We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise find in the Brecon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Coaching Inn
Ranked #16 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A surprise find in the Brecon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Camped nearby and visited Castle Coaching Inn for dinners on two consecutive evenings. Menu was simple, traditional, and local. Found the food to be of high standard, Would love to come back and stay in the inn next time. A great base for walking and, in my case, fly fishing, in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    43
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
69
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The food here was really nice, and the accommodation very clean and spacious. The staff were all very friendly, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedi1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Found this hotel last year when looking for a replacement for the Kings Head Llandovery after a bad experience there when it was full of noisy navvies, who were rude and kept us awake all night . We were impressed that the landlord remembered that we had been before even though it was only for 2 nights a year ago. The hotel looks in need of a little TLC outside but is comfortable and has excellent food

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor are steep and narrow so if you have mobility problems ask for first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a very warm welcome and found the delux double room comfortable and warm, with nice large modern bathroom. Just the ticket for a cold wet weekend.

The food was fantastic! All really good quality. The steak in particular was top notch and the ales selection was great. Breakfast was yummy too- great coffee and nice relaxed service, we felt very much at home.

Also, our room had lovely views, as does the rear patio area- perfect for a pint in the sunshine when the rain subsided :-D

It's an old building and so a little character is to be expected. Do agree with fellow reviewers regarding first impressions; we arrived in very wet stormy weather and it was obvious the building needs a little help with the rainwater goods and paintwork. Don't let it put you off though! A bit of tlc over the summer months will see this get a 5 rating, easy.

Room Tip: The refurb rooms are modern decor; less floral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiccandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

A grubby looking building. First impressions from the outside were bad. Poor paintworl and leaking downpipes. Friendly greeting. Room warm. A mish mash of old furniture but a nice size bathroom. Duvet had stains as did cushions. Shame as this spoiled the room. Dreadful walls in need of rendering and wood work given a wipe. Bed was comfy though. Food was ok. Just lacking some attention.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havefordwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

A warm and friendly welcome awaited us as we arrived on one of the coldest nights of the year. The food was excellent and cooked by the owners on site and we ate in the bar before a roaring log fire.Locals were friendly and obviously appreciative of the cooking on offer. Duck comes highly recommended! Our room was warm and comfortable, the good quality bed linen and towels making up for any deficiences in decor- a little refurbishment would not go amiss! it is good to find a non-cor[porate establishment within easy reach of the fantastic natural wonders of the Brecon Beacons. Hopefully the owners will continue to respect the history of the place whilst replacing furnishings where needed. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Could have asked for a room to the rear to cut out any traffic noise.Good food, wine and warmth did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania Furnace, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

When we arrived for lunch there was no other car in the parking lot, this pub could use a lick of paint. Inside we were the only ones but we were warmly welcomed by the landlord and his son. The pub is cozy with a dining room area and a bar. We were the only people so we sat around alarge table by the open log fire. The menu is small but all 5 meals were well executed and delicious. Service was attentive. One of the best Belly pork I have ever had. Good food, good portions, good prices, good value. This was a very good find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
10.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
13.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
10.5 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#8 of 44 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
9.9 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Coaching Inn

Property: Castle Coaching Inn
Address: Trecastle, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8UH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th Century 3 Star WTB Hotel accommodation near Brecon in the Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales. Cosy bar with open log fire, A la Carte restaurant, friendly atmosphere and a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Coaching Inn Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing