We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great way to spend a day!”

Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great way to spend a day!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

When we decided to visit wales, we wanted to experience country life...we stayed at the place called the bull pens which is about 5 miles from Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre. we were travelling with a 2 year old and wanted to have a farm experience, which is how we got directed here.
the Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Center starts with gift shop leading to and indoor play area / cafeteria and then u make you way out into the farm. there are so many different activities, so you would need a whole day here. make sure to pick up the time table leaflet as every activity is timed, like tractor rides, lamb feeding, pig races, pet handling etc. also make sure before u start your day u understand where every activity is held so you don't waste time looking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenise211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are very grateful to you for taking the time to write such a helpful and positive review about us. Thank You for adding the photos too. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your day out with us and found the programme of activities useful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    89
    41
    24
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We always love this place”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The indoor area is big enough if the weather is really bad. The location is great and the facilities are lovely. It is not too big that you are overwhelmed, but big enough for plenty to do. We last went with a 3yr old, 5 yr old and 6 yr old and spent 6 hours there without being bored.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachelbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are really glad to hear that all the children enjoyed their visit and that you found enough to keep them entertained for a full day. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointing waste of money”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

we went today for £32 wat a waste of time everytime a show they close the sledge,drop down slides the view was fantastic not many animals fd wasnt great deal the park was ok but to be honest for the same price would go back to cattle country

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your visit to us. On quiet days we are flexible and our staff are trained to check with customers regularly to see if they want to join in with our shows or if they would like to use any of the attractions, which they will happily open for them at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandovery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for family”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We bought a season ticket in the end. Loads to do for all ages. Pony rides and food are the only thing that cost extra. Indoor play area with drop slide. Easy for adults to get round if you need to get the children out. The outdoor sledging is a must for all dads to have a go at, peddalos, air cannons, animals to pet. The only thing I would like to see is an indoor picnic area. If it rains you are forced to buy their food and not eat your own food indoors. I know they have to make money but it can really be expensive when you’re feeding a whole family. It’s not a problem when the sun is out though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You for giving us a good review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found it value for money. In the rain we do have picnic tables in our demo barn next to the ball cannons and pedal tractors. We hope you are enjoying using your season ticket and hope you will be able to make it to some of our special events during the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great family day out.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My son wanted to go horse riding as a birthday treat so I booked him in for the one hour ride. He was given full instruction by the riding centre girl and she was very attentive. While he was on his ride, my daughter and I had a quick visit to the farm where she managed to ride the pedal boats, jump on the trampoline, pedal the go-karts, use the park and visit pet corner before we collected him to join us. The attractions are open on a rotated basis but it seems as if they are not closed for very long. My parents joined us before lunchtime and we all ate at the cafe. The service again was excellent, the food reasonably priced and very tasty. There was a good selection on offer, even two vegetarian options. The indoor play area was a big hit with both children (6 & 8) especially the slides. After lunch we headed back outside. The sledge ride was fantastic, we all enjoyed it (even my 61 year old mother). My daughter had a pony ride in the park (only £2) and received a rosette which she absolutely adores. All other attractions were included in the price and although the park was busy, there were not big queues for anything. The pig racing was hilarious and novel.
It is not a huge commercial attraction, but it is a lovely place to spend the day. All the staff were extremely friendly, the facilities were well cared for and clean and we will definitely be returning in the summer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wonderwoman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You for your brilliant review. We really appreciate you taking the time to give such a detailed account of you day out with us. It is always lovely for our staff to hear they are doing a good job. We are really glad you enjoyed the Adventure Farm and Riding Centre and found plenty to keep you entertained all day. We hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing