We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Brecon Beacons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Draen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Draen
Ranked #4 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Brecon Beacons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Sue & Johnny are the perfect hosts, always happy to make you a pot of tea and share their knowledge of the local area. The accommodation is nothing short of excellent. It's rare to find a b&b that offers you your own lounge with a wonderful wood burner to keep the chills off.

Our bedroom was spacious with it's own en-suite and the views are fantastic, the b&b is in a lovely location off the beaten track so a peaceful nights sleep is assured.

The town of Brecon is only 6 miles away so very convenient for shops like Morrison's or the Co-op. There are a couple of nice restaurants as well. All in all we enjoyed every minute of our stay here and will no doubt return when we are back in the area.

Steve & Tina

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bloberoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
59
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Johnny and Sue were the best over our 10 days in Southern England/Wales. So glad that we found them online. Fabulous warm lounge with a wood burner, beautiful views, very comfortable and they looked after us so well too. Breakfast was first class as was the ensuite bedroom. We hope to be back in the area. Recommend this place as it is in the Brecon Beacons.

Room Tip: We had an ensuite double with everything you need. Yes there are some steps to climb from our own l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCala_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Would highly recommend a visit! Charming B&B settled in the peace and quiet of the Brecon Beacons. Lots to do locally, we visited a restored mill which offered fresh bread and flour - only 10 minutes away, - but would recommend a long walk and a pint down the local. Very friendly and welcoming owners, superb breakfast, and comfy bed. We have stayed in many B&Bs on long weekend trips around the UK, never hotels, - this one is a real find and great value for money. Book with confidence.

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms when we booked, so ask the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Fantastic off the beaten track B & B, easily the best we've stayed in. Very comfortable rooms, lovely sitting room with log burning stove. Our 4th stay and another opportunity to recharge the batteries in complete quiet. Great for visiting Hay, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains, a weekend just isn't long enough. Already booked our 5th trip in January :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are ensuite but only one has a bath, ask for the Ivy room if you want a bath, we've st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a gem of a place, in deep countryside at the end of a long farm track. Tranquillity personified. Lots of walks to explore on the doorstep. Very comfortable, spacious interior. The hosts were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

sue and johnny really do make you most welcomed.nothing is a problem for them. breakfasts are excellent, loation is superb,in the middle of no where away from the fast pace of life its a place to relax and unwind. all you hear is the sheep or the birds really such a tranquil place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is our second time here and The Draen has got even better, Johnny and Sue were as lovely as ever, can't do enough for you, we have stayed in a few B&B over the last year now and I have to say that The Draen is the best value and J&S are the most friendly owners we have met so far, they deserve to do well.
Thanks again for a lovely stay.
Simon, Laura and Lexi

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
4.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llangattock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
6.2 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Draen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Draen

Property: The Draen
Address: Llanfilo, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 0RG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Draen 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Draen (Welsh for Thorn Tree) is a wonderful old Welsh farm house that, in parts, dates back some 400 years. Nestling at the end of a very quiet country lane, surrounded by fields with fabulous views to the Black Mountains. A perfect spot for exploring, walking, cycling or simply just enjoying the peace and quiet. Plenty of wildlife to see in surrounding area including badgers. Look out for the Red Kite & the Buzzard flying high.We have 2 double rooms, both en-suite, with their own separate front doors and staircase. There is 1 twin room with a new modern en-suite and a family room which sleeps 3. Each of the bedrooms has its own separate dining room for breakfast. The rooms are well appointed with quality beds, TV, hair dryer, alarm clock and tea and coffee making facilities. Iron and ironing board available upon request. WIFI. There is a conservatory and garden available for residents use.We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to The Draen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Draen Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing