We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Farm Stay”

Review of The Bull Pens

The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens
Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Lower Bull Pen kitchen
The  contemporary upstairs living room in The Upper Bull Pen
The downstairs living room
Double bedroom in the Upper Bull Pen
En-Suite Bathroom
King Bedroom
King Bathroom
Twin room with view of the farm and surrounding hills
En-Suite Shower Room
Dining Room area of Lower Bull Pen
Spacious dining area with the Upper Bull Pen
View of the barns
Our resident bull - Eclipse
The view at the top of the farm
Llanfihangel Nant Bran Village
The New Play Area
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ajirda Y
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Farm Stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Bull Pens is a fantastic place to stay. We stayed at the the Upper Bull Pen and it was beautiful. The cottage is extremely well decorated and maintained and they have everything there. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The main attractions for us were the wood fire place, the hot-tub and the BBQ. Fiona and Brain and very friendly and extremely nice people. We did not where to go and what to see and they gave us detailed information about everything. But the best part of trip for us was the tractor ride with Brain. It was very exciting and educating at the same time. We had a 2 year old kid with us and she thoroughly enjoyed the stay as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brain and Fiona are fantastic and they are amazingly good at what they do
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenise211
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“little heaven”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

just got back from staying at The Bull Pens had an absolute wonderful stay. Fiona and Brian are such wonderful hosts...the house is beautiful and well equipped, the view stunning :) so much peace and on a clear night you can almost count the stars :) we had traveled 6 countries in 20 days...and coming to the bull pens felt like coming home...all i would recommend guest is,do not forget to carry some food or you would end up emptying Fiona and Brian fridge like we did hehehe.... also we all would like to thank Brian for the wonderful ride up the hill we have some lovely memories for little Eva.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The best part was how helpful Fiona and Brian were.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essbeeLon...
london
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

What an absolute delight this place is!
If you are looking for peace and quiet in a rural setting then this is it. The pens are newly built to an extremely high standard and everything inside has a very luxurious feel. Plenty of cutlery/crockery and loads of space. We couldn't think of anything they didn't already provide, even down to handwash in all the loos and dishwasher tablets!
The nearest town, Brecon, is about 15-20 mins drive away through some of the most breathtaking scenery i have ever seen. There you will find a large morrisons supermarket and lots of other little shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The 'farmy' smells! Although you do get used to it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Accommodation & Views”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had an absolute fabulous three night stay in the Lower Barn with access to the hot tub and would definately return again. Away from it all break would be ideal for artists, studying and total relaxation. The owners Fiona & Bryan are so lovely and live next door and respect your privacy but are friendly and contactable if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation & views (two calves born whilst there)
Liked least: Weather but it was April and has been bad this year 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronFarr...
2 reviews
“Luxury tastefuly restored cottages in a Tranquil beautiful location”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Fiona and Brian made us feel welcome during our stay, we had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. There is plenty to do around the local area from walks to outdoor pursuits such as horseriding, caving, self hire motor boats on the brecon canal or just explore the farm which is also child friendly with a kids play pen including a slide and swings.
The cottages are awesome they have traditional beams and features from the original barn with a modern decorative overlay, they have all amenities you'd expect from a 5 star cottage but best of all was the underfloor heating that worked a treat during the chilly nights. I would definitely come and stay again !

Farrukh (bham)

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart J
Seaview, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Cottage, Fantastic Location, Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We booked the two cottages (upper and lower bull pen) through Fiona for a weekend away. The booking and payment process was easy. The cottage was finished to a high standard and offered all of the amenties needed. The cottage is located on a working farm, with fantastic view across the rolling countryside.

If you are looking for a relaxed break way with familiy or friends, I could not recommend this cottage enough.

Thanks Fiona

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the cottage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla20Br...
Bristol
1 review
“A warm and welcoming cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

After slipping and sliding through snowy lanes, we eventually found The Bullpens where we received a lovely warm welcome from Fiona and Bryan. We stayed in the Upper Bullpens and our kids really enjoyed the secret door upstairs!! The cottage was very clean, had all the mod cons which you need when travelling with 2 young children. The views are amazing and if it wasn't for the snow we would have certainly enjoyed walking around. Fiona kindly booked us a table at the local pub which was cosy and friendly with good food. We only stayed for the weekend as this was a short break but managed to go rock climbing in an indoor climbing centre in Brecon where the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We all had a relaxing time - just a shame it was only a few days but we will definitely be back for more, this time without the snow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing