We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame I had to rate this place so low”
Review of Harvester Sarn

Harvester Sarn
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvester Sarn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 187 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shame I had to rate this place so low”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I ate here with my cousin and our friend. We arrived at an off peak time, the restaurant was not busy. We had to wait 5 minutes to be acknowledged by staff, the lady at the bar only glared at us. Not a good start! Things didn't improve.

We were seated and our server took the order for drinks, we only ordered 1. It took 5 minutes to come back with a single glass so we could use the machine. He then took our order. He went. It took 45 minutes for our food to arrive which was ridiculous considering it was so quiet. Our server did not take our salad plates away when he served our mains.The food was fantastic (could have done with a bit more curry).

We wanted dessert but no server returned to serve us. In the end I went to one of the tills to be told NO, I can't serve you. No sign of original server. We waited another 10/15 minutes before walking to front desk, handing it to the manager and walking out.

Food was fantastic, service really lets this place down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmi_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Sarn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are sorry that had disappointing service at our Harvester Restaurant and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    138
    140
    108
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Used to be nice...”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We used to call here regularly, but after last night we won't go again. Staff were friendly enough, but the food was terrible. Greasy chicken and a salad bar that looked as though it had been dropped from 20 feet, yet everything seems to have gone up a couple of quid. Sort it out Harvester!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JasonTaffsWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Sarn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“OKISH...WOULDNT GO THERE BY CHOICE”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Called in for a quick meal... food mediocre, steaks not a patch on Beefeater... service was ok, very busy. We sat near the salad bar and continually knocked as people passed by. Wouldnt recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Sarn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dont eat here.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I ate here on the saturday evening of a Bank Holiday weekend, as we had been here a few years ago and found it very good, oh how things change. During the wait for a table we ordered a drink and sat at a table which had not been cleared and was not during the time we sat there. THere was food and litter scattered on the floor. The food was below average and had sat under the heat lamps for too long causing the sauces to congeal. THe quality of the meat was below average. The only high point of the evening was our waiter who was rushing around on his own covering a two person station, Seems quality has been passed over for quantity, How many people can we squeeze in? The seat of my trousers still bears the mark of someones food. Will not return

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HerbyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Sarn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“What has gone wrong with this place?”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I gave eaten here frequently over the years , and whilst not great, it was always OK. But my most recent visit was terrible. It was a Sunday, so for whatever reason, the place was busy, but yee gods the filth was terrible. All work surfaces were uncleaned and sticky. Under our table was dropped food and cutlery. Similarly other tables were not left out! Our food was warm and bland. What they had done to ut, heaven knows. The communal salad bar should have been closed down on health grounds. Avoid this place until management are changed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Sarn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I gave eaten here frequently over the years , and whilst not great, it was always OK. But my most recent visit was terrible. It was a Sunday, so for whatever reason, the place was busy, but yee gods the filth was terrible. All work surfaces were uncleaned and sticky. Under our table was dropped food and cutlery. Similarly other tables were not left out! Our food was warm and bland. What they had done to ut, heaven knows. The communal salad bar should have been closed down on health grounds. Avoid this place until management are changed.

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Harvester Bridgend. Your feedback is valued and will be passed on to our Guest Services Department, but we would appreciate it if you could reply to us at harvester.pubs@googlemail.com with the following information, in order that they can contact you directly:
Your Name & Address
Daytime/Evening Telephone Number
Number of people in the group
Date & Time of your visit
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester Sarn also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Pencoed, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Harvester Sarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing