We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway.....”
Review of Felin Glais

Felin Glais
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Felin Glais
Ranked #14 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway.....”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 night stay with Chris & David at Felin Glais, 2 night were not enough! Our room was at the top of a spiral staircase but don't not choose this room if you have dogs, 1 of ours weighs 45kg and she got up and down the stairs with no problem at all.
The room was fabulous, the bed snuggled you in all it's featheryness! The beverage tray wanted for nothing, teas, coffees & snacks. Chris is tireless and actually serviced our room twice a day, her attention to detail was incredible.
& then the bathroom, I could have spent the whole 2 days in there, it had a jacuzzi bath as well as a large shower, after walking in the Brecons the bath in all is bubblyness was wonderful.
Finally, breakfast, outstanding, excellent quality produce all in abundance and by request extras like smoked haddock with poached eggs or devilled kidneys which were the best my partner had ever had.

David & Chris thank you, we will be back and next time we will have your evening meals as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've resisted the urge to review Felinglais because it's one of those gems you would like to keep hidden from others.

We have used it half a dozen or so times, over a number of years. First off, the location is idyllic, especially for hill walks and just chilling out. Secondly the barn conversion is so attractive and well executed, bettered only by the rooms and their facilities. Best of all is the superb cuisine. No, sorry, best of all are the hosts, Chris and Dave, who provide service excellence at a value for money price.

If you want accommodation anywhere close to the area, don't bother to look at anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been returning here for over 10 years now, it is such a special place to stay. You come over the little picturesque bridge, turn into the stream bordered lane and there is Felin Glais. No matter what time of year it is always beautiful with wonderful views of Pen y Van and the Brecon Beacons. It is magical in winter when the house and trees along the stream are softened by a covering of snow and inside is all snug and warm, with a log burning stove in the huge sitting room throwing shadows and warmth to every corner of the “beast house”. Spring and summer, all is green and colour, time to explore the different levels and secret places of the garden with its succession of bulbs and flowering plants. Then Autumn when the conservatory comes into its own, and you can sit and enjoy the last of the year’s sun and watch all the different birds that come to feast at the many feeders scattered around and about.
Then there are the en-suite bedrooms with every imaginable comfort, large soft inviting beds with beautiful linen, luxury toiletries, a wide selection of beverages and treats, TV, magazines, games, absolutely every possible want is catered for!
The whole house is wonderfully decorated, furniture, pictures, ornaments all reflect the thought and love that has gone in to making Felin Glais such an extraordinary and exceptional home which you are privileged to share throughout your stay.
But this is all as nothing to the welcome that Chris and Dave give you every time you arrive. Their generosity, and care is amazing, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is served in a kitchen vast enough to accommodate two football teams and what a breakfast! Enough food and choice to last you all week let alone a day! Everything is fresh, sourced locally and where possible, homemade
No wonder we keep returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We found that we had not been to Felinglais for 4 years. That was shocking because it is such a gorgeous place to stay.

If you go at weekends, and you don't eat for a week and you are not on a diet, you can have one of their delicious 4 course dinners.

Chris and David are extremely welcoming hosts. They really put themselves out to present a beautiful home and a delightful welcome.

This was a celebration of my husband's 80th birthday and we could not have found anywhere better to hold it. We were delighted when a friend, without warning, joined us for dinner.

If you must have noise, this is not the place for you. But if you like utmost peace and to see a pheasant at breakfast walking past the window - and his missus, then this is truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandpwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I agree with all of the other reviews for Felin Glais - and more! My husband and I have stayed here 3 or 4 times and everytime it is harder to leave and we are plotting our return! David and Chris are such wonderful and kind people, as well as excellent hosts - I have never quite tasted an evening meal like it!

I also agree with the comment from a couple of the other guests - I don't want to recommend this place just in case we can't get in - but after staying in terrible place in near Bedford I have finally taken to commenting on Felin Glais. It is such a lovely and relaxing place and we look forward to our next visit - hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: All of them are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had put off writing this review many times, for fear that too many positive reviews would mean that we would never be able to get a booking! However, this place, run by the wonderful Chris and Dave, deserves the highest possible praise.

From the massive bed (we can only speak for the big room), spa bath, sumptuous dressing gowns, and plentiful toiletries, right down to the Penguin biscuits with tea, coffee and hot chocolate, they have thought of absolutely everything you might need after a day trekking the Fan Dance or pottering around Brecon.

Which brings me to the main event. Breakfast. The first time we came, we made the mistake of stuffing ourselves with fresh fruit, cereals and homemade bread, before realising that the main event was yet to come. With enough sausage, bacon, potato, egg (and the rest) to satisfy the most dedicated trucker and all of exceptional quality, the only possible solution is to walk it out on the hills!

My husband and I first started coming here 7 or 8 years ago and loved it so much that we spent the first few days after our wedding here. Without a doubt, the best B&B ever. Full stop.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the spa bath room. It is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have stayed a couple of times now with David and Chris, and on each occasion it has been fabulous. They made us feel so welcome with their invitation to share in the wonderful hideaway farm conversion. They were very helpful in their guidance with visiting the National Park and local restaurants. However having experienced David's cooking on our last visit, it would be difficult to eat somewhere else next time. Definitely five star B&B, the best.
Another five star attraction is the views of the bird tables from either bedroom, with frequent visits from the colony of blue t***, BLUE pheasants, Lesser Spotted woodpeckers, chaffinch, Nuthatch, Great t*** to name a few. Fantastic value and company.

Room Tip: Four poster bed room is very comfortable and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
2.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
5.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
909 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
2.8 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
14.7 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felin Glais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felin Glais

Property: Felin Glais
Address: Aberyscir, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:5 star — Felin Glais 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Felin Glais Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing