We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An outstanding property, in a beautiful area with...”

Review of The Bull Pens

The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens
Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Lower Bull Pen kitchen
The  contemporary upstairs living room in The Upper Bull Pen
The downstairs living room
Double bedroom in the Upper Bull Pen
En-Suite Bathroom
King Bedroom
King Bathroom
Twin room with view of the farm and surrounding hills
En-Suite Shower Room
Dining Room area of Lower Bull Pen
Spacious dining area with the Upper Bull Pen
View of the barns
Our resident bull - Eclipse
The view at the top of the farm
Llanfihangel Nant Bran Village
The New Play Area
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
support88
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding property, in a beautiful area with oustanding hosts”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This property would be super for whatever size of group. I traveled with my son for our annual three week hike. The property was exceptionally comfortable and located in easy position from Brecon and vicinity hiking. The area is supported by a variety of excellent restaurants. For those who are organic inclined, Fiona can guide you to some first class providers. Our hosts could not be more helpful and accommodating and, at the same time were very unobtrusive. It was a great experience. Whether it is with family groups, people keen to hike, individuals, this is a great place to be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Liked least: the internet can be a bit slow
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonyEll...
2 reviews
“Outstanding for families or couples.”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed 4 nights, with 3 children. All the little touches make this place special. Am fabulous and unexpected welcome goodie pack for our first night, cit with bedding, & highchair. Even a baby spoon! Fiona & Bryan great hosts, showed the kids the sheep. The Lower bullpen is modern, warm, high spec but not too much that you worry about kids staying there. Kids play area in view & a hot tub! We will be back. Would come as a couple too. Outstanding.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrAdrian1...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Such a great find and lovely place to stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My parents kindly let me wife have a week away while they looked after our three boys. We wanted somewhere to get away from it all, somewhere quiet, and somewhere relaxing. We stayed in the lower bull pen and it was just what we were looking for. The accommodation is excellent. The bed we slept in was sumptuous, the underfloor heating was a great idea, the rooms are spacious, and property well equipped. All in all, if you want to have a break and go somewhere relaxing, this is the place for you. Thoroughly recommend you go to the Brecon Beacons and stay at the Bull Pens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeckiW90
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible, 5 star all the way!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I along with two friends booked The Bullpens for a long weekend away - we arrived on Friday afternoon and left on the Monday morning. On arrival we were amazed, the whole property is breath-taking. We met Fiona and Bryan who were incredible, warming and welcoming.
It was the best experience by far, we were lucky to have the weather on side. Welcomed into the home with little welcome packs (wine, cheese, welsh cakes and crackers) we made use of the Asda delivery we were told about that came as promised and was perfect. The hot tub meant after days out walking, or seeing the sights, we came back and relaxed for an hour or so before having a nice BBQ and unwinding for the evening. They have a TV provided, but this never went on throughout our entire stay. We played the games provided, ate food, drank wine and just enjoyed our time there with the log burner on into the late evening.
I am 100% interested in coming back for a week in April next year, I had the most amazing time and I cannot wait! I've never felt so welcome, safe and at home - it was the best place to really get away from city life. Phones didn't have signal but in reality that didn't matter...in fact it made the whole experience that bit better.
I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for that amazing quiet get away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, what an amazing barn conversion”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in the Lower Bull Pen with our 2 1/2 year old son for a 4 night break. This is a fantastic conversion and equipped to the very highest standards. The views from the terrace in the landscaped gardens across the valley are amazing. Our son particularly enjoyed visiting the cows and the tractor each morning and had a great time playing in the children's play area. Fantastic hosts and a beautiful property. Can't recommend enough and are looking forward to returning again very soon. A thoroughly well deserved 5 star rating and the bedrooms with en-suites are spacious and have the feel of a boutique hotel. Great for families, but would be beautiful location for a romantic break without the children! Terence, Anouska & Phelix

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan123411
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem set in the beautiful welsh countryside”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect place for a weekend away, catching up with mates. The accommodation was absolutely lovely- done to a really high spec and gorgeous surroundings. It had everything you'd want there and more! The beds were also fantastic- possibly some of the best nights sleep I've ever had! Cradoc golf club is also really near by and is a very well kept course with a great range of holes and quite reasonable too! Would not hesitate to recommend the bull pens to anyone wishing to spend a nice tranquil break away in the beautiful welsh countryside. Thanks very much for everything Brian and Fiona!

Lee, Cardiff.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning location, amazing getaway, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were a party of around 8 guests who hired out both sections of this converted barn, the Lower and Upper Bull pens. Imagine looking out over tranquil, green rolling hills, pastures, cattle and sheep grazing peacefully while you sip a cocktail while the sun goes down on a perfect stay in a perfect location. Imagine sleeping in stunningly comfortable beds under oak beams, warmed by a log fire and underfloor heating. A location so peaceful and "away from the maddening crowd" that you can fully recharge your batteries in a wonderfully converted barn, to a standard that can only be described as spectacular! Incredibly high standards of decor and furnishings, a wonderful mixture of modern and classic style accommodation, with no expenses spared on fitting these cottages out to an incredible standard. Then you have the hosts, Brian and Fiona who literally go out of their way to make sure their guests are well looked after. Friendly, hospitable and always keen to have a chat. I am an acoustic guitar player, but left my own one at home due to travelling there from a work assignment in Liverpool. When Fiona heard about this, she graciously loan me her son's acoustic guitar to use for the weekend for sing-alongs during the barbecue evening we had. They also joined us for a sing along on our last night, with their beautiful daughter Cloe. We can definitely now call Brian and Fiona our friends. A great stay with great company in a stunning place. Particularly loved the clear skies, we were able to see the stars clearly, with no light pollution. As for sleeping, I fell asleep cacooned in absolute delightful silence. Never slept better. The hot tub was awesome too. The barbecue area well furnished as well, with lovely views over the valleys and hills. Can't wait to come back in the summer for an annual pilgrimage next year and every year after that. Loved it!

Greg and Debbie Contell

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The venue, the location, the high standards and the hosts - all amazing.
Liked least: The venue is tucked away, and only accessible via winding narrow roads
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing