We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts and great place to stay”
Review of Felin Glais

Felin Glais
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Felin Glais
Ranked #17 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2011

David and Sue are very lovely hosts making you feel at ease. The house is simply lovely and the room we had was superb. Breakfast must be among the best in the world and Rosemary is still telling everyone about that special treat when she asked for “smoked haddock” for breakfast – fantastic.
Rosemary and Karl, Switzerland

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iandeanmillafinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

I cannot speak more highly of this B&B. The standard of service is way better than most hotels but also with the personal, warm touch - a true delight. We had our second stay here last weekend and it really was as good as we remembered. Our room (the larger great value £90 one) was beautiful and very spacious; even the super king bed is almost lost in there. The room also has a comfortable lounge area including flat screen TV and DVD player (DVDs available for use) and a lovely bathroom with cubicle shower and jacuzzi bath. I cannot think of anything that is missing here - the bathroom has everything from manicure set and hair curlers to luxurious Harrods towels and toiletries. All manner of drinks and snacks are also available free of charge. But even better than this is are the meals! As a committed foodie, I cannot speak more highly of the quality and service here. Breakfast is delightful - the creamy scrambled eggs were just perfect and the fully cooked is worthy of any top restaurant. Better still is the evening meal (generally available for parties of 4 or more). The menu provided in advance is mouthwatering and it certainly lives up to expectations. Dinner is served in the sophisticated lounge/dining room, starting with a complimentary sherry and amuse bouche. The food is as good as many successful restaurants as David is a keen and able chef. Beware overeating - the portions are large and it is difficult to leave any as it is so good! What does defeat you can be taken away in a "doggie bag" - great for when we returned home on Sunday. I love this place and will be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

My partner and I were only staying for one night as we were attending a wedding near by at The Barn at Brynich. Despite the confusion with mobile numbers & being unable to contact us, Chris & David still kept our room. After they happily accommodated our a late check-in we then sheepishly returned c.1am after the wedding celebrations. Although we only made a fleeting visit, Chris & David were incredibly welcoming. The bed and bedroom furniture was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom spotlessly clean and plenty of tea and coffee! There was a fab variety of delicious fresh food for breakfast too! Yum!!
This is a gorgeous little place and the hosts are wonderfully hospitable. We recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNJB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My wife and I own a highly rated (TripAdvisor) guest house and serviced apartments in Bristol. We had planned a rare 2 night break to see some of South Wales as a birthday celebration. As always, we checked various online reviews (including TripAdvisor) to find the best places to stay. Having being utterly disappointed by our first night in a 5 star St. Davids guest house, we arrived at Felin Glais.

The property isn't obviously a guest house from the outside (this is a really good thing and in keeping with the way the owners run the place). Keep your eyes peeled for the small sign on the gate as you arrive. Sat nav got us to the front door!

We parked and were promptly greeted by Chris (owner). We instantly felt a weight had been lifted as she showed us into their wonderful home – sorry, I forgot to mention that the only sound we could hear whilst getting out of the car was a small stream across the lane!

The house is stunning and an absolute credit to Chris and Dave. Quite rightly, Chris briefly explained the history of the place and showed us up a spiral staircase to our room (in the new part of the house).

Now..I have stayed in many a guest house and hotel in my time, but this room was sensational. We were greeted by a very large room with masses of character. This is not a typical B&B. There are lots of luxurious personal touches in the room. We immediately felt at home. Chris instructed us on some of the less obvious things...how to work the Jacuzzi etc, gave us lots of information on the area and recommended a place to dine. Dave in the meantime was printing out directions and information for us downstairs and ensuring that we had cab numbers and dinner reservations sorted.

Upon our return, we opened a bottle of wine (Chris provided us with some nice crystal wine glasses ) and spent some time in the room. Music?...There is a very good quality Roberts in the corner!....Jacuzzi?....the Jacuzzi is big enough for two!

Having completely relaxed, we nipped out to the car to collect some personal belongings. We bumped into Dave as we came back in and he invited us into the lounge to join Chris and some friends. What a fantastic end to our night. We all chatted until the early hours and to be honest, we felt as though we were spending time with friends rather than hosts!!! We eventually retired to our room.

At this point it is worth mentioning the bed. A super king-size which has the most amazing combination of bed linen and pillows (much of it Harrods brand). I have to say that we had the best nights sleep we think is possible. We woke to a view of several species of birds feeding off of the bird table outside the window. Perfect.

At breakfast, we were greeted by Dave and shown a selection of cereal, fresh fruit and pretty much everything you would desire prior to the delivery of the ‘main event’!! Again, the feeling of being ‘at home’ was ever present. A full Welsh breakfast was delivered to the table. By this time, it was no surprise to us that is was amazing. I must make a special mention here to the fresh home baked bread (the smell in our room when we awoke), which was a delight. Every item served was of exceptional quality and cooked to perfection. Chris made an appearance during breakfast, bringing us fresh toast and good conversation.

We left Felin Glais with beaming smiles. It was not an experience that we have encountered before when staying away. Although we are very busy people, we are already planning our next trip to Brecon and of course we will (hopefully) be staying with Dave and Chris. A stunning house with superb service in an amazing location. WHO WOULDN’T WANT TO GO BACK???

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxuryRoomsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Lovely B&B, fantastique service and quality of rooms, unbeatable breakfast and excellent dinner. Rooms decorated with lots of love and attention, bathrooms extremly well equipped. Thanks to Chris and David for a fantastique weekend. We hope we can return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kast1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We couldn't have asked for more. The welcome was welcoming, the room was roomy, the breakfast was...err....yummy! David and Chris really know what they're doing, and it's evident by the number of people that are repeat customers, or referred customers.

The B&B is in a lovely tranquil village just outside of Brecon, the rooms are comfortable and large [we were in the double in the newer parter of the house and the only word you can use is "massive!]. The breakfast was fantastic and really shows why their offer of hosted meals at the weekends are so popular.

Keep up the good week, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipGoodServiceOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My 2 night stay at this B and B in Wales can be described as nothing else but delightful. Everything from the quality of service to the quality of the rooms was second to none. I can only describe Felin Glais as a home from home. The owners were helpful, polite and couldn't do enough to make our stay here perfect. The breakfast provided was also top quality. Thanks for a wonderful stay at your establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank activetraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
2.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
496 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Castle Lodge B&B
Castle Lodge B&B
#2 of 3 in Sennybridge
130 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felin Glais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felin Glais

Address: Aberyscir, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:5 star — Felin Glais 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Felin Glais Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing