We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the travel”
Review of Llanfaes Dairy

Llanfaes Dairy
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
South Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Worth the travel”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We regularly visit Brecon and always make a point of coming here as the ice cream is so delicious. A large variety to choose from means there is something for everyone. Not overly priced either, but unfortunately have to agree with some of the other reviews. Of all the times we have been here, not once has the lady engaged in a conversation or acknowledged small talk of any kind, she simply takes your order, takes your money and then walks off without saying a word. Don't let this put you off though!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJohnSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    21
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ice-cream to die for”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

On a recent trip to Brecon, my friend and I discovered this – on our way from our guest house into town, so we had to keep dropping in there … excellent ice-cream, which you can either take out or eat in the spotless, newly decorated café. I can’t understand some of the negative reviews, as the staff were always friendly and the ice cream is out of this world, with a huge variety of flavours (only wish I could have tried more). If you’re in Brecon, walk over the main bridge going west and you will find the ice cream parlour a few minutes away. (Alternatively, if you’re driving to West Wales and you need a break, go straight there for an ice-cream fix!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobsherunkle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Frosty service bordering on downright rude”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ice cream is delicious, but we chose to avoid after one trial visit after finding the service so unpleasant. The customer before us was overcharged, and lots of eye rolling going on from behind the counter. Then our turn. Again, overcharged (we pointed it out - cue more eye rolling as if it was our fault she couldn't count how many of us there were) and also got our order wrong (again, another eye roll). Thought charitably she was having a bad day, but that's obviously the customer service judging by other comments. The ice creams were lovely, but the whole party wouldn't go there again as we didn't like being treated like this. Portions were on the small side, judging by the ice creams we've enjoyed elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were staying at the Coach House next door (see other review) so pooped in for an ice-cream sundae. Very clean environment and delicious ice cream.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DisarrayNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
357 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We enjoyed several flavours of delicious ice cream from the many that were on offer. It was really good value and much appreciated. Thank you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Llanfaes Dairy also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Llanfaes Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing