We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing flavours, great taste”
Review of Llanfaes Dairy

Llanfaes Dairy
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours, great taste”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

During a family getaway in Wales, we ended up looking for ice cream during the July heatwave. We came across a brochure for Llanfaes and decided to take a drive to discover what we were missing. This was worth the 30-40 minute drive, without question. Llanfaes has an amazing selection of flavours - it's almost difficult to constrain yourself to only one or two flavours. And the flavours let you think you've escaped into a dream world. On what was one of the hottest days in the year, the queues were long but the staff dealt with everyone efficiently. An experience I would seek to repeat if I was ever in the area again, without a doubt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great icecream”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Visiting the area a large group of 10 of us went for an Ice cream. Twice. There is no other parlour like it - so many flavours to choose from firstly we had a cone the second visit we sat inside and were able to choose our own sundaes. Efficient service and yes the atmosphere wasn't bing with ambience but this is a working dairy and ice team shop.
Incidentally our 3rd visit was to buy take away ice cream for a desert at a dinner party. A lovely

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bashbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10/10 Icecrems”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm very disappointed to see all these negative reviews, we regularly call in for an icecream here through out the year.. Yes even I'm December ha!
They have a good selection of sorbets, about 6/8 in summer months and a huge variety of gorgeous icecream flavours.
We should be Supporing local and homemade produce!
100% worth a visit or 4 :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrBandMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ice cream nice but frosty reception!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had spent a nice hour walking up the river in Brecon park and fancied an ice cream..the queue was horrendous at the cafe there so we gave up and started our drive home.
On the way out of Brecon we passed this ice cream shop and decided to pop in..big mistake!!
On a boiling hot day the shop was absolutely empty..which should have set the alarm bells ringing really..
The girl seemed positively annoyed that she had to serve us, very curt and unwelcoming.
If I wasn't so desperate for a cooling ice cream and drink I would've told her to keep her ice cream as she so obviously didn't want to sell it!!
The ice cream was nice but not amazing either.
Take my advice..get some customer service lessons..although its not rocket science is it??

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Allergies?”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have 2 nut allergic daughters and stopped here as part of a larger group, spending over £40 in total. We appreciated the fact that they could not guarantee that any of the ice-cream was nut free but we wished to reduce the risk of cross contamination with any of the nut containing ice-creams. We asked if they could wash the scoop and take the ice-cream from the end of the container that had not yet been touched. The response was very grumpy and they complained that it would spoil the appearance of the tub. They then reluctantly agreed to our request and served 2 noticeably smaller ice-creams to our nut allergic children. It seemed that the appearance of the tubs was more important than meeting a special dietary request from customers. Despite delicious ice-cream I would not visit again due to the attitude of the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Llanfaes Dairy also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Llanfaes Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing