We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“80th Birthday Weekend”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tyn y Cae

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ClareIsaa...
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“80th Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

There were 20 family members stayed at this house Friday - Monday to celebrate our mums 80th. There is plenty of space within this house, two living rooms and two kitchens. All bedrooms were equipped with everything you needed including towels. Both kitchens had everything you needed and more. This house is a great large space for a group of friends or family to spend some time in a lovely area of Brecon. Would defiantly recommend this house and would love to come back in the summer to enjoy the great outdoors a bit more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zacjarvis...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic setting, perfect house for a large group of friends and family with everything you need and more.”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are returning guests to this stunning house, as we have such a relaxing and lovely holiday every time we stay. You have everything you need from quick and easy WiFi access to really spacious rooms and outdoors areas for kids to explore. We will be booking for next year...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borbus
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming, yet modern, spacious house with everything you could want”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pros:
- Owner was flexible and able to set up an additional bed
- Family friendly - 2 travel cots provided, high chairs, toys, books, plus table tennis, pool table and outdoor Connect 4 game available
- Lounges with lovely wood stoves, gas fired barbecue and outside 'camp' fire available
- Scenic, with a farm with sheep literally next door
- Owner was easy going and overlooked a glass and bowl breakage (thanks Ruth!)
- Spotlessly clean
- Kitchens and bathrooms were all modern and finished to a high standard
- Owner kindly gave us a tour and showed us where everything was
- Location was great for Brecon as attractions were very close by (generally around 10-15 mins drive away)

Cons:
- Poor phone reception and wifi connectivity, though we managed to get by
- The stairs to the bedrooms may be difficult for those less mobile; no bedroom on the ground floor (though this is evident from the property description)

Overall, this was a cracking place to stay and definitely highly recommended for large groups to stay in or around Brecon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and condition of the property
Liked least: Wifi connectivity
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Hi Rugena, thanks for the comments lovely comments. I'm sorry about the wifi - the house is equipped with access points throughout and connectivity is usually excellent in every room so there must have been an issue with it - thanks for bringing it to my attention now as I will ensure I get the issue resolved for the next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen M
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for large family/friends gathering”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were an extended family of seventeen and all enjoyed the high quality of the rooms and furnishings, Tyn y Cae is situated in an amazing and beautiful spot with easy access to Brecon and surrounding areas and would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.
The owners are a lovely couple and make you feel so welcome.
We have had two wonderful stays here and i am sure it wont be the last

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart W
1 review
“Great comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed a Tyn Y Cae for a spot of walking in Brecon.

It easily accommodated 12 adults with its 9 bedrooms, 2 kitchens and 2 lounges. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are amazing

I would strongly recommend Tyn Y Cae for large groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Special. A delightful getaway for some quality time with friends and family.”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed in Tyn y Cae in November with friends and our children. The house is beautifully decorated, comfy and really well stocked. The kitchen has everything you need and the dining room seats loads of people so we could all eat together at the same time. The cosy living room has these amazing sofas and a wood burner which made it perfect at the end of a rainy day. There are loads of beautiful walks and family activities close by, as well as a local pub, but it's such a pleasure to stay in the house you don't need to go anywhere. Top top it all off is the fire pit in the back garden and all the outdoors space. The kids loved it. The owners are really helpful and friendly. I have already stayed here twice now and booked to stay again in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing