We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Wonderful Stay”
Review of Felin Glais

Felin Glais
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Felin Glais
Ranked #15 of 45 Brecon B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just returned from another great stay at Felin Glais over the late Spring Bank Holiday weekend. This is a wonderful place to stay that we discovered a good few years ago and since then would not dream of staying at any other place in Brecon.
Everything about Felin Glais is simply exquisite.
First, it’s the setting. Situated near a stream with Pen-y-Fan in view from the well maintained garden, it is ideal if you are looking to get away from city hustle and bustle, a great location for scenic hill walking.
Second, it’s the accommodation. The house is tastefully decorated with ornaments, pictures and fresh flowers. We have been here often enough to have stayed in each of the bedrooms. They are all individually furnished and very comfortable and warm. We’ve never suffered from sleeplessness here. The day starts with a fantastic breakfast at the ‘chefs table’ in the kitchen. In the evenings we enjoy pre-dinner drinks (our own supply) in the conservatory followed by dining and then relaxing in the Beast Room before retiring to the luxuriously appointed en-suite bedrooms.
Third, it’s the cuisine, simply amazing. Fine dining with a wide menu choice, equal to or perhaps even better than some top class restaurants. Its another reason why we keep coming back, just wish we didn’t put on a few extra pounds each time despite our walking the hills during the days! We have even come away with a doggy bag.
And last, but certainly not the least, it’s the hosts, Dave and Chris, for whom nothing is too much trouble. The service we have received over our multiple visits has been faultless. At our last visit, the helpfulness was over and beyond the call of duty when we had a mishap with our car.
We have been here every year for the last five or six years, missing out once a couple of years ago. We have now promised ourselves we won’t do that again. Felin Glais an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-K_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and are returning from last year. The location is perfect if you like the peace and tranquility of the countryside. The detached house is about 70 metres from the nearest house. There is a scenic walk into town along a footpath next to the river. From the conservatory you can see the mountains. The rooms were clean.There are 4 rooms, a large room with a jacuzzi bath, a room with a 4 poster bed and 2 smaller double rooms. The food is excellent as the owner is an enthusiastic chef, large portions were served. The owners Chris and David were excellent hosts and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Best to go for the large room with a jacuzzi and shower or the 4 poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Well just home from another long weekend at what I would class as the best B&B I have been to.

I'll list the words that describe my views of Felin Glais

Quality, Comfort, Friendly, Amazing views, Harrods, Michelin Star, Home from Home.

The welcome from Chris and Dave is better each time we go back (5 Times once each year for 5 years)

The food is amazing (Book in advance, DO NOT MISS OUT) you would think you are in a michelin star restaurant

The house is amazing, all Full of Harrods bedding, cutlery, glasses and much more

We booked the whole B&B as we do each year, but even if you share with others Chris and Dave have a knack of making everyone welcome and wanting to be friends with others.

See you next year.....and say hello to Marla (the dog) for me

Many Thanks Mick, Sharon, (Holly our dog) Sue, Kathy, Sharad, Patrick and Cheryl

Room Tip: There are various rooms i would suggest, 1 the four poster room, or the double en suite with spa bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent two nights at Felin Glais over 4/5 May 2013 and can only reinforce what other reviewers have already said. This is as good as it gets. Accommodation, breakfast and evening cuisine all superb. Everything impeccably clean. Hosts very friendly and interesting. DO dine here if you can. Local restaurants are average only and Chris/Dave's cooking is not only a passion, the quality is way beyond the price.
A memorable weekend for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are large doubles but the (even) larger rooms are huge and worth the extra few pounds. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to get away from the city this is the place for peace and quiet and beautiful countryside!
We stayed 2 nights in a cosy room in this B&B cottage, owned by lovely couple Chris and David, who are truly magnificent hosts. They will advice you in anything you need from walking routes to best places to eat in the area. They served a huge and delicious breakfast every morning which sort you out for most of the day. Very good location near Breacon town, close to Pen Y Fan mountain if you want to climb which I recommend!
The room was very well equipped, with a huge double bed, although a bit small but the bathroom was spacious with good shower. For a tenner more you could have the other bigger beddroom with spa bath which comes andy after lots of walking.
Trully recommend this place!

Room Tip: Go for the bigger room with the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anabel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 night stay with Chris & David at Felin Glais, 2 night were not enough! Our room was at the top of a spiral staircase but don't not choose this room if you have dogs, 1 of ours weighs 45kg and she got up and down the stairs with no problem at all.
The room was fabulous, the bed snuggled you in all it's featheryness! The beverage tray wanted for nothing, teas, coffees & snacks. Chris is tireless and actually serviced our room twice a day, her attention to detail was incredible.
& then the bathroom, I could have spent the whole 2 days in there, it had a jacuzzi bath as well as a large shower, after walking in the Brecons the bath in all is bubblyness was wonderful.
Finally, breakfast, outstanding, excellent quality produce all in abundance and by request extras like smoked haddock with poached eggs or devilled kidneys which were the best my partner had ever had.

David & Chris thank you, we will be back and next time we will have your evening meals as well!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've resisted the urge to review Felinglais because it's one of those gems you would like to keep hidden from others.

We have used it half a dozen or so times, over a number of years. First off, the location is idyllic, especially for hill walks and just chilling out. Secondly the barn conversion is so attractive and well executed, bettered only by the rooms and their facilities. Best of all is the superb cuisine. No, sorry, best of all are the hosts, Chris and Dave, who provide service excellence at a value for money price.

If you want accommodation anywhere close to the area, don't bother to look at anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
2.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 45 in Brecon
273 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 45 in Brecon
106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
5.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felin Glais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felin Glais

Address: Aberyscir, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:5 star — Felin Glais 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Felin Glais Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing