We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House
Ranked #4 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable and there is a very nice choice for breakfast.
The staff are friendly and very helpful with local info and hints on where to go.
We will definitely stay here in the future.
Its about a two minute walk to the shops, restaurants and bars. They have parking and also there is a car park a minute walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stumputtella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you you are very Kind
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 272 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

After a long day it was a joy to walk through the front door of this welcoming place- candlelit, scented and warm. The rooms are perfectly formed with lovely finishing touches. Breakfast was a real highlight. This place really has a fantastic sense of place and I would love to return and spend more time here.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w4mcdf, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

How kind you are to take the time to respond - love to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just got home after an all too short walking break and had to write a review on the Coach House.My husband and I stayed for three nights, Saturday to Monday inc. We had room number 2 at the front. There was no street noise at all - maybe because it's out of season?, certainly nothing to disturb us. The room was small but beautifully decorated. The bath with shower was very welcome after a hard days walking with plenty of shampoo, shower gel, bath salts, facial cleansing bars, cotton pads etc.
The breakfasts are excellent - definitely recommended are the eggs Brychen & anything with bacon in. The gentle Celtic music accompanying breakfast is played at just the right volume and the candles & the fantastic photos on the wall make for a really relaxing start to the day. Marc was full of information about the places we were walking and advised on eating places etc. (The George was definitely the best of the three meals we had out.) A lot of thought has gone into the Coach House accommodation and we would recommend it to anyone & hope to stay again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w4mcdf, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you - Lovely to get great feedback
Sorry about the room being a little tight with your luggage, we would love to see you again, the room you had was our smallest room and next time you stay we will make sure you get a bigger room

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Breakfast was filling with lots of choice, room was spotless. Marc and Tony very friendly and helped us to find walks and places to eat. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

How nice of you to take the time and write a review on us - we would love to be of service again

Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I often stay in Brecon now due to business connections. I tried several places before discovering The Coach House & what a find, I only stay there now & have taken my Husband there for a weekend away he loved it too.
Mark & Tony have put lots of thought & love into The Coach House. They offer a very contemporary feel with absolutely delicious food in an ideal resting place in Brecon within walking distance of the shops & restaurants in the town centre, not to mention all the fantastic walks & scenery.

Room Tip: Try their Welsh rarebit it's to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaineg2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

You are very king to write up a review on us - We know you are a regular guest with us and we always hope we can live up to your kind comments

Tony & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

From the moment I arrived I felt welcomed and nothing was too much trouble, the owner was very accommodating. The coach house is a high standard of B&B the room I stayed in reflected this. Quiet and relaxing.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onelife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Not the cheapest I'm sure but a prefect modern guest house. Clean lines, bright rooms and the coziest beds in Wales. Just spent a couple a nights here and normally don't write reviews but thought this place deserved one. It was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctorboost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
3.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
496 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 12 Orchard Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: $110 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coach houses were traditionally warm and welcoming places. This particular example is one of a new breed. Offering 5 star Highly commended contemporary townhouse accommodation. The welcome is as big as ever. The hosts are full of local knowledge on the best places to visit, walk, cycle or ride. It's part of the Coach House's strong 'Sense of Place', which runs from photographs and maps of the Brecon Beacons on the walls to the Welsh breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Brecon
The Coach House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing