We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tipple 'n' Tiffin - CLOSED

Tipple 'n' Tiffin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: British, Spanish, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was OK, nothing fab. Not welcoming. Fantastic outside seating area. Nice sofas. We were blasted with an arctic wind
every time someone came in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wewantcleanrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    63
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Never going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a restaurant where you have to order you veg separate, they are also charged separately. So s meal become expensive for something that is not really any better than pub grub

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank florencezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Tiffin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Spent far too much money in this restaurant over the years, but the food really is very good! The cockles and bacon are a must, but the Summer Pudding is to die as and when it's on the menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Brecon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I went to Tipple n Tiffin for our department Christmas lunch. There were 10 of us and we all had the Christmas Taster meal which was a unique alternative to a gut busting Christmas dinner.

There were 6 courses - Teacup of Butternut Squash soup, Salmon pate and Salmon Fishcake,
Battered Turkey with Cranberry Sauce, Thin Slices of Beef with Roast Veg, a Trio of Puddings and Mince Pies and Coffee.

The food was perfectly cooked and plenty of it for a taster menu - I couldn't finish my puddings! It wasn't served too quickly so you had time to relax before courses; and because of this it didn't leave you feeling tired and heavy like you can do after a huge Christmas dinner. The staff were friendly and the service excellent.

I also had lunch here a few weeks ago and again the food was perfectly cooked - the deep fried Penclawdd Cockles were delicious.

I would highly recommend Tipple n Tiffin to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FrightndFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to meet for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Good place for a meal with convenient car parking . Good choice on the menu with generous portions. Five of us enjoued meeting up for lunch here and will certainly visit again in the future. Thanks

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipple 'n' Tiffin also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing