We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect afternoon walk”

Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1812, this major waterway runs 42 miles from Brecon to Newport, Gwent, where the first 33 miles are navigable.
Herefordshsire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A perfect afternoon walk”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am not a great walker owing to my advancing years but never fail to enjoy a level walk by the canal. I walk from Pencelli to Talybont, You have chats with folk on Barges or other walkers and when you reach Talybont there are a few pleasant pubs for a pint and a bite to eat . Another nice area is Llangynydr or the lock area nearer Brecon where you can walk over the Aquaduct.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    42
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brecon Park Boats”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day trip along the Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal. We hired a canal boat from Brecon Park Boats and cannot fault the attention to detail on the boat (Peregrine). Everything you could want....from ample storage...cooking facilities....and even 'home from home' bathrooms (with toiletries). Sarah & Alastair gave a great handover and did not leave us until we were happy with navigating the boat. There was a lovely posy of flowers to great us along with some Welsh cakes (which we had never tried before) and some local Apple Juice. Unfortunately they couldnt control the weather but it was dry and we had a fantastic experience with some breathtaking scenery along the way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueC529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We will be back again next month love everything about it. So much to see for all.
Many pubs along the canal, it's flat easy for all walkers. Not always great for pushchairs just due to gravel or uneven ground.
There are pertly of hill walks, why not check out the gaffs trail.
We did

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tich88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Canal originally from Brecon to Newport.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Although this canal starts at Brecon, it extends,with gaps, through Pontypool to Cwmbran and Newport. These towns (and the canal) are in the Valleys Regional Park, not Brecon Beacons Nat Park. The views along the tow path are changeable and interesting, from farmland to Goytre Wharfe, the Pontypool Folly, Cwmbran B&Q, and disused locks. Close to several local pubs along its length and access to nearby roads means its possible to dip in and out of any section the tourist fancies. Well worth a visit for dog owners and bird watchers. Enjoy this wonderful historical beauty before developers come along and spoil it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“An Historic Gem”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Canal which is 100 years this year runs through some of the best countryside in Wales. From Brecon town, where it terminates near the centre, to Pontypool it covers some outstanding Countryside. There are 5 outlets renting narrowboats, as well as, in Brecon, the opportunity to rent a day boat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal also viewed

Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing