We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”
Review of Blaencar Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blaencar Farm
Ranked #22 of 46 Brecon B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The location has to be seen to be believed. Well off the A4076, up a paved, well-maintained narrow track to a farmhouse that looks out over the valley. There is no traffic noise, just birdsong from the sparrows and swallows. This is a working farm, with cattle and sheep, the latter award-winning.

My room was spacious and well-furnished with a sofa and dressing table and was immaculately clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was light and well-equipped with a shower cubicle and a good-sized wash basin.

Breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever had. A choice of cereals or muesli, yoghurt and fresh fruit, followed by the full English (or rather Welsh!) made with quality ingredients including thick-cut back bacon and roasted tomatoes. Together with fruit juice, toast and tea or coffee, this sets you up for the day and you won't have to eat again until dinnertime. Breakfast is taken in the peaceful, well-appointed breakfast room.

Carol is a laid-back, gracious hostess and her attention to detail matches that of a top hotel. From premium tea and a china cup on the tea tray to fresh milk for said tea, in an insulated container, this is a top quality B&B. I paid £50 for single occupancy of a double room so it is not cheap but it is worth every penny.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Jake1963_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent the Easter period in the self catered accommodation at Blaencar and found it to be excellent. Carol was a very welcoming host, and really went the extra mile to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The accommodation was spotless and very well equipped. A wonderfully comfortable bed, and excellent facilities. I would 100% recommend the farm, and plan to return sometime in the future. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewLewis1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful old farmhouse, comfortable distance away from the main road. Very decorative touches in our good size room. Carol was a welcoming and friendly hostess serving an excellent breakfast - nothing was too much trouble. Very clean and comfortable and we would not hesitate to recommend it or to return. Os & J

Room Tip: Did not see them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights recently at this excellent B&B. We found the rooms and bathrooms spotless.
The breakfast ticked all the boxes. Cereal, muesli, fruit, yogurt, juice , as well as the usual cooked breakfast which was excellent.
Comfy bed , quiet night.
Carol, a very cheerful hostess.
The only thing missing was a sitting room but Carol kindly let us use the dining room in the evenings with a table to play games. We were in a small party of 3.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boboranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful weekend stay at Blaencar Farm. Our host Carol took exceptional care of us throughout our stay. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and good quality ingredients. The bedrooms were of a very high standard, lovely and clean and very comfortable. Set in a beatuiful part of the country and in a very remote spot which made the experience all the more enjoyable. A big thank you to Carol for lookng after us so well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpm258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

lovely farm b&b. fantastic setting, beautiful. Spotlessly clean lovely touches in rooms. Very warm welcome by owners. Breakfast was a delight with locally sourced ingredients. Only gripe is we couldnt stay longer due to work commitments.
Would definitely recommend it to you. Will be back.
Kim & Tony.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The place is just beautiful, surrounded by amazing landscapes.
The owner pay a lot of attention to details, making the place very nice.
Even though the cottage is very old and the place has a lot of character, there are modern things that make the place very comfortable: great heater, hot shower and tv.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cachica_SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
8.7 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
520 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#30 of 46 in Brecon
93 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brynderwen Farm
Brynderwen Farm
#27 of 46 in Brecon
13 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 46 in Brecon
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaencar Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaencar Farm

Address: Blaencar Farm Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaencar Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blaencar Farm Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing