We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Coaching Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$176
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
59
47
15
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
47
15
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat food servicecountry villageample off road parkingthe pubspacious bathroomfriendly hotelduckpielocal ingredientslasagnashower cubiclebooked last minutewi fifeel very welcomeon arrivalfull englishpudding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 131 of 131 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Our September stay was our third visit to this very friendly and welcoming inn where we always feel completly at home.
The bedrooms are well appointed and bathrooms fully equiped,
the inn has a very good restuarant serving an excellent menu with local produce, the inn is ideally situated for visiting many places of interest Wales has to offer.
Looking forward to our next visit in July.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mhodge1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

The Castle Coaching Inn is situated on the A40 between Brecon and Llandovery in a village (Trecastle) with a couple of antique shops and another pub. All around is the most glorious, unspoiled countryside: sheep-farms, woods, rivers, mountains. There is also a Roman fort.

We stayed for a couple of nights and had a very pleasant stay. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the Inn was very cosy, with log fires and pretty Christmas decorations. All the public areas are positively well-designed, with Farrow and Ball colours and well-chosen art work. The bedroom and bathroom, whilst slightly more dated looking were spacious, clean and comfortable with extra pillows and blankets in the cupboard, an adequate supply of soaps etc and tea and coffee-making facilities (both replenished for our second night). Television was terrestrial but worked properly. The towels are thick and soft.

The kitchen is slightly slow (but we are impatient Londoners) and the food is nothing elaborate; but it is hearty, hot and tasty and we enjoyed both dinners and breakfasts.

Everyone was nice to our six year old, who shared a family room with us.

I failed to notice that I was over-charged; but by the time we reached home an apologetic message had been left and the excess re-credited to my account.

This is how country inns should be. We came home very relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pointissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Stayed there cause our Travelagency booked via circlehotles this inn for
our roundtrip through wales. Very disappointing with mildew on the walls, a window which was only for come inches to open. When cou see the bar rooms and the restaurant- quite a contradiction!
These rooms are clean and tidy. Food was ok.
On their website they post
* The AA Pub Guide (Featured Pub)
* AA Britains Best Country Pubs for food lovers
But hey forget to write when it was mentioned. Some 8-9 years ago.
Fotos will follow.
Never again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SecretTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario (Canada)
11
Reviewed February 4, 2006

My mother, grandmother and I stayed in the Castle Coaching Inn in April of 2003. Our arrival was welcomed, and we were shown to a room that had the most enormous bathroom of any bed & breakfast that I had ever been in. The room itself was large but still managed to be quite cosy, with yellow and blue cottage-y decor. Tea, hot chocolate and biscuits were there in ready supply. The owners had taken our special requests into great consideration, and we had a lovely stay. We actually had supper there as well, and the food was excellent. The proprietors, a married couple, were very interesting and informative, and we all enjoyed their (non-hovering, just present and attentive) company over supper, dessert, and wine. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews