We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of the regiment from Rourke's Drift”

The Regimental Museum of The Royal Welsh (Brecon)
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum tells the fascinating story of four of the British army's most famous regiments. This long history, dating back to the 1680s, is told through many kinds of objects including uniforms, medals, weapons and models. The regiments have seen action in many prominent events, including the British campaign in South Africa (visit us and discover what really happened in the 1879 Zulu War!), And both world wars. Forty-three of the regiments' soldiers have received the Victoria Cross, and we commemorate their sacrifice and heroism as well as that of all the men and women associated with our regiments who have contributed so much to our country.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home of the regiment from Rourke's Drift”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent museum with full history of this regiment from the time of Blenheim through many other conflicts including the Zulu War and the World Wars to the present. The array of medals for gallantry is very impressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hundalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    45
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For enthusiasts of the military”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

At £5 personally I found it rather expensive for what it was. Very interesting for those with military links and well worth visiting if you have a keen interest. If not I would not recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glamlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Quite a small Museum but well worth visiting, particularly for anyone with a regimental association with the town, a museum packed with interest for all the boys in the family and of course their Dads! Lots of displays of clothes, medals and memorabilia from the regiment. A hour goes very quickly here. Parking mostly available on road outside, but car parks are within 5 mins walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very interesting for the boys!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Enthusiasts of the military would love this museum which is packed full of historical clothes, equipment, firearms, model displays and documents relating to the regiment. It is only 5 rooms and was £5 to get in and takes around an hour to go around. I went with my brother in law and we both enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant museum & worthy of a visit”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This museum is compact and jammed full of fantastic exhibits covering the history of the local military regiments, primarily the South Wales Borderers. Its very family friendly and even young kids won't be bored.

You really, really should pay this a visit just to see the artifacts from the Boer war (and of course the SWB stand at Rorke's Drift). A great, affordable way to escape the Welsh rain and get an apappreciation of this famous Welsh regiment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhaforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regimental Museum of The Royal Welsh (Brecon) also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 

Been to The Regimental Museum of The Royal Welsh (Brecon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing