We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre

Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently visited here after looking at the brochure and thinking it looked great. We found it straighforward to find, and after paying the £8.95 admission each for 2 adults and one child (2 years old) expected great things.

We were dissapointed as soon as we left the canteen area. What appeared on the brochure to be a huge park with loads to do turned out to be nothing like it. Not eveything is open at the same time (sledge rides, paddle boats,swamp ride, indoor drop slide & pony ride) so you have a timetable of what time things open. We found this very inaccurate and ended up waiting quite a while for things to open.

The pony rides are for over 4's only (although it doesnt mention this anywhere other than at the pony ride entrance from what i saw) and there are height restrictions on some things, so you are limited with the younger children.

We had seen some shows (the lamb feeding one lasted about 10 mins) and walked around it all in about 2 hours. For what we paid, and what was actually there i found it to be a very expensive way to spend the day, and for this reason i doubt we will visit again in the near future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RJohnSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are sorry your visit did not meet your expectations. Everything on our brochure is available at Cantref. We have shows going on every half an hour throughout the day so the children get to experience lots of different activities such as bottle feeding, pet handling, tractor rides, pig racing and many more. During quiet times our rides are open on rotation on our programme but our staff are trained to inform visitors that they can be opened for them at other times on request. During busy periods they are open most of the time. I am sorry for the confusion over pony rides. Children have to be over 93cm to have a pony ride at Cantref. A 4 year old would definitely be allowed to ride a pony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    82
    35
    21
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made to look much better on the brochure than it actually is!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

.Very understaffed around the park. We were left waiting for shows to start. I had to alert staff to the fact the sheep who were stuck in a tiny pen had no food or water. The humidity was awful in the show arena and that just so happened to be where the poor sheep were kept. There was a rabbit stuck in a 2 foot metal cage with no water or food. There were ducklings in a cage which again had no water, and one was struggling to breathe, we alerted staff again who didn't seem bothered. There wasn't much to do for toddlers as falsely advertised on their brochure. We got around the whole park in two hours. The pens were dirty and smelly. There were no locks on the pens, so anyone could open and free the animals. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with children under 5. We were looking forward to a pony ride with our daughter, but turned out they had to be over 4, which again was falsely advertised on the brochure. So a waste of £16. The food was nice, and not badly priced. I think I will stick to folly farm in future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneDavies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your food in the café. Thank you for your concern about the animals. At Cantref the welfare of our animals is very important to us and all our animals are cleaned out regularly and checked frequently throughout the day by our staff. The animals are fed the recommended amount of food for their size and weight. Over feeding can be detrimental to their health. Our theatre where our lambs are kept is well ventilated and has an open side. We do regularly monitor staff to ensure they are carrying out their duties correctly. Pony Rides are available to any child over 93cm. Children under 93cm are given a different sticker so staff can easily see if they can have a pony ride. We are sorry if there was a misunderstanding on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great way to spend a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

When we decided to visit wales, we wanted to experience country life...we stayed at the place called the bull pens which is about 5 miles from Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre. we were travelling with a 2 year old and wanted to have a farm experience, which is how we got directed here.
the Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Center starts with gift shop leading to and indoor play area / cafeteria and then u make you way out into the farm. there are so many different activities, so you would need a whole day here. make sure to pick up the time table leaflet as every activity is timed, like tractor rides, lamb feeding, pig races, pet handling etc. also make sure before u start your day u understand where every activity is held so you don't waste time looking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenise211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are very grateful to you for taking the time to write such a helpful and positive review about us. Thank You for adding the photos too. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your day out with us and found the programme of activities useful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We always love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The indoor area is big enough if the weather is really bad. The location is great and the facilities are lovely. It is not too big that you are overwhelmed, but big enough for plenty to do. We last went with a 3yr old, 5 yr old and 6 yr old and spent 6 hours there without being bored.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachelbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are really glad to hear that all the children enjoyed their visit and that you found enough to keep them entertained for a full day. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointing waste of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

we went today for £32 wat a waste of time everytime a show they close the sledge,drop down slides the view was fantastic not many animals fd wasnt great deal the park was ok but to be honest for the same price would go back to cattle country

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your visit to us. On quiet days we are flexible and our staff are trained to check with customers regularly to see if they want to join in with our shows or if they would like to use any of the attractions, which they will happily open for them at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing