We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crab Apple Cottage

Comfortable living area and modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable living area and modern kitchen
Oaks and ewes! - View over the patio. Strictly for the Bees - Summer visitors get the benefit
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Comfortable living area and modern kitchen
Oaks and ewes! - View over the patio.
Strictly for the Bees - Summer visitors get the benefit
Winter view of the Black Mountains from 'Newhouse'. The cottage is warm and cosy for winter breaks.
Bed with a view.
Crab Apple Cottage shares our house entrance but is separate with its own parking.
Bikes can be stored under cover or in a lock-up shed. There are also bike cleaning facilities
Spring blossom and driveway to cottage.
South-facing French doors form the cottage entrance
View from the cottage. Choose great local walks, or trek the Beacons and Black Mountains.
Dine while watching the sun go down.
En-suite bathroom with bath and thermostatically controlled shower.
New born foal and mother on common below Hay Bluff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
not i
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just perfect - 1 bed, very clean, high spec finish - real luxury home from home. Perfect location and very kind hosts. Don't tell everyone because I want to book it again!! Simply cannot fault the cottage or owners. Oven, microwave, washing machine, all utensils and a lovely warm fire. Wifi, SBS player and freesat. Always eggs and milk on arrival and perfect for walking on the Brecons. See you again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
138sp
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect base, whatever the weather!”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had another fantastic stay in Crabapple Cottage.

We stayed here back in February and loved it so much that we quickly booked to return in June!

As per our last visit, the cottage was cosy, clean and convenient, and in a beautiful location.

We were lucky with the weather this time around and were able to enjoy the pretty countryside and make the most of the longer days by going on walks around the local area during the evenings.

We had breakfast outside each day and had a chat with the sheep, which was fab! It was tempting to spend all day in the sun with a glass of wine, but we made the most of the fact that the beacons are so close by, and walked up Pen-Y-Fan and some of the other peaks during our stay.

As always, Nick was very helpful and put in a lot of effort to ensure we had everything we needed for a relaxing few days!

Having stayed during the colder, darker winter months and now also the light evenings and sun of summer, I would recommend the cottage for stays at any time of the year! I am sure we will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2015
Many thanks for finding the time to write such a positive review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, location and lovely aspect.
Liked least: The wifi was intermittently temperamental.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
emily g
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage, just what we hoped for.”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cottage for 2 nights and it was perfect, The owner met us on arrival and gave us lots of useful information (also lots of info is available on handouts in the cottage) and then we were left to our own devices and had plenty of privacy.

The cottage was immaculate and very cosy, there were fresh flowers which was a lovely touch and we felt very at home. It has everything you could need and was all very clean.

It's in a great location for walking, we took a short (5 minute) drive to some of the bigger hill walks and there are some lovely pubs close by too. Even though it was cold outside we sat and had a drink on the little terrace as it was so peaceful.

I would certainly use it again and recommend it to anyone looking for a private, peaceful retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a cosey cottage feel but all the modern amenities needed.
Liked least: The curtains in the bedroom could be lined to avoid being woken up with the sunrise.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
138sp
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A home from home in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a fantastic stay in Crab Apple Cottage for Valentine's weekend.

The cottage itself was fab and had everything we required (right down to the ice cubes in the ice box, meaning we could enjoy a cheeky wine on arrival!). The fresh flowers (which bloomed during our stay) were a great touch, and we also enjoyed eating the eggs kindly provided by NIck! The cottage was clean and modern, but had character, and was the perfect place to come back to after a day of walking. Visiting in February, there is always the chance of it being a little cold, however the cottage is very well insulated and we actually found ourselves being able to turn the heaters off most of the time!

The location itself is gorgeous - stunning countryside and scenery in every direction, and we were lucky enough to have a clear sky for a short while on one of the nights and were able to enjoy the 'dark skies' status of the local area when stargazing.

We had a fantastic stay at Crab Apple Cottage. There is so much to do and see, and so many walks and hikes to tackle, that we hope to return to get another fix. Great find!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, the privacy and the general comfort of the property.
Liked least: The WIFI was a little hit and miss sometimes - we would normally settle down with a Netflix film during the night time, however we were glad to have brought some emergency DVDs and boardgames just in case!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMaheson
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, cosy cottage”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I spent two nights at Nick and Sue's cottage. Although it was small it had everything we needed. It may be a bit small to spend the day in however it is the perfect place to return to after a long day walking. Would highly recommend.

It also has some lovely restaurants a short drive away.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing