We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, friendly base if you are visiting South Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazelwood House

Hazelwood House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazelwood House
Ranked #1 of 13 Bridgend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly base if you are visiting South Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Hazelwood House recently whilst visiting family in the area. It is a really lovely guest house, with a rural feel to it,situated amongst meadows and trees, yet not far from the centre of Bridgend. The rooms were spacious,well equipped, and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts also were good.There is free and plentiful parking close to the House. However, the thing that really made the place special for us was the welcome we were given by Tony, the owner. He made us feel completely at ease, offering help and advice when we needed it, but allowing us space when we wanted to do our own thing. Not an easy balance to maintain in a small hotel, but very successfully managed at Hazelwood House.We thought the hotel was very good value for money too. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Architect53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
41
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just had to do a review for this great, friendly little place that my husband and I found last year and we decided to visit again. We came home today!

The welcome was just as warm as the first time and the staff were unobtrusive but attentive. The manager/owner was clearly interested in us as guests and asked us each day if we had enjoyed our trips out. He also gave us some great ideas about places to eat etc.

We had the ground floor king-sized room which was spacious and well equipped. I enjoyed the duvet as I get a little tired of sheets and throws or blankets that you get in lots of hotels these days (they are always tucked in all the way round and I wrestle them before I go to bed which makes everything so untidy - duvets are great). Parking too was a breeze, with a large spacious car park that meant that everyone parked easily (the hotel was full). I liked the tree at the front and that it was lit up at night as this made it all feel very romantic.

Having read other people's reviews before visiting this time, I was actually more conscious of external noise than I had been on the first visit, although I didn't find the occasional traffic noise even remotely irritating, and I found the sound of the trains strangely reassuring when they passed from time to time - so really this didn't impact on the stay.

Breakfast was organised to our schedule (not the hotel's) and the time we wanted was agreed the night before. The breakfast was ample and really set us up for the day. It was charged in addition to the room rate, but that was clear on booking. It was nice to feel that we didn't need to have breakfast and we wouldn't be wasting money.

All in all - another good, relaxing stay and I have this feeling that this is going to become an annual event. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few months ago. We were greeted warmly on reception and instantly felt at home. Our room was clean, spacious and warm. The decor wasn't quite to my taste (a smidge old fashioned) but not something that would deter me from staying again. Breakfast was enjoyable, although maybe could have been improved by using local sausages. The staff were able to recommend local areas, walks and places to visit. Overall, one of the friendliest welcomes I've ever had, really lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmac893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our stay at Hazelwood House was very mixed. The fellow who greeted us on arrival was odd. There was no word of welcome. He implied he wasn't expecting us, and then that only one room was booked when we needed two, neither of which were correct especially as we had phoned ahead to check that all was well. Either he felt this was some sort of joke, or he was stoned/drunk. Though our rooms were very clean and well prepared, we were disturbed by being so close to the main railway line and main road. My wife had to decamp to sleep on the bathroom floor for our first night and then share with our daughter for the second as her room was a bit further removed from the arterial transport links. The breakfast (and breakfast staff) were, however, fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the back adjacent to the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MenaiBridgeScrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Warm and friendly staff make you very welcome at this hotel. It is clean, spacious and in a quiet location away from the town centre but very accessible. We have stayed here three times when visiting the Millenium Stadium and have never been disappointed. The rooms and en suite bathrooms are all large and have everything needed for the business traveller, the holiday maker or like us, the long weekenders. The breakfast table has everything anyone could need to set them up for the day, and there is also the full Welsh breakfast - delicious ! Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, far better than some of the large group hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xChubbsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Large room, clean, free mineral water. Breakfast was huge, and the manager was very helpful guiding me into town, which you can walk to in 20-30mins.

Bed was large as well, and also a trouser press in the room.

Definately recommended by me, and better value than the chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuju187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lovely clean guesthouse just outside Bridgend town centre, spacious bedroom, nice outside garden and seating area, excellent service from Anthony behind reception.
Only slight minuses I can think of was the curtains didn't keep out much of the morning sunshine (not a problem for everyone though), and the 'Welsh breakfast' offered was a full English to my eyes - where was the Welshness?
Apart from those niggles everything was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirShaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood House

Property: Hazelwood House
Address: Hazelwood House Tondu Road, Bridgend CF31 4LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to Gold Business Standard our four star purpose built guest house offers eight en-suite bedrooms, a discrete dining room and lounge area housed in a conservatory. Residents also have access to the carefully tended garden which is set in 2.5 Acres of natural parkland alongside the river. There is a mini supermarket and off-license 500 metres away. The Pheasant Pub situated 0.8 Miles away serving all day meals.Easy access to Bridgend a, The pines, The M4 Jnct.36 And all Bridgend's industrial estates. Things to do nearby include visiting local beaches and the Heritage Coast, ride on the beach at Ogmore Trecking Centre, numerous Golf Courses including Southerndown and The Royal Porthcawl. Ideal for Cylists with secure storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazelwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelwood House Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing