We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable and good breakfast.”
Review of Blaencar Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blaencar Farm
Ranked #21 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming, comfortable and good breakfast.”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

A great place to stay after a good day's walk. Carol and her husband made us most welcome. The en suite rooms were spacious, beautifully furnished and comfortable with plenty of room for the settee in front of the television. A lovely location for our short break and close to many walks. Excellent supper was provided in The Lion Inn, Defynnog, only a short distance from the farm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandHolidaymaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south west
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Arrived last Friday and left yesterday. Stayed in self contained unit. There is no doubt that the 5 star award is deserved. Carol, the owner, was delightful and so very helpful. The accommodation was truly excellent and the breakfasts...........well what can we say except we looked forward to them every day. The problem with being so positive about Blaencar (and who could not be) is that it may limit vacancies for when we travel to this part of Wales again to meet up with family.
Absolutely perfect and the best we have stayed in.
janette and david

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at Blaencar intending to use it as the centre for a short walking holiday in the Brecon Beacons. Everything was great, in particular our host, Carol, who was always very helpful (and prepares a lovely breakfast).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amblypygid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have just returned from a lovely week’s B and B at Blaencar Farm. Carol made us feel very welcome, and cooked lovely breakfasts. She was also very knowledgeable about the local area, and had lots of ideas of things to do. Our room was spacious, with a comfy bed, sofa and large TV, and ensuite shower room. The farm was rural and peaceful – an ideal location in our opinion. We can thoroughly recommend this farm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Som14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Three of us stayed for a weekend in August with the aim of climbing Pen-y-Fan. The B&B is around 15 minutes drive from the starting point for Pen-y-Fan and lots of other good walks in Brecon Beacons so it's a very convenient location for exploring the area. The road to the hotel is not on Sat Nav but once you get the right turn off you can't go wrong. Carol, the owner, was very warm and welcoming and a lovely lady. She made us sandwiches for our walk complete with one of the nicest pieces of home made victoria sponge cake I've ever had. Breakfast was huge, hot and tasty.
The room was large with the usual amenities. The only reason I haven't given it full marks is that the shower was a very small cubicle (in our room at least) and a little awkward. You have to be quite slim and not much over 6ft to use it. We had a very pleasant stay and I would go back there if visiting Brecon Beacons again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. My wife and I have stayed at Blaencar many times over recent years and the standard remains consistently high. The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast is amazing and makes the perfect start to a day walking or sightseeing in the area. Well situated about 8 miles from Brecon with The National Park Mountain Visitor Centre just down the road. It is also within easy reach of Swansea and parts of the south Wales coast. There are a number of very good pubs doing excellent food nearby. Your host Carol is always welcoming, friendly and helpful and keeps a well stocked library of maps, guide books and tourist information. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the Brecon area

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed 3 nights - very warm welcome, lovely room - nicely decorated, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water for Baths etc

Breakfast was outstanding - incredible local produce. And very flexible on time spent in room - very handy as we had 3 very wet days.

Top tip - follow the directions on the website not your Sat Nav - http://www.blaencar.co.uk/

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
4.5 mi away
Castle Coaching Inn
Castle Coaching Inn
#16 of 43 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brynderwen Farm
Brynderwen Farm
#29 of 43 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
#10 of 16 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.2 mi away
Herdmans Bed & Breakfast
Herdmans Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaencar Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaencar Farm

Property: Blaencar Farm
Address: Blaencar Farm Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaencar Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blaencar Farm Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing