We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard work, but worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen-y-Fan

Pen-y-Fan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At just under 3,000 feet, this is the highest mountain in South Wales and the jewel in the crown that is the Brecon Beacons National Park.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hard work, but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We walked up here with our son in August 2010 with my late husband so that he could get some good photo's from the top. He did, but he also got some of us as a family which are now treasured memories.
It's quite a hard walk, however, my son was 10 when we did this and he managed fine, the top is very 'breezy' and chilly so even if it's boiling hot at the bottom, take a cardi!

Helpful?
2 Thank Scotts-on-hollibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    70
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Pretty easy walk up from the National Trust car park on the north side, near the town of Brecon. Spectacular Views.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

One not to be missed! What an incredible experience. Not to be approached lightly but neither one to think too tough to handle. There are two different types of approach to Pen Y Fan from the Storey Arms approach and to be considered. The tougher but more direct route goes to the left of the main building by the telephone kiosk. The other is in the direction of where they have felled a load of trees and by the car park (to the right). This is more of a gradual incline. Why go the one way and return the other and thereby creating a nice loop walk. At the Storey arms car park is a resident snack bar and a chance to grab what you need. Great burgers and cuppa. Been there 20 years now. Make sure you have checked the weather forecast - got good footwear and coat. Finally ensure you comply with the countryside code and take any litter with you. Try to go on a clear day as the views are spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The climb from Storey Arms in the deep snow was an amazing experience and the view from the top: Breath-taking!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank csje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

As a complete novice hiker this was my first climb. It was a bit steep to begin with but pretty straightforward. Once you get up on the ridge the views make it all worthwhile. Make sure you stop along the way just to admire it! We were lucky it was a very clear day when we got to the top. But id love to try it in the snow.

The route up from the Storey Arms was busy. We walked up Taf Fechan forest and along the ridge to Corn Du then onto Pen y Fan. That route was not as busy so I think more enjoyable. We descended and came back via the roman road.

I wilk be heading back in March 2013 and intend on timing myself as I have signed up for the four peaks challenge with friends. Pen y Fan sparked my interest in hiking so will have a special place in my heart.

Helpful?
Thank erinmelia0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pen-y-Fan also viewed

Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Pen-y-Fan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing