We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience!”

Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked up for the half day horse riding experience. It was £32 each for almost 3 hours of riding. It included a quick lesson, which was great as I had never ridden a horse before. The route was amazing and quite challenging for a beginner but the horses were so calm and placid that nothing phased them. A brilliant experience!

2  Thank Atm1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank You for your lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your horse ride with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"indoor play area"
in 46 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 40 reviews
"pig racing"
in 31 reviews
"paddle boats"
in 27 reviews
"my son"
in 28 reviews
"small animals"
in 11 reviews
"great family day"
in 10 reviews
"bottle feeding"
in 9 reviews
"soft play"
in 17 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 8 reviews
"big slide"
in 7 reviews
"maize maze"
in 7 reviews
"pony trekking"
in 5 reviews
"lamb"
in 6 reviews
"great fun"
in 21 reviews
"grass sledging"
in 5 reviews
"drop slide"
in 5 reviews
Filter

333 - 337 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went today with wife and three year old grand daughter, £19.50 entrance fee, which I thought rather a lot for what was on show. The grand daughter did enjoy the play area inside. Food was a reasonable price, but we had to wait nearly half an hour for Spaghetti to be cooked, with nobody else waiting. Staff seemed more interested with their phones. A fair way to go there for us and not very well signposted. Can't see us returning.

2  Thank madasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank You for your review. Despite collecting hundreds of names on petitions the council will not allow us to have any more brown tourism signs to direct people to us. During the winter we have a reduced entry price due to certain shows and activities not being available due to ground conditions in the winter e.g Tractor Rides, Pig Racing. We still run a programme of shows every half an hour such as Pet Handling, Ferret Racing, Mr Ev's Show etc and many of our facilities in addition to our indoor play area are open including our Sledge Ride and Swamp Ride. We try to keep a personal hand on feel to our shows all year and make sure that every child can participate. In the Winter, staff have even more time to spend with families and can offer even more personal shows. When it is quiet Mr Ev's our cheeky pantomime horse often makes impromptu appearances in the play area to entertain the kids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A little out of the way but the biggest outdoor slide ever seen. Climbing up and down will tire the kids out, although if you have kids under 4 you will probably end up pulling the sledges back up the hill yourself!.
Small pedelo attraction

Usual interactive farm experience but also informative 'follow the keeper' walk towards the end of the day.

Horse riding and overnight accommodation available but never used them.

Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank You for your review. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed using our sledge ride which is still one of our most popular attractions. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We visited with 3 children under 7, and they had a great time. It is quite difficult to find in the first place, but worth the effort. It's not particularly huge, so not overwhelming for young kids, but enough to keep them occupied. There is an indoor play area, but we didn't use it so can't make any comment on that.
Kids loved the swamp (a great original feature), and being able to ride a pony for the first time, even if just for a few minutes. The long slide was a big hit, as were the paddle boats (though queuing was quite tiresome, as had only 3 boats on a very small area). They also went on a pony ride the next day, where the staff could not have been more patient with 2 young novices.
In places, Cantref does seem a bit worn, the toilets could definitely be improved in terms of cleanliness and number, but the overwhelming positive experience was from the staff. We have really never visited a place where every staff member we encountered was so amazingly friendly and helpful.

Thank rosie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank You for you lovely review and we will pass your positive feedback about our customer service to our staff. We are really glad to hear that your family enjoyed their pony rides and playing on our Sledge and boats. In addition to the toilets in the play area there are additional toilets in the green cabin by the duck pond, on the courtyard between the gift shop and riding centre and outside the bunkhouses before entering the farm park. We do check the toilets during the day but at peak times we have had a problem with the floors getting splashed from the sinks, which we are trying to rectify.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Apart from the completely inadequate sign-posting to actually find the centre, when we eventually arrived it was a big let-down. Health and safety is poor, I spotted a large metal screw sticking out of a fence post at child height, and with so many children milling around the centre, it's surely an accident waiting to happen. I also felt that the activities were under-staffed. Mostly parents needed to supervise these areas. The centre is hilly with pebbly pathways, making it difficult to use prams/ wheelchairs. There is no indication on any of the marketing literature that it might be so hilly. Some of the activities on the brochure weren't even pn when we visited and some of the animals advertised weren't there either. The toilets were awful, really wet floors with puddles of mucky water and no sign of being cleaned. Some of the animals seemed pretty muserable too, namely the pigs and their living conditions leave a lot to b desired. All in all it is not worth the money- £8 for adults and children. Compared to similar competition such as Folly Farm they should feel really embarrassed about charging this.

2  Thank Emma034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us and thank you for your feedback. We would love to have more brown signs to direct people to us but the local council will not allow us to put any more up. We do have signs off the exit on the A40 and horse shoe signs the rest of the way to us. We do health and safety checks daily and maintenance is carried out to rectify any damage found. We staff our Sledge, Swamp, Paddle Boats and Indoor Drop Slide when they are open. Staff do check and clean the toilets during the day but we did have a problem at one point with water pressure causing the sinks to splash clean water onto the floor. All the animals on our brochure can be found on the farm. Many of the larger more unusual ones can be seen on our Tractor & Trailer Ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing