We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flawless presentation, very pleased”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crab Apple Cottage

Comfortable living area and modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable living area and modern kitchen
Winter view of the Black Mountains from Newhouse. The cottage is warm and cosy for winter breaks. South-facing French doors form the cottage entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Comfortable living area and modern kitchen
Winter view of the Black Mountains from Newhouse. The cottage is warm and cosy for winter breaks.
South-facing French doors form the cottage entrance
Bikes can be stored under cover or in a lock-up shed. There are also bike cleaning facilities
Oaks and ewes! - View over the patio.
Strictly for the Bees - Summer visitors get the benefit
Bed with a view.
Crab Apple Cottage shares our house entrance but is private and with its own parking.
Spring blossom and driveway to cottage.
View from the cottage. Choose great local walks, or trek the Beacons and Black Mountains.
Dine while watching the sun go down.
En-suite bathroom with bath and thermostatically controlled shower.
New born foal and mother on common below Hay Bluff
Resting bikes!
The Beacons from the track above the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire B
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flawless presentation, very pleased”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely mini break at this cottage. Everywhere is very clean, comfortable and it has a lovely feel to it. It took a matter of seconds to fall asleep when elsewhere I have struggled away from my own bed. Great value for money, I would've happily paid more. The views of the countryside were enjoyed over breakfast and we loved standing quietly outside listening to the owls and foxes in the evening. Thoroughly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2014
Many thanks and pleased you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Regarding location of the property, and by this I mean the square of land it sets on and the farm land and community surrounding it, is currently my favorite place on earth. I've never felt more relaxed and peaceful in my life. I love the beaches in Hawaii, but this location is heavenly.

The cottage itself is adorable and every comfort of home is provided. We wanted for nothing. The kitchen has everything you need to create all manner of dishes. The ceramic ware in the kitchen added such a homey and cozy touch. The living room was quite cozy as well and the TV was clear with great movie choices just in case you have time to spend in the cottage. The bed was extremely comfortable, and yes, cozy. The bedding was quite attractive and suited the room so well. The bathroom is beautiful and top of the line shampoos, conditioners, lotions, soaps, etc were supplied.

The road the cottage is situated on is very picturesque with farms up and down the road. You must go out for evening walks and either direction you choose to walk you will be pleasantly surprised by the most beautiful bucolic scenes that pop up at each break of the hedge lining the roadway. In one direction you will find yourself walking into a small town with a great little pub, the Black Cock, and it is everything you will hope a hometown pub to be: friendly, quaint, lively, good food and ale.

The owners of this cottage have really outdone themselves down to the floral bounty right outside your windows to the beautiful artwork throughout the home. We only met Nick and he was very easy to talk with. You will receive both privacy as well as every question answered and many suggestions suited to what you are seeking to do on your stay. Needless to say, I would go back in a heartbeat. I certainly hope to find my way there again.

You will need your own car and it would be helpful to get instruction on how to drive the roads in Wales just so you are prepared. We are from the states and our response: They are so narrow! However, we did it. So can you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and coziness of the cottage were what I liked best.
Liked least: Gaining my comfort level in driving the narrow roads.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2014
Wow!! Many thanks for such a fullsome review. Certainly something to live up to. Very much appreciated.
All the very best,
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiM0NC198...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Has the wow factor!”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I highly recommend this lovely little cottage for your countryside retreat in the Brecon Becons national park.

The cottage is beautifully finished and very cosy. It was the perfect place to come back to after spending the day walking and exploring. The open plan lounge/kitchen has everything to hand, the bathroom is well appointed and the bedroom is extremely comfy.

The cottage is located 10 minutes drive from Brecon town along some winding country lanes overlooking the mountains. Using a sat nav guides you to the farm nearby but the place is easy to find.

The owners are very nice and Nick greeted us upon our arrival, after that we had the place to ourselves.

Bringing bikes with you would be no problem as there is plenty of space outside to leave them and your car. Having breakfast whilst watching the grazing sheep and listening to the cows in the distance is a refreshing change from the noise of London.

I have already recommended Crab Apple Cottage to my friends and family and we would definitely stay here ourselves again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Many thanks for your really supportive review. We could not have asked for more and glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage.
All the very best,
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing