We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most wonderful relaxing experince! 5 star!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
96 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catherine...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Most wonderful relaxing experince! 5 star!”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My family and I had the best time ever. We even took our two red setter dogs and they appeared to settle and enjoy it as much as us. Helen really made it welcoming and the dog basket was just lovely. All the finsihing touches were great, and made the break just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble.
The lodge itself was cosy and comfortable. The log fire kept us all warm and was very easy to use.
The hot tub was bliss, sitting in it and listening to the stream, was just heaven!
The location was great, just ten minutes from Brecon. This lodge is 5 star all the way and we can't wait to go back.

Thank you for having us x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey J
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Swyn-y-nant for a little mini-moon after our wedding. We just wanted some where we could relax and unwind after a hectic few weeks and Swn-y-Nant didn't disappoint. We travelled with our young daughter and two playful dogs and were greeted by Helen when we arrived. She is incredibly warm and friendly and helped us to settle in to our home for the week. The cabin is beautiful and so well though out. Every little detail is thought of. It's the little touches that make this place and Helen provides plenty of them.

The cabin is located close enough to Brecon town to nip in and out but far enough away that you get perfect tranquility. We made good use of the hot tub even in the autumn weather and coming back inside to the log fire was just perfect! This is a great little place to either spend a week relaxing or to use as a base for the many attractions of the Brecon Beacons. We absolutely loved it and are likely to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelamar...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sheer luxury and magnificent scenery”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived for a long weekend Helen popped over to show us how things worked,everything was clean and to a high standard,all fixtures and fittings top class.The log burner was a welcome addition and made the lodge nice and cozy,beds comfortable bathroom gorgeous and loved the rainfall shower.My children loved the hot tub and even wanting their own one at home. The tv surround sound and iPad with spotify were also a fab addition,as was the heated floor.The hot and cold tap,round the back was a godsend washing the dog off after a walk.we found the location great and had numerous walked nearby,the guest folders were fab with walks and info regarding the appliances,was great not having to wash up also the dishwasher was a welcome addition. The boys went and fed the alpacas which was fun! Matthew enjoyed it lol.
Thank you Helen we will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenjan1...
Banham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second weeks' stay at Sound of the Stream and yet again I can't wait to book next year! Helen is the perfect hostess and maintains a meticulous standard at the lodge and is always keen to know that everything is ok and that you have everything you need. From the crisp White Company bedding to the super fluffy towels and dressing gowns ( also The White Company) standards are exceptionally high. It is also great to see somewhere striving to carry through their green credentials wherever they can. Extra touches like the welcome basket containing morsels of local produce, the dog bed, towels and bowls and the doggie treat box are a real delight. Roll on next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni H
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We visited Brecon Retreat this week and were so happy with our choice.
The finishing touches were so lovely, the management can't do enough for you and it is so luxurious.
My two boys loved the hot tub and sing star.
Thank you for an unforgettable holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikita M
wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure relaxation”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An outstanding holiday for pure relation and very dog friendly. Nothing was ever an issue form the moment we walked through the door The attention to detail on the decor through to the gadgets was spot on! We specially loved the love heart on the front door, the banner saying congratulations (it was our honeymoon),3 very cute ducks by the hot tub and the little hamper left for us and Charlie (our dog). We couldnt find any faults, this is a place of pure beauty, a real treat for mini get aways or holidays with loved ones. Close to all near by attractions, pubs and shops or if you dont want to move spend the day listening to the stream and relaxing in the hot tub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F
1 review
“pure bliss”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

this spectacular retreat is perfect for a relaxing break or if your looking for an adventure in the Brecon Beacons. The lodge has been extremely thought out and has all you should need for your holiday and more! Helen the owner was welcoming and very helpful and has put a lot of thought into making your stay perfect, the welcoming hampers for us and our dog Skye were a lovely touch, and after a busy day trekking the Jacuzzi was amazing. The accommodation was cleaned to a high standard , the lodge is pet friendly but you would of never guessed any animals had been in before due to the high cleaning standard. we are looking forward to booking another holiday very soon!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing