We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Belvedere Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvedere Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I know Talybont so it was easy to pick the Belvedere to stay. The photos on the website were very accurate and our room was delightful, airy, spacious and comfortable. Amenities included a brew kit and TV with Freesat as well as plenty of cupboard and wardrobe (with hangers!) space. Towels were provided. The double bed was very comfy and lots of cushions to rest on as well as two armchairs, one in which I fell asleep which tells you all you need to know!
The breakfasts were made to order and delicious, all cooked fresh with "proper" marmalade & jam to go on the toast not pre-packed stuff. We could have taken advantage of the packed lunch on offer but were eating out.
Pat & John were very ameniable hosts and we will definitely use the Belvedere again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NigeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 38 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

Firstly PLEASE IGNORE the bad review written about this B&B. My husband, mum, dad and myself stay in this B&B about 5 times a year. We have family who live in the area and stay at the Belvedere everytime we visit. I don't know where to start!! Pat and John always give an extremely warm welcome. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard and I always end up with a very good nights sleep as the rooms are very comfortable. Pat serves a great breakfast with plenty of tea and coffee. The bread is not cheap and the jam isn't either. The bad review written I feel is very picky. The pictures on the web site are exactly how the rooms are. They are comfortable, warm and relaxing. You can unpack your bag put on your pyjamas and snuggle down for a great nights sleep. Yes there is a lorry cab parked away from the house at the front but it does not get in the way and we all have to earn a living so what's wrong with that? The way that it gets parked is amazing, John certainly knows how to reverse!!
We have stayed in other B&B's around the country and I have to say I look forward to visiting Wales because I know we are going to stay at the Belvedere. It's always a pleasure to stay here and if you are in the area or thinking of going to Talybont-on-Usk then book yourself into this B&B and you are guaranteed a great stay. Thank you very much Pat and John.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petuliaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed for four nights in October 2010 as part of our short break to see the Ryder Cup at the Celtic Manor Golf Course in Newport. Pat and John's welcoming B&B did not disappoint and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and well-appointed. The breakfasts were excellent. Nothing was too much for Pat; she even got up at 5am to make us sandwiches to take to the golf! We thoroughly recommend the Belvedere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaeger51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We booked a double room at the Belvedere more than 3 months before our stay. When we arrived we were put into Room 4 which is a very small room which had a double bed in the corner. It was so small you could not pick up the proverbial cat let alone swing it.. We think that as they where full they had converted the very small single room into a double. The room was airless and badly ventilated with only a very small window.
The en-suite was so small sitting on the WC you could wash your hair in the basin. The gap the WC was in was so narrow it was just wide enough fit in it which meant it could not be used in the normal manner. The floor of the en-suite was unsound as it sank when you walked on the floor covering. Parking was limited as the most of the parking bay in front of the house was filled by a massive articulated lorry cab. Breakfast was good but only cheap white bread, poor quality packet jams and no marmalade.
Do not be fooled by the fancy pictures on the website. Our friends stayed in the two twin bedded rooms and even these larger rooms where not as sumptuous as the pictures. Where do the 4 stars come from - nowhere does it say who awards them!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laffingfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We loved it at Belvedere: the location is great, bedrooms are nice and clean, Pat is lovely and her breakfast is really good. We would definitely recommend it to others and may come back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Our 2nd stay proved just as enjoyable as our first (Jan 2009). Pat is very welcoming & called the Usk Inn (A great pub with good food 2 doors away) to reserve a table for the 6 of us. The rooms were clean 'n comfortable & the breakfast set us up for the day exploring the Brecon Beacons in the snow. What more can you ask for? Definitely worth a try if looking for a reasonably priced B&B accomodation in the area. We shall return :o)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobLong214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We recently stayed at the Belvedere and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and very good value compared to what else we had looked at. Pat (the owner) was incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable. She recommended a number of walks in the local area, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The scenary is spectacular so we happily spent a few days taking it all in. She also makes a delicious and filling breakfast, which set us up nicely for the long walks ahead. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TabithaWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
3.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
496 reviews
9.0 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brecon
91 reviews
15.4 mi away
Castle Coaching Inn
Castle Coaching Inn
#15 of 44 in Brecon
128 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Beacons
The Beacons
#34 of 44 in Brecon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Bed and Breakfast

Address: Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Belvedere Bed And Breakfast Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing