We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old world warmth”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Private riverside picnic area
Lounge
Rolltop Bath and large powerful shower
Riverside Cottage
View from bridge
Alfresco
Lounge
Dining Room
View of humped back bridge from garden patio
Twin room
View from the dining room
Bathroom
Garden wild flowers growing on old stone walls
Garden Gate
Antique lighting throughout
Front door
Bathroom
Antique lighting
Glimpse of well equipped kitchen
Victorian bath, bathroom also includes a large seperate shower
Plenty of books, DVD's and CD's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Blodwench
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old world warmth”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I loved this cottage. I would have given fewer stars as the one flaw was a badly equipped kitchen, but the owner contacted me to ask what items he should add. So, not only top marks for good communication on his part, but also, there shouldn’t be any problems with kitchen equipment in the future. There is a huge Bosch fridge freezer which is a bonus.
The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished. The walls are painted in old whites, and furnished with slightly battered dark oak, and the furniture – even the doors and architraves - have been harmonised throughout so it appears to be of the same period. It’s quite bare, in the right sort of way, without clutter, and the feel is like an old country house of the simple type. It is warm both in temperature and in homeliness, with a lived-in feel. The two leather sofas in the living room are very comfy, and there is a large TV with a collection of DVDs. We didn’t light the log burner but there is a plentiful supply of wood, and it must be lovely when it’s alight in the oak fireplace.
The stairs are quite steep so be warned. Upstairs, the bathroom is lovely, especially the two person (just about!) bath and tiled washstand, with a plentiful supply of toiletries. And the bed, though it felt firm when we first got in, is extremely comfortable and supportive. We both slept soundly and awoke without backache (we are both a bit arthritic). The wardrobe does have a slight smell of mothballs, and there is only one bedside table lamp. Maybe the owners could remedy this?
I notice comments from other reviewers about noise and suggesting double glazing. We went in May, and there was quite a racket from the rookery opposite! On the other hand it was nice to hear the owls at night. But my suggestion would be for the owner to consider secondary glazing, which is marginally less efficient thermally but far better for acoustic insulation. The primary windows could be kept as they are, which is why it’s often used for old listed buildings.

It’s a brilliant place for exploring the Beacons, and the location is very quiet and rural. I think, as far as the Brecon Beacons is concerned, this must be one of the best cottages you can find. It is not grand or chic yet it is luxurious in a simple and tasteful way, if that is not a contradiction in terms.

The parking is right by the back door, but if you find the property on google you will see a garage attached to the back. This must have been demolished and made into a parking space instead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bath, bed, lots of old oak.
Liked least: Lack of kitchen equipment but this will be remedied
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thank you very much for the review and for your suggestions on improvements, many of which are in the process of being actioned.
Best wishes James and Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferL...
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage!”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a great stay at Riverside cottage despite the weather being pretty horrible all weekend. The cottage is really cosy thanks to the underfloor heating although the upstairs felt a bit cold sometimes (not sure if the underfloor heating is also upstairs?) - with the addition of double glazing the cottage would be perfect! Location is perfect as it's just a couple of miles outside of Brecon which has everything you need. The cottage is also really well equipped with a nice kitchen, washing machine, fast wifi and a great TV, which you don't always find in holiday properties!

We will definitely be coming back and hope for better weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating
Liked least: Drafty upstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2015
Thank you for the review, upstairs under floor heating had been switched off by a previous guest as weather was unseasonably warm at the time. Under floor heating upstairs now switched back on. We are hoping to get oak double glazed Windows installed in the spring. Thanks again for your comments and hope next time you visit the cottage the weather is kinder. Regards James and Sally.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandM...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cosy, clean, comfortable and very well equipped”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very well equipped with quality furnishings and kitchen equipment and a wonderful bath and double shower. There is even a collection of books, CDs and DVDs provided and some basic kitchen staples there on arrival. This is a quaint cottage with a cosy, comfortable, home-from-home feel and is very clean. Bird life was great with nuthatches in the garden which we never see at home. Our only real disappointment with the setting was that the nearby road was dangerous to walk on due to the lack of verges and fast traffic on a narrow, winding thoroughfare meaning that to go into Brecon we needed to take the car every time rather than just enjoy a walk. It's a pity that there is no double glazing because this would have muffled the farm vehicle noise which tended to disturb the tranquillity - but this is maybe only noticeable at certain times of the year. We had a very relaxing week and would stay again if we were in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint cottage and great bird life
Liked least: Farm vehicle noise disturbing the tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
Thank you for the review, we have added a note at the cottage recommending that guests take the lane route to Brecon and not the main road as although its longer it is a much nicer safer option. As for the noise of the occasional farm vehicle some of which can be large and noisy you are right in assuming that it is seasonal. The good news is that we are having wooden double glazed cottage style windows installed in spring 2016. Hope to see you again next time you visit Brecon. Regards James and Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet and relaxing cottage”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely stay recently at riverside cottage. It certainly is riverside and following the rain we have had meant we heard the wonderful sound of the river rushing as we slept at night. The cottage is located in a hamlet a couple of miles outside of brecon so great for accessing the brecons although we needed the car. Wonderful log burner which made for a cosy feel to the cottage. Chiminea area and garden is to the front of the house so not ideal for a secluded drink, but it's a very quiet road with the odd car and tractor passing. Bathroom with a roll top bath and waterfall shower was a real treat. Beds were wonderfully comfy. Only down side was Underfloor heating was great to have but we had to watch our little boy as wooden floor had warped and separated in places

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner and decor
Liked least: Flooring
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
Thank you for the review, the oak floor boards were installed in the summer and we were informed there would be some movement as they are real oak solid floor boards and would need time to settle. The areas that warped through natural movement have now been replaced and the nail you mentioned removed. An additional set of table and chairs has now been put at the back of the property as well. Thanks for your review as we need feedback to ensure we continue to improve the experience for future guests. Regards James and Sally.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing