We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priory Mill Farm Campsite
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our night's stay here after a heavy weekend excavating an old slate mine further north and then a hike up Corn Du and Pen Y Fan. The peacefulness and tranquility of the site allowed us to sleep a full 12 hours which was great!

We were in a campervan which was a little tough to get on site (there's a u-bend at the bottom of the hill) but otherwise no problem if you don't want an electricity hook-up - they even have hard-standing areas to park up on.

Facilities were clean and well-maintained, and the showers hot. Our only real gripe was that absolutely everything was chargeable - the showers are 50p/4minutes, it cost £2 to borrow a map for an afternoon plus a £10 deposit etc. etc. But not a major issue for our short stay.

Overall we loved out stay - the babble of the river, the roaming chickens and the very friendly hosts made for a great stopover.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location if you plan to camp for a couple of days and need easy access to Brecon. Brecon is about a 5 minute walk and a nice town.

The facilities for the site were fairly average, there is only 1 male toilet to 3 female toilets and the showers were ok, although water pressure dropped to a dribble on a couple of occasions mid shower. I think the 50p idea for 4 minutes of hot water is great on a small campsite as it prevents people hogging the showers for too long.

My main gripe with the campsite was the number of rules. I am sure 99% of campers know how to behave, but everywhere you look there are rules, rules and more rules. We arrived at 11:30 am to be told we had arrived too early and obviously not read the rules on the website, we were then handed the rules on paper and reminded by the numerous rules hanging up on every spare wall on the campsite, including additional rules on how to shut doors properly, how to use taps, how to park, how to clean the shower, how to put money in the coin slot for the showers etc etc (all with capital NOTS and heavy underling). Having camped in many campsites across Europe, this is the first time I have seen this and made the campsite seem unfriendly and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jdp2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

When we first arrived we were initially impressed, that soon changed after pitching up and discovering how noisy the road next to us was, despite it being advertised as an unclassifed and quiet road. Was woken up by traffic noise early every morning.
Very basic facilities and with only 1 male sit down toilet so not ideal. Poor showers, was halfway through washing my hair when the water turned freezing cold and wouldn't heat up again. Found the fact that there were signs all over the place telling you what you couldn't do a little condecending, ok I agree you have to have rules but there were everywhere you looked and was also given a copy of them when we checked in, just too much.
Wasn't made to feel particularly welcome and wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bluebird33rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

4 of us stayed here for 1 night on 7th September. It was a very short stay as we were climbing Corn Du, Pen Y Fan and Cribyn on the Sunday morning. We arrived around 9.00pm on the Saturday night and met Susie and Noel in the farmhouse, we rapidly paid and left to set up our tents as they were having dinner and we didn't want to interrupt them for too long.

The campsite was immaculately clean, especially the toilets and showe areas which were also very warm inside unlike others I have used. The campsite is a short stroll along the river from the town of Brecon which was very handy too.

I would highly recommend th Priory Mill and will certainly return next summer for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFOSTFOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Priory Mill Farm is a defo must on any campers wish list.Arriving on Thursday the 5th of September, after a long drive, we were greeted with Susie in the kitchen.After all pleasantries over with,we were then given a list of thing's you are allowed and not allowed to do, which after reading carefully, totally and utterly agree with.
Light's out and quiet after 10.30...a must. No radios or loud music..a must. A time limit on getting certain thing's from the owner's after 19.30,as is stated in the form your given, there suppertime... (which i totally agree with, because even campsite owners need to have a life too). A total must when u visit, is to get yourself a charcoal and wood burning plate which are available from the little undercover place next to the recycling area. Yes the wood is �5.00 a bag, and charcoal available too But if someone has to cut it and bag it ( which I'm assuming its Noel or Susie, surely its worth that to put a real open fire outside.Another thing i have given ten out of ten of, is the toilet and shower block....What can i say ( spotlessly clean ) and another thing on the list, is mop the shower floor after using it...well, i don't want to walk in someones mud, so give it a mop and its clean for the next person...seems reasonable to me.Also, the cost of 00.50p to have a shower, which lasts 4 minutes, and a long 4 minutes at that, is irrelevant , because, there spotlessly clean.The toilets,(spotlessly clean again),and lot's of toilet paper, which, i have never experienced in any other campsites ( there usually pinched by the shallow minded) Put tent up near the river, and overjoyed at the lack of the dreaded midges. Washing up area is also very clean, no hot water though, which to my mind, is not a prob at all, because if it bother's you that much (YOUR CAMPING!! USE YOUR KETTLE TO BOIL SOME HOT WATER) My pro's and con's list i think i must have to do....Pro's. Very inviting campsite,clean and quiet.Chicken's friendly too, just watch the sausages or breaky's they will want to share, sign's are up about it. Spotlessly clean, �5.00 of wood for open fire, great value, 10 mins walk from Brecon, just one of the nicest campsites i have visited in a long time.Con's....The review site says ( Give constructive criticism where necessary ) unfortunately, i cant criticize anything about my visit....Im trying to think of something, but cant ? See the pro,s list i think is best. Thank you Noel And Suzie for a delightful campsite, and my partner and i will be back soon.( Very Soon )

Room Tip: When you actually arrive, take a look on the right, as you turn the car to go to the campsite, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A pretty and tranquil little campsite tucked away scarcely a ten minute walk from Brecon town centre. Perfect staging point for those who want a base camp from which to explore the region, although the babbling river and charm of the place make it hard to explore further.

Much has been said of the ablution blocks, yes they are small, yes it costs 50p for a 4 minute shower - it's all in the on line material (where you book) for those who seem surprised. Let it be said, i found the ablution block spotlessly clean, there was a mountain of toilet paper available in the cubicles and the showers are just that - showers. If you want a hotel room then book one.

In short. Dog friendly, adventure motorcycle friendly, stacks of space, wood and charcoal freely available. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1200adv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went to this campsite August bank holiday and my initial reaction was that it was smaller than I expected.

The good bits.

The location was great it is only 10mins walk into Brecon and it is very pretty with the stream and woods opposite.

If you have a dog there is a good walk across the stream to let them off for a run and a park not far away also.

It is a more traditional site which we like as we have the dog and don't require club houses etc.

This is a site big on recycling which I am into myself but it can be a little annoying camping if you don't have the room to separate your rubbish.

The not so good bits.

The 'Cabin' were the loos are was not very good, very clean etc. but the set up was not convenient. There is only 1 sit down loo for the boys and 1 urinal and 2 ladies loos. There are no wash basins in the loos and you have to go round the side of the building to wash your hands and there are no paper towels etc. to dry them with. Therefore everyone who has been to the loo and not been able to wash their hands have touched the latch on the door. There are 2 showers which although are ok are very small.

The washing up facilities are not great. The basins are ok but the draining area is too small. They only supply cold running water which after a fry up is not good. I ended up taking a boiled kettle with me.

The road by the campsite is quite noisy and drivers do tend to go fast on this road.

We appreciate that no one likes a barky dog and we do keep are 10month old pup as quite as possible. She was very good that weekend not barking at night and only a couple of yips in the day when she wanted to say hello to someone. While we where eating our bar bq on the second night for 5 mins she decided to have a bark as she wanted our food - which is understandable considering she had been smelling it cooking for half an hour!. A man came round the corner and said Does your dog have to bark! No apology for interrupting our meal, introduction to who he was! He continued with we can here it in the house and it must be disturbing other campers. I tried to explain that she was only a pup and we had been trying really hard to stop her and to apologise but he just walked off. We had had no complaint from any other campers and if anything Bella was stroked by many. After assuming he was the owner we could not believe how rude he was to us. We decided that night to leave the next morning as every time she made any type of noise it put us on edge. We never felt welcomed when we arrived at site but after this incident we just felt that we were not wanted even though we had paid £2.50 a night for our dog to be there!

You are not allowed any radios which I know is not a massive issue but I like some background music in the evenings.

The freezer for ice blocks is not big enough to accommodate the site. I tried to put mine in and it was completely full

The ground is very stony and you do need a mallet to put your tent pegs in.

The location is absolutely perfect for us but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waggytail1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brecon hotels
3.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
502 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#28 of 46 in Brecon
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#30 of 46 in Brecon
316 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castle Coaching Inn
Castle Coaching Inn
#17 of 46 in Brecon
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Mill Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Mill Farm Campsite

Address: Priory Mill Hay Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Brecon
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small-scale, low-impact, secluded place to camp, our riverside meadow may provide it. It's only a ten-minute walk from the Georgian market town of Brecon, yet the only buildings visible are our farmhouse and watermill, which provide the perfect backdrop to the camping meadow. Alternatively there is also a one bedroom holiday cottage (advance booking essential). The Granary is accessed up a flight of stone steps beyond the farmhouse. Quiet and secluded, overlooking a part of the river and ancient woodland that is separate from the campers meadow, the cottage also has its own garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Priory Mill Farm Campsite Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing