and beyond what was expected of them. The hotel is perfect for a wedding and really made my sister's wedding perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review; we are so pleased that we helped make your sister’s wedding day perfect. Your review has been passed onto Jackie, Danielle and Grant. We do hope you will keep visiting us, we always enjoying welcoming back ‘old friends’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a treat for my parents who were visiting Wales. I couldn't have wished for a more lovely suite of rooms for them and they couldn't have been happier there. The staff were friendly and helpful which was particularly important as my mum has very specific requirements regarding the food that she eats due to having had oral cancer which makes eating out very difficult. I met my paremts to eat int the restuarant and the staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and between the waiter and the chef, my mum had a wonderful meal that didn't make her feel too different. The hotel itself is so beautiful with lovely views. The rooms was clean and comfortable and my parents felt really special staying there. Thank you,

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that your parents enjoyed their stay with us and found the service friendly and helpful. We aim to make guests feel at home whilst away from home and always endeavour to meet special requests. It was a pleasure having your parents stay and we hope they will come back and see us again when visiting Wales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a really great stay at this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and went out of their way. The rooms were of high quality, food very good. Especially the welsh lamb, scallops and banana souffle! The views are beautiful! Really recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are glad you had a really great stay and enjoyed our Welsh welcome (and Welsh lamb!) I am also glad that the wait for the homemade soufflé was worth it. We hope you will come back to the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
3.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Property: Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Address: Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 6AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bridgend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel near Bridgend in South Wales is a beautiful privately owned 4 star country house hotel justifiably proud of its fine reputation. Few settings are more tranquil than that of the aptly named Coed-y-Mwstwr or "Whispering Trees". Perched on a Welsh hillside and surrounded by over 17 acres of woodland, this Victorian mansion provides a cosy and secluded hideaway overlooking the picturesque Vale of Glamorgan. With our gym, sauna and steam room, tennis court and adjacent golf course there is plenty to keep the energetic occupied. Built in 1888 the house was first opened as a hotel in 1965. It is an oasis of calm where you, your family and your business colleagues are always welcomed back as old friends. Our 35 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms ensure all modern comforts and facilities are provided. At the privately owned Coed-Y-Mwstwr hotel, our team have pride in what they do, they enjoy working at the hotel. You'll be greeted with a warm Welsh welcome and you're assured of friendly, but always courteous and professional attention throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing