We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ham sandwich.......”
Review of Honey Cafe

Honey Cafe
Ranked #8 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $39
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A friendly family-run restaurant serving good quality home cooked food. Our cakes and desserts are all homemade on the premises. We serve food all day from 9am until 9pm, 7 days a week. Renowned for our cooked breakfasts, street snax and texmex menu after 6pm. Food sourced locally where possible. Beautiful views from our sunny terrace and plenty of parking.
Aviemore and the Cairngorms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ham sandwich.......”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not recommended unless you are hungry. Lovely granary bread, bit too much butter for my liking but oh, loads of lovely hand carved gammon ham.

I've given a very good rating, but that was for the food alone. If I had a separate rating for service, I'm afraid it would only be average at best. We sat for some considerable time before they took our order and they weren't that busy. I have a feeling similar would have happened had we not gone to the bar to pay the bill directly.

Sharpen the service up and you really will have a top notch cafe here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nellicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    78
    34
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lunch is tasty and Tex Mex at night is lovely and huge portions. Sitting outside in the duller overlooks the Black mountains.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ValMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Seriously good art and food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Found the Honey Cafe by accident while ferrying hungry student son home. A very pleasant surprise! We've been back twice since, always for breakfast or lunch. Good food, reasonably priced with friendly service.

The bonus is the art on the walls. The artist has a studio there too. Some very, very good paintings with prints available.

The buildings have been in the same family for their entire (and long) life. The history is printed in the back of the menu and makes a good read. In the evenings the menu is Texmex but I can't comment on that. Suffice to say it's a great place to break a journey and worth going out of your way to visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A great place to eat in the Brecon Beacons National Park”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We called here for a meal at lunchtime, menu is varied and offers good choices of home cooked food. Service is good, staff are friendly and helpful.There is plenty of parking and a number of tables outside with great views of the mountains beyond Talgarth. It can get very busy in the summer months as it is a great place to stop just off the A438 in Bronllys,on the Hereford road from Brecon.

It also offers great Mexican food at night time and booking is advisable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were off to Bangor on Saturday 23rd March - one of the snowiest in a while - and had to go via South and Mid-Wales to stand a chance of getting there. Coming up from Devon, we decided not to stop at any Service station so had our first break here.
It was a lovely place to stop. Service with a smile and lovely home-made cakes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Cafe also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing