We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to treat adults”
Review of The Beacons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beacons
Ranked #34 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Why did we need a toilet with instructions "Only Poo, Pee and Paper" -absolutely childish. Woman owner very unwelcoming. Too many rules eg no food or drink allowed in rooms - corkage would be charged for wine bought outside the guest house. What century do they live in. Won't be going there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconsGH16, Manager at The Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Many thanks for taking time to write a review. The reason we have signs in some of the bathrooms is due to having toilets with saniflo macerator systems, therefore we have to make people aware that you can not just put anything down them as they will then block or need replacing which is expensive to do so. In regard of food and corkage, you are welcome to bring food back and we have a dining room which you can eat this in and we also have a bar therefore are able to buy drinks from us.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely break at The Beacons. From the moment we arrived to the time we left I was touched by the fantastic friendly service that we enjoyed. Having never stayed at a traditional B and B before, I was impressed with the welcome that we recieved from Stephen, - warm and friendly, even though we had turned up after the reception had closed. We booked a small double with en suite facilities, and this was exactly what we got. But for £58.00 per night incl. breakfast, I thought it was excellent value for money. The room was clean - the double was a normal size and was comfortable as well. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, although some people have mentioned that 8 - 9am is quite tight with regards to not having a long lie in but, it was quite good in a way because it meant we got up had breakfast and didnt waste any of the day!! - The waitress was polite, food was fresh and the portions were perfect. - there was also a good selection of continental offerings as well that you could help yourself to.
There is a wide variety of marketing collateral from the local tourist boards and attractions in the hallway, which was useful as it gave us a better understanding of what was on offer should we tire of walking and climbing.
We stayed for two nights, and had a hire car - one of the big positives of this guest house is that they have a car park in the back of the hotel, which was reassuring as it meant we had somewhere safe and private to park our car.
As we left, we had a personal send off from the owners and they seemed genuinely interested in how are trip went.
In conculsion I would absolutely stay at The Beacons again and would definately reccomend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vf1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Sayed for 2 nights at this bed and breakfast, we were given a warm welcome by the owner. We were shown to our room on the first floor, our first impressions were good but i must say the room did smell a bit stale. It had a good sized bathroom and a good shower, although it would have been nice if there were a few toiletries in the bathroom as other B&Bs do. The bed was very comfortable and we had good nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent, choice of cereals and coffee, you made your own toast. My husband had a cooked breakfast which was well cooked and I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was delicious, the next day I ordered poached eggs which were cooked to perfection. I would stay at this B&b again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superwoman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconsGH16, Manager at The Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will visit us again in the future, regards, Beacons Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay. I felt very welcome there and it has a great homey atmosphere. Stephen and Melanie go out of their way to make sure you have everything you could ever need. I stayed for 10 days and would do it again. where's a private car park so you do have to be concerned about that and private entrances on some of the rooms. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anybody. I had friends that stayed in two of the better known hotels in town and they had nothing but issues.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We did arrive late on a Sat. nite, around 21.30, after a long drive from Bedford, checked in to our 3rd floor family room in the attic, ceilings too low for me and room a bit smelly. We went out for a bite to eat and returned around 23.00hrs, front door closed (we were told earlier this may be the case) so used rear entrance with uneven ground and poor lighting. Poor nites sleep,that's just me tho, struggled in shower due to lack of height of ceiling. I loaded the car as my partner went to dining room to sit for breakfast, she was told off for sitting at the wrong table, plenty of toast, cereals, coffee and juices, but the cooked breakfasts could have been better. When finally checking out, the lady of the house tried to have a conversation with our daughter with little response, to which she responded, she would give her own kids a slap if they were that ignorant - not the comment to give to paying guests. Would we go back ? no chance, while she still runs it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OSPREY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

After a last minute booking through the Tourist Office we found ourselves at 'The Beacons'. Now it's not going to win any awards for style (we stayed in a bright fuscia coloured room that we think had been refurbished - style's a personal thing though) but it was clean, the bed was comfy, staff very friendly and the breakfast ok. The downsides - a plastic cubicle type shower and a bit of a grotty carpark.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I read a few of the recent negative reviews and decided to give it a go. Stayed for 2 nights on business. Here are the highlights!

1. Room was very cold first night. Asked for an electric heater second night and got one (although I think the only one). As it happens after I stayed the radiator got warmer. However, overall the house is cold (including dining room) and I wouldn't recommend it in very cold weather.

2. Service was generally ok and the young man who dies the breakfasts etc is very friendly and polite.

3. Breakfast ok

4. Location for town - good - 5 mins walk.

5. Good private parking although dark if you arrive late

6. Decor was average to good and room was clean. Also plenty of tea/coffee etc in room.

7. TV with all main channels

8. Shower worked well

All in all ok apart from the cold!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AikiWodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brecon
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flag and Castle House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#30 of 44 in Brecon
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
3.6 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beacons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacons

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: $67 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beacons 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacons was once a riverside farm and the 17th Century barns and cottages still remain. The front part of the building was added in the early 1700's and the house has changed little - apart from modern comforts and decor. The original spiral staircase, moulded ceilings and even the meat cellar (now a cosy bar) all add to the character and atmosphere of this lovely home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Beacons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacons Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing